We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best bang for your buck”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Roseate Villa Bath
Ranked #3 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 5, 2014

My wife and I were VERY impressed. As it was our second time in England, we had some preconceived expectations. Villa Magdala exceeded all of them. The rooms were beautiful, comfortable, and quiet. And the staff were also extremely friendly and helpful. Bath is a great little tourist town, and Villa Magdala is literally a five minute walk into the heart of town and less than 10 minutes from everything. It was the perfect place for us. Great price, great atmosphere, great service.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Davidnelsonhunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheVM, Manager at The Roseate Villa Bath, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2014

Thank you so much for your review - give us a shout out to all your Canadian friends - we look forward to seeing them and you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,725)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,128 - 1,134 of 1,725 reviews

Reviewed May 5, 2014

Our tip is don't book well in advance and go at the last minute.
We saw this recommended in the Independent on Sunday, with an offer of rooms for around £79 per night. So we called to book a 2-day break, this was around 4-5 weeks in advance. We did ask about the special offers advertised, but were told they were not available the dates we wanted. A couple of days beforehand, we checked the hotel website to see if it was fully booked, and they were advertising rooms on those dates for half the price of £145 per night we paid. We called but were told we couldn't have this rate because we'd already booked. When we stayed there it took the shine off, the fact that other guests staying there the same time as us had paid £80 or £90 a night for a Best room, so had better service than us at a much reduced cost.
Also, we don't think the Better rooms are worth the money - the bathrooms we had was tiny.
Breakfast nice, but be prepared to wait.

Room Tip: The Better Room we had (R8) not worth paying the extra for as the bathroom is tiny. Suggest you book...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GlobetrottersLAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheVM, Owner at The Roseate Villa Bath, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2014

We are sorry you were disappointed in the rate you paid. Obviously we all like a bargain! What a shame you didn’t speak with us whilst you were here so we could have explained how discounted rates work. And we could have dealt with other issues you now raise.
The article in The Independent was printed in March 2014, when, on some nights, as it was a quieter time of year, we did offer great rates. Most hotels do the same. Occasionally, if we have a cancellation and we want to re-let the room to avoid a guest having to pay a cancellation charge, we do offer lower rates but these are never guaranteed.
However, you didn’t want to stay in the quieter months and you didn’t want to take a chance on whether there was a room available or not, so you booked five weeks in advance, at a busier time, and were offered the rates applicable for those dates. We do state, in our terms and conditions that reduced rates and special deals cannot be applied to existing bookings.

For the benefit of other guests, who also may feel confused by how this works, its rather like buying an item in a supermarket, and then finding out the next day that there is a ‘Buy One, get One Free ‘Offer on the same item – I don’t think you would expect the supermarket to offer you the second item. Sadly, you missed the opportunity for those lower rates as they were not applicable to the dates you wished to stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

This was our second stay and it was as good as I had remembered. It is in a great location for being able to walk out of the front door and around the corner into the city and it is opposite a wonderful park in a very nice road. We were in Bath for a rugby match and it was a five minute walk to the ground. Having a car park or if full a parking permit for on the road outside is extremely useful. The staff are very friendly, efficient and helpful. The breakfasts are delicious and the offer of a Bucks Fizz is a nice touch. We will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoSaint51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheVM, Manager at The Roseate Villa Bath, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2014

We are so conveniently located for the Rugby ground and wives feel extra spoilt staying with us while their husbands go and watch the game, with all the may shops and the spa just around the corner - remember to book in next time you come to Bath.

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2014

We spent two days in Bath and had a fabulous room in this friendly guest house. The best thing was that we could leave our car there and join the tours and visit the town centre only a few steps away. The breakfast was exceptionally good and we tried different items - everything perfectly fresh and/or well-cooked.

Room Tip: Our room (number 12) faced Henrietta Park with its beautiful trees - really beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WilmaSchweiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheVM, Manager at The Roseate Villa Bath, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2014

I am thrilled you had a lovely stay - we are very lucky to have a car park as you mention, but remember to book directly with us then car parking and our wonderful breakfast are included.

Look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2014

Everything is just as you would want it. Breakfast is the best choice around - try the kippers or bubble and squeak for a change! Free car park is a real bonus. Staff are genuinely friendly, inviting and helpful.

Room Tip: Rooms are priced according to size - good, better, best - but all are good. As they say 'size i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 571billk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheVM, Manager at The Roseate Villa Bath, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2014

Bubble & Squeak is my favourite for breakfast! Glad you found the staff friendly and helpful, I am very proud of the team at Villa Magdala.

Keep shouting about us - word of mouth really does help us!

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2014

My husband and I spent a few days in Bath and stayed at Villa Magdala, recommended by my boss. The atmosphere was relaxed and very friendly. Accommodation was clean and well ventilated. Breakfasts were lovely although the offer of bucks fizz was wasted on us...but a nice touch for those more inclined! We would happily return to the B&B in the future.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Clare B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheVM, Manager at The Roseate Villa Bath, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2014

Thank you for your kind review........maybe next time you will feel more inclined to fully unwind and have a bucks fizz for breakfast - glad you had a lovely stay with us.

See you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014

I have stayed at Villa Magdala three times and I can't praise it enough! The rooms are beautifully and tastefully decorated and all the rooms have big comfortable beds. The icing on the cake was The White Company bedding and toiletries! A real touch of class and luxury and the service is impeccable! You must also stay for breakfast! The scrambled eggs with smoked salmon and a glass of Bucksfizz is not to be missed!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen_Watts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheVM, Manager at The Roseate Villa Bath, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2014

Thank you for your review - it is much appreciated the scrambled eggs and salmon is my favourite too and you're correct breakfast and a bucks fizz is not to be missed. The laundry is just such a nice treat 550 thread count and beautifully starched - when your away it makes it all the more enjoyable.

See you both again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.4 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.5 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
1.7 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
1,286 reviews
1.4 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
0.5 mi away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Roseate Villa Bath? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roseate Villa Bath

Address: Henrietta Road, Bath BA2 6LX, England (Formerly Villa at Henrietta Park)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Price Range: $169 - $410 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Roseate Villa Bath 5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a 5 minute level stroll to the centre of Bath with all its attractions, The Roseate Villa Bath is a handsome Victorian townhouse, set within its own gardens with an off-street car-park. So close to the heart of the city, yet the hotel is in a quiet road, opposite leafy Henrietta Park, so none of the usual late night city noise to disturb a blissful night's sleep. 21 stylishly refurbished bedrooms offer a 5 star rated boutique experience, with heavenly Hypnos beds, double or superking size, with feather light goose down duvets and crisp cotton bed linen. Well-equipped bathrooms include fluffy bath sheets, and luxury toiletries. Gourmet breakfasts are served in a light, airy ground floor dining room, overlooking the park, all freshly cooked to order from a range of quality locally-sourced ingredients. Marry all this with a team of friendly, quietly efficient staff, ready to recommend and book all kinds of entertainment for you - a truly charming and characterful place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your The Roseate Villa Bath reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Magdala Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing