We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“not the best of places”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Travelodge Bath Waterside
Ranked #23 of 35 Hotels in Bath
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“not the best of places”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

After a 3 1/2 hour drive i expected a nice easy check in only to be sent the the wrong room twice so at 11 pm this was not a great experience when asked about the parking and paying the lady just said pay outside at the machine or ring the number on a card I asked if I could pay through the room or on my card as I did not have any change the reply was NO in not a very nice way. After finally getting into my room I dialled the telephone number which was a local number only to be told it had changed to a 0843 number which as we know is a premium rate number which I called hoping and a nice and quick transaction only to still be on the line after 10 minutes so a £5 parking fee turned out to be a £9 parking fee after being told I was next in the queue after 10 minutes I to reception to ask about the parking and another person attended me and told me I could use my card in the machine outside the front door but it the SMS chip was not working it would not take payment luckily it worked so 30 minutes later the parking was paid for. They do need to pay attention to the floors covered in dirt the stairs were really bad. The room was nice and small bathroom needed some TLC toilet stained at the bottom bath taps needed a good clean but the reason they are covered in lime scale the shower is not strong enough it fails right on to the taps so a very very poor shower. Bed was nice. Had breakfast which was OK not a great deal of variety but ok bacon was so thin it was like ham but it was OK this area good do with a clean also. I would not stay here again i would pay the little extra for a nicer hotel I think I will stick to premier inn hotels

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    366
    477
    299
    139
    108
See reviews for
288
674
41
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Finn in Devon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013 via mobile

Where to begin ? I know it's a budget chain but we've stayed in many premier inns and if that's a 3 star this has to be 1 1/2 at best.
From the bathroom facilities, tired and only containing towels 1 of which was stained,1 small hostel style bar of soap and nothing else.
No air con, just a small wall mounted feeble heater.Windows that even when closed let in sound and a draught. Reception,stairways and halls needed desperate hoovering and bar prices for a hovel like this are hilarious £10 for a bottle of cider and a g&t. 1 plus point , parking was only £5 for 24 hrs. Can't wait for premier inn in town to open or someone to take over this sad travelodge.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Anunutty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bath hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

It felt like sleeping in a garbage bin for two nights. The motel was dirty, room was tired and cold. radiator would make noise so it had to be turned off. There seemed to be many cozy places to stay in Bath and I do not think they were much more expensive (we paid 70 pounds a night at traveloge). Avoids traveloge by all means.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DenisD600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Sophie from Customer Care at Travelodge Bath Waterside, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
We are sorry to learn about the poor experience you had at our Bath Waterside hotel DenisD600. We expect our housekeeping staff to ensure all rooms are clean and fresh for when our guests arrive so it is regrettable to learn that your room fell below our expectations on this occasion. We would like to further understand the issues you have highlighted to find a resolution. Please could you visit our website and select the Contact Us button to provide us with more details and when doing so please specify you have left a TripAdvisor review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiffsouth
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

The reception floor as you walked in looked liked it could do with a good hoover, the toilet in the reception area was stinking. The corridors and stairs were not much better, as for our room the bedding was nice and clean the carpet was a bit dirty the smallest bar of soap was left that was it. We had just came from the Big Sleep in Cheltenham and oh my god what a difference and half the price. Dirtiest and untidy hotel we have ever stayed in and we have stayed in many, wrote to head office with no reply

Room Tip: Do not go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cardiffsouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Amy from Customer Care at Travelodge Bath Waterside, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Thank you for your review Cardiffsouth. We are sorry to learn that you felt the public areas of the hotel and the carpets did not meet our expected high standards of cleanliness on this occasion, we will ensure your feedback is passed onto the hotel Manager so that they can make the necessary improvements. As a brand standard our hotels do not offer toiletries however we do offer our guests the option to purchase extra toiletries from our vending machines at reception. Our Customer Care team at our head office do reply to all contacts received and we would like to apologise for the delayed response.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset England
Level Contributor
64 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

First of all the good points- friendly staff,close to city,good parking and a comfortable room.
BUT- dirty bathroom - lots of nasty brown staining down the toilet,grime build up around the bath plug hole and dirty floor with imbedded dirt.The staff did did say that their cleaning products aren't strong enough - no doubt some ridiculous health and safety ruling so professional cleaners should be brought in to steam clean the bathrooms regularly!Also the bedroom carpet maybe glanced the Hoover but build up of dust in all the corners.(room 25)
This hotel could be a real winner if it only sorted out their cleaning - just no excuse for a stained loo!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Twomiddleagers973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Dianne from Customer Care at Travelodge Bath Waterside, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
We’re sorry to learn of the cleanliness issues you experienced Twomiddleagers973, we do expect our hotels to be cleaned to a high standard so it is regrettable that there has been a lapse in service. We will pass on your comments to the hotel team to ensure this issue is addressed. We’d like to apologise for any inconvenience caused.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hatfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
313 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is in a good location being only a few minutes walk from the station & in a quiet area. The reception staff were friendly and helpful. We opted for the early check-in. Our room was a nice size & nicely decorated. The bed was very comfortable. The shower was poor though, there was very low pressure and the temperature wasn't very warm. We was going to complain about it on our way out in the evening, but there was no staff on reception. The 12.00pm check-out as standard was nice to have. I'm disappointed there is no facility to store luggage at the hotel. There are cafés near the station offering this service, but I would've felt happier leaving luggage in the care of the hotel. Would stay in this hotel again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JamesK1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

The bed was extremely comfortable and the bedroom was quiet and clean. The public areas especially the corridors and the breakfast room were not clean. The restaurant carpet needed to be vacuumed after every meal as it was covered in crumbs. The corridor carpets were messy and the window ledges and skirting boards were dusty and there were cobwebs.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 548Alice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Bath City Centre Hotel
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
0.5 mi away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#25 of 35 in Bath
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 35 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,204 reviews
7.1 mi away
Radstock Hotel
Radstock Hotel
#30 of 35 in Bath
3.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
2.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Limpley Stoke Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Bath Waterside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Bath Waterside

Property: Travelodge Bath Waterside
Address: Rossiter Road | Widcombe Basin, Bath BA2 4JP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 35 Hotels in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travelodge Bath Waterside 2.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, Travelodge Hotels Ltd, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travelodge Bath Waterside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Bath Waterside Hotel Bath
Travelodge Hotel Waterside
Travelodge Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing