We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family break to Bath”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Travelodge Bath Waterside
Ranked #20 of 31 Hotels in Bath
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Family break to Bath”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We booked a trip away with our two children to Bath during the Xmas holidays. The staff were very helpful and friendly and the parking great value for the centre of a city. The Travel lodge was tired looking but the room was clean and had obviously been decorated recently. The main bed was very comfortable and the duvet cosy, however the sofa bed for the children was not fit for purpose and had springs coming through. We called a staff member who was helpful and offered duvets to help cover the springs...he could however only find one first try. We went back to reception to say the bed was still too bad to sleep on and he managed to find another duvet but said all the sofa beds were of the same quality as they were hoping to have new trundle beds shortly! One child slept on the floor and the other on the bed until she could not sleep...we then made a bed out of two duvets on the floor in the middle of the night so they could sleep. Great for a camping trip but not what we expected on our family break away...terrible standard. Shame as otherwise generally good value.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Sophie from Customer Services at Travelodge Bath Waterside, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
We are very sorry to learn that your children were unable to get a good night sleep due to the sofa beds in your room Lisa K. We can confirm that we are in the process of replacing all sofa beds with new truckle beds. Please can you give us some more detail of your stay so we can address your concerns. To help us contact you please can you visit our website and select the Contact Us button to give us more detail and be sure to indicate you have left a TripAdvisor review when submitting your details.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,472 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    387
    506
    314
    149
    116
See reviews for
309
715
44
120
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 4, 2014

comfortable & relaxing. location a bit far from city, need to cross the river. but, still within walking distance. room is just nice for a family with one toddler. a bit cold at night because the heater located at end of room.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank addyjol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Stayed here for a couple of nights before New Year's. Above all, a very average hotel experience which did the bare minimum. Would recommend if you see it available at a cheap price. Here's the good and the bad:

Good
- Clean
- Room a fair size
- Short walk to the town centre
- Bed was comfy
- Staff friendly

Bad
- We arrived too late to snag a view over the river, so had to make do with a view over the car park (we also had to move once as a room near the road was too noisy.)
- Walls are fairly thin and we could hear a lot of sound coming through from upstairs (although, it's difficult to kick up much of a fuss when people are partying on New Year's Eve)
- Very low water pressure in the shower
- No shampoo provided so BRING YOUR OWN!

Can't comment on the food as we didn't have any - although the restaurant has a pretty view over the river.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KitKatSplat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Amy from Customer Care at Travelodge Bath Waterside, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Thank you for your review kitKatSplat. We do ask our guests to be courteous of other customers and try to ensure that larger groups are allocated away from other guests to avoid disruption so it is regrettable to learn you were disturbed by other guests at the hotel. We also expect that water pressure in the shower to be adequate for our guests so we are truly sorry to learn you found it to be unsatisfactory. Our standard is not to provide toiletries in our rooms although we do offer the option to purchase extra toiletries from our vending machines at reception should you have forgotten any items. We are sorry to learn about the issues with your room and will let our hotel staff know so they are aware of the improvements which need to be made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

The location was great. The parking charge was reasonable. The room was clean but dated. The service was average. I believe my daughter and I suffered from severe upset stomachs shortly after having breakfast. This cut our visit to Bath short as we needed to go home. I raised this with the team at the hotel upon checkout and they were not very helpful or sympathetic and although I tried to keep the conversation discreet, the receptionist told me rather loudly in front of other guests that the food was unlikely to cause us any upset stomachs as it is not possible for food poisoning to affect one so soon after eating, which is not strictly true. This was rather embarrassing so I did not pursue this any further at the time and just wanted to get home to Plymouth as quickly as I could.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
1 Thank Adrienne2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Amy from Customer Care at Travelodge Bath Waterside, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
We are sorry to learn of your recent disappointment Adrienne2014. It is regrettable to learn that you feel your stomach upset may have been a result of eating in our Bar Cafe; we do undergo regular food temperature and hygiene checks throughout our hotels to ensure that our food is up to high standards. We do not expect our staff to be rude and we do require that they provide great levels of service and customer care so we are truly sorry to learn that this did not happen on occasion. We take such complaints seriously and would like to be able to investigate this fully with the hotel and bar café. In order for us to do this please could you visit our website and use the Contact Us button to tell us more and when doing so please indicate you have left a TripAdvisor review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bath hotels

Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Very convenient hotel for central Bath with pleasant walk over the canal and river to the station area.
It is unusual to get two pillows each, unfortunately they were too thick!
The water to the shower was tepid - the bathroom and plumbing could do with updating.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
1 Thank R0ger15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

I wanted an average cheap hotel and that's what I got, an average hotel which could have even been a bit cheaper than what I paid really.
It was really clean, nothing to complain about, that's the most important thing.
Location is great, 5 minutes walk to city centre and to train station and the view of the river from the window was nice.
Rooms are ok, really average. Quite small but we only needed it to sleep so we didn't mind. Bathroom had a bath tub which is good. It was quiet and had a kettle with tea bags etc. it didn't have a hair drier which is not good, I found out when I was leaving that I could have requested for one, but other hotels just leave one in the room at all times, why can't they do it? They didn't have any toiletries which was really bad, I went to Boots and bought my own but really, what hotel doesn't provide it's customers with shower gel and shampoo?! I asked to two staff members, one just said no we don't have them and the other one said look at the vending machines and saw there were none so she just said oh sometimes we have them...
The day after I wanted some water and the vending machine didn't have water...
Most times the reception desk was empty, everytime we were going out or coming in there was no one there, it felt a bit like we ere on our own, not in a hotel...
It was under £50 a night for the two of us so I'm not too bothered but still, I've been in other hotels for the same price and they actually make you feel like you are staying at a hotel!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank prinsessem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Amy from Customer Care at Travelodge Bath Waterside, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Whilst we are pleased to learn you found our rooms to be clean and the location to be great prinsessem, we are sorry to read that you were unhappy that the room did not provide you with the extra items you would have expected. As a brand standard, we do not offer hairdryers and toiletries as this helps us to keep our costs low so we can pass on these savings to our customers and allows us to continue to offer great room rates. Our guests are able to borrow a hair dryer at reception should they need to at a first come first serve basis and this information should be provided to you on arrival. Our vending machines which provide extra toiletries and bottled water should also be fully stocked during your stay so we are truly sorry to learn that this was not the case. Our Hotel Manager will be made aware of your feedback so that they can address these issues and we apologise for the inconvenience caused on this occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Midlands
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

My partner and I were very concerned about recent bad reviews as we had booked months ago when reviews were much more favourable. However, we need not have worried. We had a recently refurbished room on the 1st floor overlooking the canal. The room was spotless, very quiet and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Unlike most Travelodges our room had loads of storage space, still only 5 hangers though!! Incredible value for somewhere so quiet and convenient. We would definitely return.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors overlooking the canal are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LittleMissClumsy1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Bath Central
0.5 mi away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#23 of 31 in Bath
2,805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.3 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#16 of 31 in Bath
1,397 reviews
7.1 mi away
Radstock Hotel
Radstock Hotel
#29 of 31 in Bath
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Bath Waterside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Bath Waterside

Property: Travelodge Bath Waterside
Address: Rossiter Road | Widcombe Basin, Bath BA2 4JP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 31 Hotels in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travelodge Bath Waterside 2.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Travelodge Hotels Ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Travelodge Bath Waterside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Bath Waterside Hotel Bath
Travelodge Hotel Waterside
Travelodge Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing