We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Beds, Poor Showers”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Travelodge Bath Waterside
Ranked #22 of 31 Hotels in Bath
Reviewed November 10, 2013

The hotel is in a good location being only a few minutes walk from the station & in a quiet area. The reception staff were friendly and helpful. We opted for the early check-in. Our room was a nice size & nicely decorated. The bed was very comfortable. The shower was poor though, there was very low pressure and the temperature wasn't very warm. We was going to complain about it on our way out in the evening, but there was no staff on reception. The 12.00pm check-out as standard was nice to have. I'm disappointed there is no facility to store luggage at the hotel. There are cafés near the station offering this service, but I would've felt happier leaving luggage in the care of the hotel. Would stay in this hotel again.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank JamesK1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,499)
There are newer reviews for Travelodge Bath Waterside
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,405 - 1,411 of 1,499 reviews

Reviewed November 8, 2013

The bed was extremely comfortable and the bedroom was quiet and clean. The public areas especially the corridors and the breakfast room were not clean. The restaurant carpet needed to be vacuumed after every meal as it was covered in crumbs. The corridor carpets were messy and the window ledges and skirting boards were dusty and there were cobwebs.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 548Alice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

First impression was not great, arrived in the car park to see half a dozen staff standing outside the the main entrance smoking. We arrived an hour before check in and I was told I could have my room earlier than the 3pm deadline for £10!! If the room is / was ready why do I have to pay for it, quality hotels will let you have your room if it is available.
Car park costs £5 per 24 hours, fair enough for a city hotel but try and pay for it here, what a nightmare. The machine accepts credit / debit cards, by phone or coins. I had only notes so tried to pay by card and phone, both failed due to technical problems. I think I eventually got a payment through but no ticket was issued, very frustrating!
Check in when we did was good, the girls on reception were both friendly and helpful.
The room is ok for a budget hotel. It was clean, but a stain on the carpet just inside does not set a good first impression. Shower is unpredictable, goes hot then cold, bathroom small but functionable. The bed was VERY comfortable, we had two great nights sleep. Our room did face the road which was noisy.
The location is very good, 5 minutes walk to the outskirts of the city centre. You can get there out of a gate at the back of the hotel, walk past the alcoholics, over the bridge under the railway and you are there.
Bath is a lovely city, the spa is expensive but was great.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrJohn1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

I was not impressed with the reception area as it looked like it hadn't been hoovered all week. The staff didn't seem too bothered as they were outside smoking.

The shower was a lot of hassle. The temperature adjuster was difficult to move and the numbers on it were no indicators of heat or coldness. I had it on 20 which started as freezing cold then went to almost scalding.

Room Tip: Get one that overlooks the river
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank AndyJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Dianne from Customer Care at Travelodge Bath Waterside, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Thanks for your review AndyJersey. We are sorry to learn that the reception area did not look clean and tidy and you found the shower difficult to use. We do expect our staff to provide a great level of service and ensure our public areas are kept tidy so we’ll be sure to pass on your feedback to the hotel management team so improvements can be made.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Had to visit Bath and could not have found a more reasonably priced and friendly hotel.
The staff were cheerfully helpful.
The fish and chips I had were OK for this type of hotel. Drinks we had were reasonably priced .
Would certainly stay again if I were to visit Bath.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brewersfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Arrived at 1.30pm, paid in advance £10 for early check to arrive from12midday, receptionist politely informed us that no family rooms were available when we arrived and asked us to wait while she made calls to see what she could do. Quickly sorted within 10 mins.
Parking machine took time to understand, we watched other guests struggle here too.
Once in the room it was perfectly adequate, freshly decorated, comfy bed, tea and coffee, fresh towels, Television, bath. We stay in Travelodge a lot so were already aware to bring our own toiletries. Perfectly comfy.
When we went down to the restaurant for afternoon coffee and snack we waited and hovered at bar for 20 mins before giving up, no staff anywhere to be found. Reception was busy so we went outside of the hotel for refreshment. As we left there were 2 staff sat on the front steps chatting and smoking.
In the evening we went to the restaurant for a meal ! Absolute shambles! The barmaid only spoke broken English, but told us there was a kitchen problem, no food, well yes food if you wait 2 hours ! so best say no food ! As we sat in the restaurant to decide what to do other guests approached us complaining about the service, or lack of. Others took food back complaining.The weather was terrible {severe storm weather warnings} so we didn't want to go out. We ended up ordering take-away and eating it in the restaurant. Tables around us were dirty, floor was messy with spilt food, at one point a waitress appeared , took a phone from her pocket and snapped photos of the mess and then disappeared again ! At this point we were laughing saying she was probably snap-chatting ! Later a different waitress came and cleared the mess from around us. The bar staff had no idea how to mix drinks and looked totally lost.
Breakfast was pretty much the same story, no cups, no plates, dirty tables ect, people complaining and hovering for service... limited staff.
Such a shame, as the location is terrific, parking right outside, rooms are perfectly adequate, but the staff seemed to be limited, dis-organised, in need of training and a lesson in customer services. It was evident that 2 or 3 staff were run off their feet carrying the less enthusiastic members of the team, so well done them for trying. We would definately go back, but hope that the staff and service have received a shake -up for the better.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JonMat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Amy from Customer Care at Travelodge Bath Waterside, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

Thank you for your review JonMat. We are really sorry to learn you were unhappy with the service you received during your stay. Our bar café staff are trained to prepare food to a great standard and in a timely manner so it is regrettable to learn that this service fell below the service we would expect on this occasion. We also expect our bar café to be clean and tidy at all times. We would like to investigate the concerns you have raised over the bar café, to help us do this, please can you visit our website and select the contact us button to submit your feedback and when doing so please indicate you have left TripAdvisor review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

I stayed here for one night (3rd to the 4th of November 2013) when visiting a friend at university. From the train station, it is a short (maybe 10/15 minute) walk across the river and down the side of a dual carriage way. A taxi will cost a few pounds. The hotel is quite difficult to spot because the Travelodge sign is at the front, however the actual building curls around the entrance, making it difficult to see. On arrival, I was greeted by polite staff, who were fast an efficient to giving me to my room.

The room:
The room is basic, a Travelodge, however more tan comfortable. The bed was huge and very nice to sleep in. It was carpeted a nice colour and the lighting was nice and cosy. The TV is small, like a computer monitor but this didn't bother me. There is a cupboard space to put and hang up clothes. The bathroom is very basic, the worst point about the room. A bland sink and bland bath with nothing but a tiny piece of soap the size of a 2 post stamps to wash your hands on. Wifi is free in communal areas, or £5 for 1 hour and £10 for 24 hours. I bought it for £10 but it's fast, speedy and efficient.

Positives:
The location of the hotel is excellent, a short walk from Bath centre. Although it could be slightly closer, it is certainly not a factor to complain about. The room is very nice and cosy, although the bathroom was disappointing. The staff are very pleasant and efficient and happy to help.

Negatives:
The bar area is like sitting in bus station. There is no life our soul in the evening. I sat down for 5 minutes for access to their wifi but then decided to buy the £10 for 24 hour wifi and use it in my room. I recommend you use this if you want wifi. Secondly, the hotel is located next to a primary school. I was in room 203, which had a facing view of the playground and at 9am, it was so loud. So loud it woke me up, Again, it woke me up at 10:30am. I would probably, if staying on a weekday, next time request a room facing the river, as this is the opposite side of the school.

Overall with all factors included, I would stay here again, but purchase wifi although fairly expensive and request a room facing the river.

Room Tip: Select a room facing the river so you don't get woken up by school children during the week.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Bath Central
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
0.5 mi away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#24 of 31 in Bath
2,850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.3 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#16 of 31 in Bath
1,412 reviews
7.1 mi away
Radstock Hotel
Radstock Hotel
#29 of 31 in Bath
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Bath Waterside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Bath Waterside

Address: Rossiter Road | Widcombe Basin, Bath BA2 4JP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 31 Hotels in Bath
Price Range: $83 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travelodge Bath Waterside 2.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Travelodge Hotels Ltd, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Travelodge Bath Waterside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Bath Waterside Hotel Bath
Travelodge Hotel Waterside
Travelodge Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing