We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Two nights was not enough”
Review of Hawkins of Bath

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hawkins of Bath
Ranked #1 of 154 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Two nights was not enough”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

I can only complement Glyn on his standard of service and the quality of his b and b. On arrival Glyn gave us a warm welcome with helpful tips on the sights and restaurants close by. The room was one of the largest and best set out of the many b and b's we have stayed at. Breakfast the next morning was of a very high standard and after breakfast Glyn drove us in to Bath and gave us a quick personal tour of the major sights providing that extra service that was not expected but certainly appreciated.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveller53sydney57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nevergrim, Owner at Hawkins of Bath, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Thank you ' Traveler 53 Sydney 57' for your very kind review. Diane and I are very lucky to have so many nice people visit us here at Hawkins. We are also very lucky to be situated in such a location, that a short trip into the city centre to run an errand takes in one or two of the Iconic squares and Crescents that you mention in your review. Although we can not always offer this as standard, we always try to combine such a service if we need to pop into central Bath ourselves for any reason. We are delighted that we were able, in some small way, to enhance your stay in this Beautiful city. Best Wishes, Glyn and Diane.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    520
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
112
290
17
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blenheim, Marlborough, New Zealand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

This was very short stay in Bath - 1 night. As expected this is a class act. The greeting, the room, the food and the off-street parking were perfect. This B&B, and Bath, deserve a longer stay, we thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Before we arrive, we had received text messages from Glyn, told us that the room was ready for us. A warm welcoming at our arrival. Good size room and bath room. Tea, coffee, snack, brochures were all provided and explained by the owner. Feel like home. Brilliant!
The breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jadehorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivermectin heath
2 reviews
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We arrived at Hawkins of bath to a warm welcome. After easy of road parking at back of guest house. The room was beautiful with a great bathroom.. And everything we needed . The breakfast
Was very nice with a good choice.
The location was in a good position
To walk int bath via the park .the owners
Were charming and very helpful..
A really great guest house 5 stars
Glenn&alison harpenden

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glennali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
161 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

After a hard days drive and evenings enjoyment in bath, we were welcomed with a fabulous tray of refreshments by Diane. We were also given a map of bath and some really interesting info. (Glynn had also text to ensure they would be there to welcome us). We had the refreshments in the sumptuous front room before retiring to our room for the night. I loved the roll top bath, the oh so comfortable bed and we made the most of the selections of films. Everything was just so and finished to a high standard. Breakfast was a joy- perfectly cooked with even the eggs being exactly round and runny to the right degree. The fruit salad was wonderful too. After sadly only one night we were totally rejuvinated before our long drive to Padstow. Glynn helped us on our way with a great route suggestion and map. One small regret was that we didn't check in earlier to gain advice on the order of our activities in Bath!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SassyMarie83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

On the 20th of August 2012, my partner and I travelled to Bath for an overnight stay. I had booked Hawkins of Bath as our Bed and Breakfast, purely based on the Tripadvisor reviews that I had read. I must say I was not disappointed by the Bed and Breakfast. We arrived around lunch time and was greeted by Glyn and Diane. They showed us our room and offered a refreshment. We obliged and had this served in the living room area. Glyn then came in and gave us some helpful advice on where to go and what to see. He had great knowledge of the area and suggested little things like leaving the Thermae Spa until a bit later in the evening, as the day trippers would have gone and it would be quieter. He also suggested a few different restaurants, which was helpful. He also only suggested the ones he had dined in himself. This all gave Hawkins a touch of personal feel.

The room was on the ground floor and was elegant and well designed. It was spacious and had a great sized bathroom with a shower and bath. Their is a TV and DVD player in the room as well as tea and coffee making facilities.

Breakfast. Breakfast was served in the Breakfast Room toward the back of the guest house. Again this was very well designed and set out. Diane asked what we would like and promptly bought this to us. It was a delicious breakfast and was cooked fresh to order. The food was quality and tasty, far better than any hotel breakfast we have had before(far exceeding some 5 star hotels)!!! Plus it was more personal being able to chat with the owner.

After finishing breakfast we returned to the room and packed up our bag. We then spoke to Glyn who was very friendly and had a nice chat. He told us that we could leave the car in the car park at the rear for as long as we liked. This was handy as we walked back into the city centre.

After spending a lovely day in Bath City Centre, we returned to Hawkins and retired on a lovely, comfortable and large bed.

We had a great time in bath and the B & B was the icing on the cake.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mr_America
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Chose here because of trip advisor reviews and had a luxury 2 night stay with the family. A very warm welcome from our hosts who are genuinely keen to make your stay comfortable and stress free. Some great advice on where to go, places to eat. Some many small touches throughout the stay that I have probably forgotten but which all contributed to a wonderful stay. The room itself was top notch, and had the bonus of a connecting room for the children with its own door to give the adults some space. Beds were excelent breakfast too. Nothing but praise for our stay here and would gladly return. One final point- if in Bath the "Bizarre Bath" comedy walk in a must- a unique and very funny 90 mins!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scorryuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.2 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
1.8 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#1 of 35 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,224 reviews
1.2 mi away
Leighton Townhouse
Leighton Townhouse
#6 of 154 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hill House
Hill House
#3 of 154 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
2.3 mi away
Grove Lodge
Grove Lodge
#2 of 154 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
1.4 mi away
Paradise House
Paradise House
#4 of 154 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawkins of Bath? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawkins of Bath

Property: Hawkins of Bath
Address: 88 Newbridge Road, Bath BA1 3LA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 154 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hawkins of Bath 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Guest House ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hawkins of Bath reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing