We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Travelodge Bath Waterside
Ranked #21 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Dirty”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Upon arrival I had to interrupt the laughing and joking from the office in order to check and when the receptionist did arrive things were still being said across the counter. So great start wouldn't you say. The hotel looked ok. The reception was clean and tidy, as were the corridors and the bedroom but the bathroom most certainly wasn't. I can accept budget hotels not providing extras but I would have hoped that my extremely high priced budget hotel would be able to afford someone to clean my bathroom. Our toilet was brown below the toilet line, and had a stained floor around the base and the toilet seat was cracked. The sink was blocked and took a while to drain. The bath plug hole was full of hair. All of the chrome was water marked. The what I suppose was once white shower curtain contained some brown stains. So this was all within an hour of arriving at the hotel. The phrase money well spent was not at the forefront of my mind. The only benefit of this hotel is its proximity to the town but if you are nervous of groups of strangers do not walk down the canal as it attracts a lot of homeless people.
We went for a drink in the evening in the bar where we had to wait 5 minutes for a waitress to acknowledge us. What she didn't realise was that the bar man had walked off 20 minutes previously and had told a guest to pass on the message. We were glad we chose not too eat here as there was not a clean table in the bar. We were given the impression that the waitress was cooking as well as serving and as it turned out running the bar.
My final little moan is the parking. This hotel was the last of 6 in 6 nights as myself and my wife travelled the west country and not once were we expected to pay for parking and that includes the Travelodge in St Austell. Our registrations were taken on check in and that was that.

Room Tip: Maybe one overlooking the canal. Ours was 124 I think which was alongside the main road which was a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TUBB1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Dianne from Customer Care at Travelodge Bath Waterside, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear TUBB1985, we’re really sorry about the poor experience you had in our Bath Waterside hotel. We expect our staff to provide high levels of service at all times and the bathrooms should be cleaned to a specific standard. We would like to take this opportunity to investigate the concerns that you have raised, please use the contact us button on our website to provide us with more information which will allow us to offer a resolution.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    378
    496
    303
    147
    113
See reviews for
299
697
43
120
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We waited 10 minutes for someone to arrive at the desk to check us in. Arrived at the room directly beside a massive air con unit outside which was so loud that we had to move.

The receptionist was lovely and moved us straight away. The new room was better, still small but clean and quiet.

Very short walk to town and great value for money especially in Bath.
We would use again but probably only for 1 night stays when we knew that we would not be in the room for long.

Room Tip: Ask not to be placed next to the noisiest air con in the world if you want to sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devon england
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

Just revisited bath travelodge, we stay here often because we like to cycle to Bristol and the other way to Bradford on Avon, the travelodge is a perfect Location to do this and not to have to move the car, the last few times we noticed that the whole hotel was in desperate need of up dating, the beds needed replacing too,
However what a surprise we. Had this time, completely refurbished and new comfy beds, perfect just what was needed,
we will now look forward to returning again and again

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anniewinnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Room facing the car park are noisy, particularly as smokers tend to congregate and when they have had a few have no idea how their noise carries.

Problems with room and public area cleanliness.

Breakfast poor - items a slow to be refilled when they run out.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the pond.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiji-Bruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Sophie from Customer Care at Travelodge Bath Waterside, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Fiji-Bruce, we are sorry to hear of your disappointing stay and that you found the hotel to be noisy. Unfortunately due to the central location of the hotel, we cannot always prevent external noise. We are also concerned to learn of the cleanliness issues you have raised, please be assured that all customer feedback is invaluable to us and we will ensure that the hotel is made aware of the comments that you have made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bath hotels

hx
Level Contributor
64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Having not read the hotel details properly, I wasn't aware that check in wasn't until 3pm. We were informed of this in a very un-polite manner, and advised that we could pay £10 to check in early. So we took our bags back to the car, asking about the complicated parking charges for the car park, and as we had already paid, the receptionist gave us a slip of paper to say we were guests of the hotel; I didn't check what she had written until I removed it from the windscreen, and due to what I presume was our accent she'd written down the wrong registration number.
On returning to check in we were given room 1, which I was sure had had bad things written about it, as it is the first room on the ground floor, but I couldn't remember what.
The room was large, and had a bath (which I always find a bonus), but seemed to have been decorated to resemble a Premier Inn, but with a different colour scheme.
The down sides were the constant slamming doors all night, and the small towels that were provided; bath towels rather than bath sheets. Someone else had commented that the only toiletries provided was a small slither of soap, and it is the smallest bar of soap ever. I had a recollection that Travelodge used to try and sell additional toiletries, such as shower gel, and toothpaste, but they seem to have stopped doing the constant sell of additional items, and meals.
The hotel is very convenient for the city centre, and railway station. For breakfast we chose to go to a Wetherspoons about 15 minutes away, as they have a vegetarian option.

Room Tip: Take big towels, the ones provided are small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cdaHx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Sophie from Customer Care at Travelodge Bath Waterside, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear cdaHx, we’re sorry to hear of your disappointing stay and the disruption you experienced from other customers. We expect all staff to be polite and helpful at all times by assisting our customers and offering the usual level of Customer Care. As standard we do not provide toiletries in any of our hotels although we do offer the option to purchase extra toiletries from our vending machines. All customer feedback is invaluable to us and we will ensure that the hotel is made aware of the comments that you have made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed at the Travelodge in August and whilst it was not the best hotel we have ever stayed in and we are not aching to return, I would say we were very pleased with what we got for our money. Travelodge is what it claims to be just somewhere to bed down for the night in relative comfort and then scarper after breakfast. It had just had a remodel and was very clean and tidy, fresh lick of paint and clean carpets. Our room was the biggest we have ever had in a travelodge and our daughter actually had a proper bed not the usual bed settee. The staff on reception were very friendly, helpful and professional. Our only criticism would be that the bar area was not particularly well looked after, plates from I would imagine lunchtime were still on the tables at five o'clock when we sat down for a drink before going out for a meal. There were three staff members on duty and all of them walked past the three dirty tables on numerous occasions whilst were there without attempting to clear them.
Overall though we were pleased with the hotel and would return without hesitation. The location is brilliant if you are wanting to explore Bath and we did that on the day we arrived and then onto Longleat the following day. Perfect!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Stayed here for a week whilst working locally.

Check in was quick and painless. Staff were pleasant and helpful. The rooms were clean and tidy and cleaned everyday to a high standard and towels changed daily.

Other than a good location to town centre that all this hotel has to offer.

Outside our roomand going down the length of the hallway were spiders and spider webs. I counted 42 from room to lift.
This due to windows in Hall open constantly and not being cleaned.

The breakfast was ... ok at best. A good choice of cereal but the cooked breakfast is left to long and dries out, machine coffee ... horrible, and machine juices are very weak.

Again breakfast staff very friendly and helpful.

Iwon't stay here again

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joelthom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Dianne from Customer Care at Travelodge Bath Waterside, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
We’re sorry to learn of your disappointment with some aspects of your stay joelthom. Whilst we are pleased to hear you received good service from our staff, we’d expect the corridors to be clean and for our customers to enjoy the food in our bar café. Our Hotel Manager will be made aware of your comments so they can address the issues you have highlighted.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Bath Central
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
0.5 mi away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#23 of 34 in Bath
2,742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
1,240 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#17 of 34 in Bath
1,369 reviews
7.1 mi away
Radstock Hotel
Radstock Hotel
#29 of 34 in Bath
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Bath Waterside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Bath Waterside

Property: Travelodge Bath Waterside
Address: Rossiter Road | Widcombe Basin, Bath BA2 4JP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travelodge Bath Waterside 2.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, Travelodge Hotels Ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travelodge Bath Waterside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Bath Waterside Hotel Bath
Travelodge Hotel Waterside
Travelodge Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing