We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff and a lovely weekend”
Review of Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Royal Hotel
Ranked #17 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 12, 2013

From the moment we arrived at the hotel, the customer service was excellent. The receptionist couldn't have been more helpful, and this set the tone for the whole weekend. The building itself is a little tired and could do with some updating but this really didn't matter as the special touches expected from a top quality hotel were all there. Our second floor room (203) was small but spotlessly clean with a lovely en-suite. I'm glad we managed to get a hotel car parking space - £16 for our two night stay was good value and offered peace of mind. The hotel faces the train station and there is a platform tannoy, so I was pleased our room was at the rear of the hotel -- may be worth asking for a rear room when booking. The evening menu in the Brasserie is simple, unfussy and we found the food to be beautifully prepared. So, all in all a special weekend which we really enjoyed.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joanna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,198)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

884 - 890 of 1,197 reviews

Reviewed February 11, 2013

I visited the hotel for a long weekend with my girlfriend from 7th-10th February. Upon our arrival we were greeted very warmly and the quality of the service never decreased across the whole weekend. We stayed in a four-poster room on the first floor (109) which was lovely, with a great en-suite bathroom. The bed was incredibly comfortable, too good in fact as I never made it to breakfast once! The city centre location makes it perfect for exploring the city every day and visiting a variety of restaurants in the evening, as well as being ideal for the station. The bar was often busy with both guests and people popping in We also ate in the restaurant one evening which was lovely. The only downsides were the sometimes temperamental Wi-Fi and a little noise outside but that is to be expected from the city centre location. All in all it was a great place to stay which I couldn't recommend higher.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RT123378
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Recently stayed at the Royal Hotel for one night. Hotel is situated directly across the road from the train station. Car Parking is about 500mtrs behind the hotel next to Police Station, above and below ground, it is pay and display, machines do accept credit and debit cards, approx £12 for 24hours the hours overnight are non chargeable and therefore credited to the next day. Easy walking distance to shopping areas and all tourist attractions.
Room 209 - Cosy in size, as I was single occupant it was OK but two people would have trouble moving around. Room was clean and bed comfortable, however the room could do with modernising, new kettle, Nespresso coffee machine, simple things such as updating the hotel directory and this room favoured Blankets instead of quilt not to my taste. The iron you need to get from reception. The bathroom has a shower only. This room is right on the intersection and was not satisfactorily insulated to block out the noise from outside traffic or late night revellers returning from train station. There appears to be secondary double glazed window however this has been blocked from closing all the way down, hence does not block out the noise, so not a pleasant nights sleep was had, and at a price of £89pnight I found this to be not acceptable.
Positive - The Restaurant - Food both for Breakfast and Dinner was excellent as was the service and reasonably priced. Beware though, for those with big appetites the rolled Plaice (main course) was very small, starter size portion the accompanying side dish of new potatoes was larger in portion size.
Staff, as per other reviews friendly and efficient, however I was disappointed, when having given feedback on the noise I was told next time ask for a room at the back of the Hotel, shouldn’t all rooms be assured to give a peaceful nights sleep isn’t this the point of a hotel?
I do hope management fix the soundproofing for all rooms affected but in the meantime it may pay to ask for a Room at the Back and maybe a much reduced rate be offered for those noisy rooms!!

Room Tip: Avoid room 209 unless soundproofing has been fixed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DebRags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
recp, General Manager at Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for staying with us and for your comments.
The Royal Hotel has limited car parking which can be prebooked at a cost of £8.20 per day.
There are two public car parks on our doorstep. Unfortunately all city centre hotels suffer from some traffic noise however good the secondary glazing is.
The receptionist on duty when you were checking out was trying to be heplful in suggesting
that next time you visit we would recommend a room at the back of the hotel.
All of our bedrooms vary in size and this is how the famous Mr Brunel designed the building.
All rooms have ironing boards, but for safety we request that the guest calls to reception
and we will have an iron delivered to their bedroom.
We are the only hotel in Bath that offers a choice of instant and ground coffee in their bedroom.
The fillet of plaice filled with a tiger prawn and red pepper mousse you selected for your
evening meal is one of our most popular dishes on the menu and is delivered to the hotel fresh daily. Our blankets supplied are made from 100% merino wool and I do accept that a quilt
can be a preference for some guests.
I am delighted you found the staff friendly and helpful and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Royal.

Kind Regards

Mike MacDermid
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We stayed at the Royal for 2 nights in January (25th-27th). The first thing that we noticed was how friendly the young lady was on the reception. We felt this gave a very good first impression of the hotel. We found all staff to be extremely helpful and friendly. The staff here actually look like they really enjoy their jobs. Our room was very comfortable and the breakfast to a high standard. We would definitiely recommend and stay again. In a very central location in Bath.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Visited this hotel with our friends and found the staff and service to be excellent.
The restaurant food had a good choice of menu and the breakfast was also very varied and of a high standard.
The staff were very helpful without exception and I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone wanting good value combined with excellent service.

Room Tip: Suggest picking a room at the side or back away from the main street and station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SmartNewtonAbbot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Lovely old building Excellent location right by the station & town centre. Rooms very clean fresh sheets every night. Facilities in the room are great too. all staff very polite & helpful , Dinner & breakfast was inclued in the price of the stay, food was lovely. Good value.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank diane s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Just had a two night stay here and cannot praise it enough great position great staff all very friendly and helpfull and food was fantastic we had breakfast on two days and a lovely meal on the last evening.the room was clean and comfortable clean towels and bed lininen on both days tv/ dvd and good coffee and tea facilitys which were restocked allso.we booked a parking space before we arrived and walked around the lovely clean city for the days we were here great hotel and will defiantly come again maybe by train next time !

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Nathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.5 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
1.9 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#18 of 34 in Bath
1,430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
0.8 mi away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#26 of 34 in Bath
2,882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel

Address: Manvers Street, Bath BA1 1JP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Bath
Price Range: $162 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing