We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Royal Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$180
$174
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$403
$311
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$154
$145
MGallery
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$216
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$108
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$148
$139
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Holiday Inn Express Bath(Bath)(Great Value!)
$107
$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Bailbrook House Hotel(Bath)(Great Value!)
$112
$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harington's Hotel(Bath)(Great Value!)
$101
$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Reviews (1,374)
Filter reviews
1,374 results
Traveler rating
685
442
158
49
40
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
685
442
158
49
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrain stationcream teawowcher dealtravelling by trainbath spa railway stationground coffeemanvers streetspa packagebreakfast and dinnersuperior roomroman bathsbiscuitsthermae sparestaurant stafflovely hotelexcellent locationeggs benedict
Filter
Updating list...
816 - 821 of 1,374 reviews
Reviewed August 16, 2014

Expected a comfortable stay here judging by other reviews and we chose this hotel for its proximity to the train station and sights in Bath. This Victorian hotel is a little shabby in areas with warning signs stating £100 fine for smoking in room to pay for de-odorising! We don't smoke but I think the threatening signs a little over-the-top....The room had been updated at some point and was generally clean, but had a very badly designed small bathroom with the towels on a rail right up against the toilet - not very hygienic. There was fixed shower over head, with a temperamental hot/cold tap. Room was incredibly hot, because the window couldn't be opened at night due to the very noisy, busy main road below with coaches and buses waiting at the traffic lights. A fan was provided in the room, but it too was noisy and inadequate. A nice touch was the cafetiere, tea and biscuits in the room, a hair dryer and TV also provided. The beds are too soft (for us), with blanket not duvet and all in all we did not get a good night's sleep. The lift is antiquated and the stairs very winding, which is due to the age of the building I expect. Some of the staff seemed a little stressed and although the breakfast was just OK, I did not appreciate a male member of the waiting staff reaching in front of my face as I was about to take a bite of toast, to snatch the menu! A regular occurrence in the "Brassierie Brunel" is water dripping through the ceiling when the person in the room above takes a shower!!! The location is good and the baths etc. are a ten minute walk away, but don't expect charm or sophistication in this hotel and we think it is a little over priced for what you get.

    • Value
    • Service
7  Thank charley11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatronHandR, Owner at Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2014

As one of the owners of The Royal Hotel I would like to respond to this review.

Firstly, I am sorry we did not meet the expectations of this reviewer. The Royal Hotel was built in 1846 and is Grade II listed and, therefore, we do have to work within the confines of this type of building, which includes bedrooms, bathrooms and the stairs/lift. We do employ the services of a designer and a full time in house maintenance person to ensure that our bedrooms are kept to a high standard but we do appreciate that our style of decor may not be to everyone’s taste.

Non-smoking warning signs now appear in many hotels. The policy is there is to ensure that no non-smoking guest has to endure the smoking fumes from a previous guest.

We purchase our mattresses, which are of a medium type, from a renowned hotel supplier but again we appreciate that people have their own preference with regards to mattresses whether it be soft, medium or hard. With regards to bedding, we use Egyptian cotton linen and Merino wool blankets.

I was surprised to read this reviewer’s comments on both our staff and breakfast (for which we have a Tourist Board Award) as we receive many, many complimentary reviews. However, I do apologise that the breakfast menu was not removed immediately after the order was taken. We are pleased that this guest enjoyed the facilities provided in our bedrooms.

With regards to the water dripping in Brasserie Brunel, this was due to a leaking pipe, which had been repaired and the area was drying out before redecoration.

We feel that we are competitively priced compared to similar hotels in Bath.

Once again my apologies that on this occasion we did not meet the expectations of this guest.


Patrick McGuire
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2014

We chose the Royal because of its close proximity to the train station, We found the Hotel to be very central to many and varied restaurants plus a new shopping centre. The hotel staff were
extremely efficient and friendly and made us very welcome. The room had all the amenities
expected and very comfortable. The ambience of the breakfast / dining room is superb as is the
food which has a wide ranging menu. In all a very memorable stay.

Room Tip: Not in a position to comment on other rooms
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Philip C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatronHandR, General Manager at Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2014

Thank you very much for your review following your stay with us at The Royal.

I am delighted that you have found everything to your satisfaction and that the stay was very memorable.

We look forward to welcoming you back on a future occasion.


Mike MacDermid
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2014

This hotel has a very good deal for 2 nights dinner, bed and breakfast at the moment and we booked on that basis. If you book it through Visit Bath's website you will also get 2 free tickets to the Roman Baths, which is a really enjoyable visit and well worth an hour or more, especially in the evening (July and August) as it's torch-lit.

The hotel was designed by Isambard Kingdom Brunel and is historic and solid. Recent decorating in the dining room give it a French bistro feel which is warm and welcoming. The food both at breakfast and dinner was very good and the staff on duty were always efficient, helpful and friendly. The bedroom we had was a reasonable size and nicely decorated, the bed was comfortable and there was a ceiling fan, which was much appreciated as the weather was hot while we were there. There was also a sofa in the room. The bathroom was recently renovated with an excellent shower and the towels were large and fluffy. In addition to the usual coffee and tea, there was fresh ground coffee and a cafetiere which was a lovely touch.

The hotel is very well located, opposite the railway station and only a couple of minutes walk through the newer shopping area to the historic centre. It is not part of a chain and that is obvious from the attitude of the manager and staff; all are unfailingly helpful and willing to go the extra mile to make your stay a happy one. If you come by car book a space for it in the (very small) car park at the rear when you book your room. Parking in Bath is awful and pricey. We enjoyed our stay and would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Given it's on a corner opposite the railway station, it's not that noisy. Keeping the windows closed helps.
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CheshireFee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatronHandR, General Manager at Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2014

Thank you very much for your wonderful review following your stay with us at The Royal and for taking the time and trouble to highlight some of the specific attractions.

We very much look forward to welcoming you on a future occasion and thank you also for recommending us to other guests.

Mike MacDermid
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2014

An older, interesting hotel close to everything. The rooms seem slightly worn but there is a real attempt to make up for that with comfortable linens, a modern immaculate bathroom, and a highly motivated friendly staff. We enjoyed the breakfast room and great offerings. We stayed during very hot, humid weather which made it uncomfortable even though it was not the hotel's fault.....it seems typical of much of England to lack air conditioning. Our opened window looked out to an air shaft that might be accessible, although access to the shaft had been blocked to discourage theft.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Linda E L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatronHandR, General Manager at Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2014

Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us at The Royal and I am delighted that you found everything in your room to be very satisfactory apart from the fact that it was particularly hot on this occasion.

However, I was disappointed to read that you felt that the room was “slightly worn” as we do very much focus on maintaining the decor and furnishings throughout the hotel and retain the services of a permanent decorator/handyman to ensure that this happens.

Perhaps you would be kind enough to advise me which room you stayed in so that if needs be we can attend to anything which may need immediate attention as opposed to part of our ongoing schedule of decor and repairs.

We look forward to welcoming you back on a future occasion.


Mike MacDermid
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

This hotel is a great one by the train station and in the city centre. Breakfast is agreeable and room are very cosy and very large for English standards and the staff were very friendly. A bit pricey but I was in high season.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ABR186225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatronHandR, General Manager at Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2014

Thank you for your thoughtful review following your recent stay with us during which you appreciate the size and cosiness of our bedrooms and, of course, our lovely staff of whom we are extremely proud.

We look forward to welcoming you back on a future occasion.


Mike MacDermid
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews