We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very enjoyable stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Royal Hotel
Ranked #15 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A very enjoyable stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

My teenage daughter and I enjoyed a fabulous 2 night stay at The Royal Hotel. The staff were friendly, helpful and remembered questions we'd asked on arrival. The room was clean and well maintained and breakfast was good and started nice and early. We'd both be very happy to make a return visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rosiejw1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,087 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    519
    364
    131
    42
    31
See reviews for
145
551
76
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

Just returned from a wonderful 2 nights break. The special offer break is such fantastic value for money. Thank you for the upgrade to a 4 poster bedroom the bed was huge which was wonderful. Plenty of coffee and tea etc nice local biscuits and bottle of water which was welcome - fluffy dressing gowns and slippers. Very clean with both a bath and shower which was lovely. Evening meal included 3 courses and beautiful full English breakfast. The hop on/off bus stop is right outside just a 10 minute walk to the centre of Bath shops and the main Roman Baths attraction. The car parking was an added bonus for just a small daily charge I would recommend you book in advance as only 6 spaces available. Congratulations on offering a wonderful welcome and polite friendly staff a big pat on the back. We will be back Thank You.

Room Tip: stayed in room 109 this was a free upgrade (Very lucky and appreciative Thank you)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 62Mandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Me and my other half booked this hotel the day before on a last minute trip to Bath. The room we booked was the last room left in the hotel and was one of the superior rooms.

Although it would of been nice to have had a room with a bit of view or maybe one of the more newly refurbished rooms we were not at all disappointed with our room seeing as it was the last one left!

We really loved some of the really lovely personal touches like the slippers and chocolates left on the bed!

The staff are really friendly especially the receptionist who was very welcoming and helpful the entire time!

The location is fantastic right across the road from the train station, and yes you do get train noises but dont book a hotel across from the station if you are expecting a noise free night! As we live near a train station anyway this was not a problem for us at all, the gulls can be quite noisy but this is not a fault of the hotel, this will be the same across Bath!

Its a short walk to all the shops and attractions etc so for us was ideally based and no need for any taxis etc.

The breakfast was amazing! We were expecting continental breakfast (HotelBooking.com need to work on the description as this is a real selling point!) We got a lovely cooked breakfast with eggs as you like them, again very quick and friendly service. There is also a buffet with fruit, cereals, ham and cheeses etc.

We will definitely be returning here and we are looking forward to taking advantage of the summer offer!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 113 but would be worth asking for a street view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daaaaaaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

Our two-day leisure break was a bargain. The hotel is well-appointed and the restaurant is good both for breakfast and for dinner. Our "sleep rating" is not so good because the weather was very hot and so was the room.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit Michigan
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

I stayed two nights in mid July 2013 at the Royal Hotel in Bath. It was a late booking so I did quite well to find this hotel. You see it immediately upon alighting from the train station as it's across the road. So for late arrivals, you don't have far to walk and can skip the taxi. The Royal Hotel is conveniently located near most attractions only being about 10 minute walk away. Seemed safe at night to walk back alone to hotel. The rooms are well appointed, clean and there is a lift. They have no air conditioning so it can get warm at night in the summer. You can leave the windows open but you will hear some noise from the bar below and people on the streets. If you're a light sleeper, bring ear plugs. The staff were friendly and helpful with directions and suggestions. My one complaint is the man at the desk told me they offer secure luggage storage which they don't. You put your bags in a room they lock, but when I returned later in the day, the door to the room was wide open and anyone could have taken my bag. They do not ticket the bags to identify them. So best to call this "insecure" luggage storage. Store at your own risk and don't leave anything value!! Overall, I liked the Royal Hotel which included a hot cooked English breakfast with room fee and would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
60 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

The hotel is located directly opposite the Bath Spa train station. It is also about a 5 min walk to the main tourist sites of Bath Abbey, The Roman Baths and also shops and restaurants. I arrived at 9am and was warmly greeted by a female staff who helped me store my bag and gave me a map so that I could explore the city immediately. I booked the single room and although it was quite small, it was clean and with all the amenities one would expect from a hotel. The room is naturally ventilated and may get a bit hot in the summer afternoons. Breakfast was included and the eggs benedict is highly reccomended. I would choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Drew_X79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

We had just completed the "Skyline" 10k walk around Bath and need food after a very hot day. We checked out a few places and saw the menu outside the Royal and decided to give it a go. We were not disappointed I had a minute steak with pepper sauce and my wife had ham egg and chips both were very good and excellent value for money. I would recommend this hotel for its food. It also had a nice looking higher end dining room which we did not use but on the basis of the bar food I would give it a go next time we are there

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Firtoft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.5 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.2 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#16 of 34 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,310 reviews
0.8 mi away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
0.5 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,185 reviews
1.8 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel

Property: Royal Hotel
Address: Manvers Street, Bath BA1 1JP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing