We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Royal Hotel
Ranked #15 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Lovely”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

Right by the station, so great location. Lovely old building. Helpful staff. Dinner and breakfast included in the price of the stay. Food was lovely. Rooms nice. Good value. Could not fault. If you can get a deal, then its all the more worth it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunnyeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,087 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    519
    364
    131
    42
    31
See reviews for
145
551
76
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

Spent 2 nights on a dinner, bed & breakfast rate through Travelzoo. Fantastic location couldnt be any more central if we tried. A very friendly, helpful Receptionist checked us in. The bedroom was clean and comfortable with lovely little touches I wouldnt have expected from a 3 star hotel. We ate in the Restaurant both night and enjoyed our experience. A slight hicup occured in the Restaurant on our 2nd visit but was very well handled by the Manager.
Breakfast was excellent with a good choice of hot and cold items.
Check out again was very friendly and efficient. I would receommend this hotel without a doubt, great value for clean, comfortable, friendly hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diver25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wembley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

I have just returned home after spending 3 nights with my daughter at this very well managed hotel. Our room was lovely and had everything in it that we could possibly need. A lot of thought has gone into space for clothing. Lots of hanging space and drawers, shelves, mirrors etc very well positioned. Great tea/coffee making facilities and Taylor's of London products in the bathroom. Extra touches like box of tissues and cotton wool balls a lovely touch. We had dinner at the hotel an the first night which was lovely. Breakfasts were very good but the best thing for us were the staff. Everyone one of them were friendly and always cheerful and Emily at reception was brilliant. All down to good management. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gizmo63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

We booked one night on one of their promotional deals and another night at bed and breakfast rates, the hotel is a bit faded and there are some oddities, the staircase is not for the faint hearted and the rooms are small, the bathrooms have been refurbished but instead of painting where the tiles anded they have used wall paper, which is peeling in places. Thats the bad bit the good bits by far outweigh the negatives, the staff were very helpful, the position is perfect and the amenities well there is a coffee cafeteria with ground coffee in the room, there was fruit and a bottle of wine to greet us. the toilet amenities were first class with the best toilet roll I have seen in the many hotels I have stayed in, the rooms were very clean and neat and the bed very comfortable. Its not five star but it is very good value for money, highly recommended for a couple of days break

Room Tip: Make sure to book parking space if driving and ask for a quiet room, in the summer both of these wil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
recp, General Manager at Royal Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your recent stay at The Royal Hotel. In particular the staff and the quality of service and our housekeeping standards.
With respect to the wallpaper we have identified that on reflection, using wallpaper in bathrooms
was not a good idea. We are already addressing this by continuing with our planned maintenance
programme and removing the wallpaper from all of the bathrooms and repainting the walls.

Kind regards

Mike MacDermid
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
86 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed at the Royal for three nights from Christmas Eve and had bed and breakfast and Christmas dinner at the hotel. As this was a late booking I accepted that the room was a basic standard, but was a bit disappointed on arrival to find that the room (305) was little bigger than a double bed with an opaque window high up in the wall. Fortunately there had been a cancellation and and it was well worth the extra £15 per night for a superior room on the second floor (204) which was much larger and more welcoming with a spacious bathroom. While this was opposite the station we were not troubled by noise as the railway system shut down for Christmas the evening of our arrival. As has been previously mentioned the hotel is very well located and no more than 15 minutes walk from most of the main attractions, and was convenient for us as travelling by train. We also found the staff friendly and helpful. Breakfasts were good and while I didn't think I would manage the 6 course Christmas dinner, the various courses were sensibly sized and I did not feel bloated afterwards.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed here on a Twixmas deal, which was dinner, bed and breakfast. The food was excellent along with the service, the waiters were really friendly and made sure we were treated really well.

Our room was superior room with a super kingsize bed, a bit of a surprise was that it was located next to the stairs and you could hear the lift going up and down. The room was located on the front of the hotel, so there was train station noise, but this didn't bother us.

Breakfast on both days was brilliant, with cooked items being made to order. The only downside was that they didn't have hot chocolate, but this may have just been stock thing as it was listed on the drinks menu in the bar.

The only niggle for the whole trip was that there was no hot water on the first night and most of the next day. We were told just after we had had dinner and warned that it could potentially two days before it was fixed. There was no alternative provision for showers offered and if we weren't planning on visiting the Thermae Spa I'm not sure what we would have done. Fortunately it was fixed by the time we got back to the hotel on the second night.

The location of the hotel is brilliant, two minutes walk to the shops and no more than 10 minutes to all the main sites. We parked in the Southgate car park and from Thursday PM to Saturday AM it was £16, which we felt was good value. The southgate carpark is literally a minutes walk from the hotel.

If we were visiting Bath again, I'd probably stay at this hotel again even if it was just to eat in the restaurant!

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, ask for a room away from the stairs and the station side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsND2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
recp, General Manager at Royal Hotel, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Dear Guest

Firstly may I apologise for the temporary lack of hot water which was caused by a part failure
on our new hot water boiler. During this time we still had fully functional heating boilers.
The engineer attended the same evening that the fault occurred and he identified the part required.
The following day after several suppliers were contacted to obtain the part it was successfully
located, collected and the boiler repaired by the engineer.As we have done with all of our guests
affected by this short term problem, we have compensated them accordingly.
May I thank you for your comments with respect to our staff, the hotel and the quality of food at The Royal. I look forward to meeting you again when you return to The Royal on a future visit.

Kind regards

Mike MacDermid
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westcountry
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

Just returned from very pleasant two day break at the Royal Hotel. Very conveniently located near shops, Abbey, Roman Baths etc. Superb breakfast and dinner menu - attentive staff could not do enough for us. Well appointed warm comfortable rooms. Bookable parking space in hotels own private car park adjacent to hotel, which at approx £8 per day is well worth it. Will certainly return.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Smithy35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.5 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.2 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#16 of 34 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,310 reviews
0.8 mi away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
0.5 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,185 reviews
1.8 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel

Property: Royal Hotel
Address: Manvers Street, Bath BA1 1JP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing