We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel perfect location.”
Review of Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Royal Hotel
Ranked #16 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Hotel perfect location.”
Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for my husbands birthday at the end of March in a superior room. Lovely room with lots of extras like proper coffee with a cafetiere. Breakfast was just right nice change from self service. Ate in the restaurant both nights food excellent! Service was top notch throughout, especially the waitress didn't get her name just that she was from Leeds and the reception staff, nothing was too much trouble. Location is fantastic you virtually step out of the hotel into the centre of Bath. Well worth a visit!!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank darnylr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatronHandR, General Manager at Royal Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Thank you for your thoughtful complimentary review and in particular for highlighting some of the attractions of staying with us at The Royal, not least being the quality of our lovely staff.


Mike MacDermid
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    549
    387
    137
    43
    33
See reviews for
159
580
80
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Have just returned from a girlie break in The Royal Hotel and cannot recommend it highly enough. From the moment we arrived the staff couldn't have been more friendly or helpful, from the reception and restaurant/bar staff to the Housekeeper and the lovely lady who cleaned our room. The Hotel is in a fantastic position next to the train station and our bedroom, at the front of the hotel, was large, clean, bright and airy and had recently been decorated. It was well stocked with proper coffee, biscuits, various types of tea and bottled water. Lovely chocolates on our pillows were also a delicious treat. Our package of 2 nights with dinner, bed, breakfast, 2 hour Thermea Spa visit and a champagne cream tea cost £210 and was excellent value for money. The food in the restaurant was excellent and the bar in the hotel was so reasonably priced that we felt no need to go elsewhere in the evenings after dinner. We had also pre booked a car parking space which made unloading our luggage very easy. One of the nicest, friendliest hotels we've ever stayed in and can't wait to return.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Maxloudallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatronHandR, General Manager at Royal Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
We are delighted that you and your friends had a lovely time with us at The Royal and that you thought that our Spa Package was excellent value for money and, indeed, that you also felt that our drinks were very reasonably priced to add to that feeling of good value which is something which we do feel we offer at The Royal. We also believe that our Spa Package is the most attractive one available in Bath, in addition to being value for money.

Given that you can’t wait to return please let us know when you plan your next visit and do contact me personally as I am sure we can offer you a special group rate as returning customers.


Mike MacDermid
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed March 29, 2014

I have just got back from a perfect stay at this hotel I was part of a party that had booked about 10 rooms for 2 days. Great hotel clean, food good, location good. All staff friendly a young Scottish guy that seemed to be at the hotel for the 2 days we were there (maybe management) was really helpful obviously enjoyed his job as he was talking and smiling to everyone! Good to see an independent hotel doing well in Bath.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toptravel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatronHandR, General Manager at Royal Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review following your “perfect” stay with us. I am delighted that your party found everything very much to your liking.

I have passed on your kind comments regarding Will (the young Scottish guy) who is a very important part of our team and, as you say, he is a friendly, smiling individual.


Mike MacDermid
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Rooms a bit old fashioned ( but i like that ) very clean and friendly . helpful staff. good position in town . chocs biscuits and proper coffee and something to read also in room. warm heated towel rail in bathroom.

Room Tip: look for the dinner one night , bed and breakfast rate mine was £99 per night .The food was good ,bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shelley j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatronHandR, General Manager at Royal Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank you for your review following your stay at The Royal and I am delighted that you enjoyed the little extras that we provide in the bedrooms and that you found our staff helpful.

We look forward to welcoming you back on another occasion.


Mike MacDermid
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Droitwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
416 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014

This hotel is typical of older city center English hotels. Comfortable, very small but well worn and rather expensive. My room was clean and genuinely comfortable, but it is good thing my wife was not with me as the rooms do not comfortably accommodate more than one client.

The staff were surprisingly friendly and helpful -- a nice positive, especially given the fact that most English hotel staff are not very friendly nor helpful.

Room Tip: Hotel is across the street fro the main Bath train station. thus the quietest rooms are on the side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edward B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatronHandR, General Manager at Royal Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank you for your review which unfortunately was a mix between enjoying your stay with us but with some negatives. I am surprised that you found your room smaller than you would have liked. Unfortunately we are not aware from your review which room you stayed in but if it was a double or twin room, then your comment is particularly surprising as we have never had a complaint about the size of our rooms in the past.

I also, with respect, do not accept that our hotel is “well worn” nor unduly expensive compared to other comparable hotels in the centre of Bath. The whole of the hotel has been refurbished over a three year rolling programme which was completed just over a year ago and we very much believe in the “stitch in time” policy of maintenance after completing such an expensive refurbishment and it is for this reason that we retain the services of a full time decorator/maintenance person.

On the other hand I am delighted that you found our staff friendly and helpful as we are very proud of all of them and invariably receive such praise from all guests who stay with us.


Mike MacDermid
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Have just returned from a two night stay at this hotel, conveniently located opposite the station and in the centre of Bath. It was excellent value for money and the breakfast was first class. Dinner on both nights was excellent too and the staff were really friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 821Christine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatronHandR, General Manager at Royal Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank you for your thoughtful review following your recent stay with us and I am delighted that you found everything first class and excellent value for money.


Mike MacDermid
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

I had a very comfortable stay at this clean, tidy hotel. It's very close to the rail station, making it ideal for tourists. Food served in the morning was delicious. Staff are friendly.

We paid £80 for one night stay and breakfast- down from £135. In all honesty, I would have been disappointed if I had paid £135. The decor is a bit tired. However, £80 for a double room was definitely good value for money.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Mariam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatronHandR, General Manager at Royal Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay albeit you felt that the decor is a little tired. We retain the services of a full time decorator and I assure you that our rooms are redecorated as and when necessary but we do strive to maintain a decor style which is in keeping with this lovely Grade II listed building, which we appreciate may not be to the taste of all our customers.


Mike MacDermid
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.5 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.2 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#17 of 34 in Bath
1,366 reviews
1.9 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
0.5 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
1,238 reviews
0.7 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#13 of 34 in Bath
1,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel

Property: Royal Hotel
Address: Manvers Street, Bath BA1 1JP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing