We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 stars, Brilliant”
Review of Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Royal Hotel
Ranked #17 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 27, 2012

My husband and I celebrated our 10th wedding Anniversary and stayed at Royal Hotel in Bath. The service was brilliant and our room was just perfect. We stayed for 2 nights and enjoyed the sights and Christmas market in Bath. It's position is great, just across the road from the train station. We ate in the bar as well as the restaurant both times were excellent. The breakfast gives you a variey of cooked breakfasts as well as cereals ect. I was surprised the hotel only has 3 stars it deserves 4 stars. I looked at reviews before I booked this hotel and all were excellent. They aren't made up try this hotel for yourself.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alijean38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,198)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

912 - 918 of 1,197 reviews

Reviewed November 26, 2012

Just returned from a great weekend with friends had a wonderful stay! room & staff were lovely especially Emily on reception who was always more than happy to help. Would definitely return thank you for a most enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pamela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Stayed for two nights had a lovely time ,great food plenty to eat
Great hotel for getting around bath sight seeing.
Room very nice and clean.
Staff friendly and helpful
After spa afternoon came back to hotel for champagne and cream tea all in the package

Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
Thank CornwallUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Upon our arrival no record could be found of our booking as the Tourist Information Office had not sent all the details through. However the hotel were extremely helpful and found us a room and helped us move to another one the next morning. The receptionist was very friendly.
Breakfast was gorgeous and plentiful.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank XXxecs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

We have a very enjoyable stay at this hotel. The staff were always friendly and very welcoming. It was very located next to all the good shops and within walking distance of all the attractions in Bath. We ate several times at the hotel restuarant as the food was so wonderful. Would definitely go back and stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie2012Shropshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Very warm welcome from all staff, as stated by earlier reviewers there can be some outside noise at night if the room overlooks the station, Bath is very expensive for hotels and the Royal was very competitive for a spa break , slippers ,towels and shampoo provided for our spa visit, (5 minute walk) Unfortunately had a very tough sirloin steak for dinner, i only realised how tough when I tried the wife's gorgeously tender rump steak . ah well ,it's a medium rare rump next time.
Good local real ale £3.70 a pint. TV in bar but no Sky.
Excellent location,close to all shops etc.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank organ254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
recp, General Manager at Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your excellent comments regarding The Royal Hotel and I am very
pleased you enjoyed your stay. With respect to your sirloin steak, we very much appreciate
this feed back and I only wish you had mentioned this at the time as we would gladly have replaced
it immediately. We have a simple policy of no questions asked, simply replaced. I was also very
pleased to read how tender your wife's rump steak was, clearly the sirloin steak should have been
equally as tender. We use all of ur steaks from a local butcher, which is 28 day aged and reared on their own farm. We look forward to your return visit.

Kind regards

Mike MacDermid
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

The hotel is obviously an old listed building but has been kept in good working order. The rooms are fairly spacious, but almost everywhere you go on any of the upper floors has very noisy floorboards. The en-suite in my room is small, but modernised with a good shower but no bath and plenty of water pressure in the shower and very clean. The decor in the room is a bit old-fashioned, but that's not exactly a major problem. My room has two single beds. Next-door is a double made by pushing two singles together but the beds are very saggy which ends up with a ridge down the middle of the bed.

Breakfast was very good. Full range of cooked and cold breakfasts and good attentive staff. Food was of good quality but not amazing.

It is directly outside the train station, so very handy if you travel by train. There is VERY limited parking which you need to arrange in advance, so we had to park down the road at £10 per day.

It is on a junction of major roads and the double glazing isn't that great so there is a lot of road noise, both at 11pm and at 6am due to a high volume of traffic and busses, so if you are a light sleeper either request a room at the back or pick another hotel.

No pool/gym etc.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
recp, General Manager at Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for your nice comments regarding the Royal Hotel, our staff and breakfast.
With respect to the room described as 2 single beds pushed together. I can confirm that these
are zip and link beds providing a large double bed with a king size mattress cover. When zipped
together properly they will create a complete bed without a ridge down the middle.
On this occasion the 2 beds had not been zipped together properly and I must apologise for this
and I am sorry if it caused an uncomfortable night's sleep.

Kind regards

Mike MacDermid
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.5 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
1.9 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#18 of 34 in Bath
1,430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
0.8 mi away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#26 of 34 in Bath
2,882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel

Address: Manvers Street, Bath BA1 1JP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Bath
Price Range: $162 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing