We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“surprisingly terrible”
Review of Jolly's

Jolly's
Ranked #74 of 156 things to do in Bath
Attraction details
Beaminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“surprisingly terrible”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

26/10/13. We chose Jolly's to eat lunch as all other eateries were busy. Surprised to find cafe quiet!! I chose ham egg chips, my daughter chose burger bacon and cheese in bun.and two coffees. Table was sticky which you wouldn't be surprised at if staff were rushed of their feet. As soon as my daughter looked at her meal she saw a hair poking out of burger. As the plates were stone cold the chips were warm and the fried egg was luke warm and not quite cooked. Hence we left still hungry and £22.00 worse off. We wont be going back there again.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank carol e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    3
    8
    10
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Food For Thought”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Saturday 21st September was a typically busy day in Bath, we called into Jolly's for a light lunch around 1.00pm. Although other eateries we passed were crowded we had no problem getting served quickly. That was the only plus, we both ordered a hot sandwich containing Asian Style Pork with Hoisin Sauce, shared one portion of chips and two coffees, total cost was £17.90.
The coffee was acceptable but the sandwiches when opened contained what appeared to be a few pre-diced slivers of pork approximimatly 20mmx20mm, some bean sprouts and sauce.
We pushed it around the plate, consumed the coffee and left £17.90 lighter.
As this is the only time we have visited this restaurant it is difficult to say if this is the normal standard but by the low level of patrons I assume this is the case. The standard we expected was that found in M & S and John Lewis stores, I cannot see the point of Jolly's continuing to offer a dining experience of this quality it can only reflect badly on the store.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Graham N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Out of date, and dirty old carpets.”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

No competition to any other shops in Bath, there are much better looking shops that are easier to shop, brighter and cleaner than House of Fraser. Would be very hard to shop if you had a pram or wheelchair.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank emmaberryoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Bad service by Jollys, Bath and House Of Fraser Generally”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Please be aware that if you buy a gift for someone and forget to ask for a gift receipt, then Jollys do not even let you exchange the item even for a different size or colour. It happened to me. I tried to complain but even if you complain to House of Fraser main office, it gets handles by the local store, Jollys in this case. Where did customer service go????

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank H G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Level Contributor
296 reviews
86 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

Been here twice for morning coffee, nothing positive to say about the place. No atmosphere, no soul, surly disinterested staff. Food is ok,
Still widely used by "ladies that lunch"
There are many more far superior places in bath.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank gizmo2brian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jolly's also viewed

 

Been to Jolly's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing