We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in an excellent location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Roseate Villa Bath
Ranked #3 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Only downfall was the fact there were doors slamming 6 or 7 times at 4am, from then on I didn't get back to sleep. £120 for one night with 3.5 hours sleep! Be aware it's £12 to park in this hotel and you have to move your car by 11am so you need to pay a further £10 to park in bath for the day.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevlar1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheVM, Owner at The Roseate Villa Bath, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments. If you had booked directly with us, then breakfast and parking would have been included in your room rate. New guests, please not!!!

We normally allow guests to leave their cars in our small car-park, after check-out at 11.00am but during the Christmas Market period we were unable to do so, as we were fully booked every night and new guests were all arriving very early in order to make the most of their day. We only have 20 spaces for our 20 rooms - we just cannot acommodate both departing and arriving guests! I'm sorry if this inconvenienced you. As for the cost of parking in Bath - it is very expensive I agree!

We hope you have a very Happy Christmas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,724)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,261 - 1,267 of 1,725 reviews

Reviewed December 16, 2013

A real find, more a hotel than a B&B but unique and tasteful rooms with helpful staff. We walked here via canal/river from Bristol so saved on parking fee since we didn't pay through hotel booking site and we didn't have breakfast but excellent value and very close to town centre. cannot fault it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheVM, Owner at The Roseate Villa Bath, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2013

Thank you for your review. It is worth pointing out to all our future guests that we offer a bed and breakfast rate on our own web-site that includes breakfast and car-parking - by far the best value!

Have a very Happy Christmas!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

The service in this hotel is second to none, nobody could have been more helpful of which this view was shared from the three couples whom I travelled with. Rooms spacious and clean and a fantastic choice of breakfasts, all of which were presented well and on time. Well placed for a walk into the City Centre taking only a few minutes. Only criticism was the free car parking was a little tight especially for the Chelsea Tractors!! However this was because it probably was fully booked. A personal thank you from all six of us from Harrogate for your kind and courteous service.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HarrogateBaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheVM, Owner at The Roseate Villa Bath, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2013

Thank you for posting such a lovely review. You were delightful guests to look after! Our car-park can be a little tight when all the cars are large ones! But we always seem to manage some how - and we are one of the very few hotels in central Bath to have a car-park so its well appreciated by our guests.

Have a very Happy Christmas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

This was a great boutique hotel experience, from the moment you arrived until you departed. When you arrive, this lovely young lady named Jasmine greets you and before you even step inside the front door, she offers you a seat in the dining area and a cup of tea or coffee. Whilst you are having tea, she brings over the registration card and explains a few things, including restaurant options, sightseeing etc. After tea, we are escorted to our room, which was a lovely big corner room, walk in shower and all amenities. The hotel has a complimentary car parking and is a short stroll to the centre of Bath. Literally 5 minutes. In the morning, full English breakfast is served, the internet is complimentary. Just a delightful place to stay. Well done.

Room Tip: We booked at "Best Room" and it was worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craig D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheVM, Owner at The Roseate Villa Bath, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2013

What a great review! Thank you so much. Jasmine was delighted too!! Every time one of the team are mentioned on Trip Advisor they are bought a Mars bar! John reckons this could get expensive!! A very Happy Christmas to you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Three of us (including teenager) stayed in top front room. The room was spacious, light and airy. Decoration and furnishings were beautifully thought out and coordinated, and everything was immaculately clean and sparkling new. The breakfast was probably the best we have experienced for a long time. The staff were very friendly and attentive, and very professional.
The location is perfect - opposite a park for peace and tranquility yet a few minutes away from the town centre and all its attractions. And parking is included! This is a real bonus in Bath. One consideration for some travellers might be that it does not have any lift, however the staff are ready to assist with luggage and for us this was no problem.
We looked at other places in town while we were here and we were so happy we chose Villa Magdala.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
Thank Verity D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheVM, Owner at The Roseate Villa Bath, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2013

Thank you so much for your comments - and we're so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. As the hotel is a period building, we don't have a lift as you point out. But our staff are always happy to help with luggage although, at very busy times or if it is exceptionally heavy, then it may take a few minutes to get it up to you.

We hope you come back to Bath at some point and see us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Fantastically luxurious rooms. Superb breakfast. Perfect staff and the owner/manager is the most charming English gent you will meet. It is situated just over the bridge from the centre. This gives you the access and convenience of Bath, with a certain degree of peacefulness and quiet. Great combination. I have run out of nice words to describe this place.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Archie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheVM, Owner at The Roseate Villa Bath, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2013

We just can't stop John talking about this!! He was so pleased to be described as an English gent - his Christmas came early!!! Thank you so much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Great B&B for our stay to visit the bath Christmas market, located near to the town centre within a 5 minute level walk.

Rooms were excellent, clean and tidy as expected in a premium B&B, never wanted to leave the shower and beds were very comfy.

Breakfast was superb with all local produce. Staff were exceptional, nothing was too much trouble and bent over backwards to ensure we had a great stay. Even walked up and down the street to find a parking space for us as the hotel car park was full, will definitely come back.

Room Tip: Basic rooms at £150 were great, whether more expensive rooms are worth it I'm not sure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paulsoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheVM, Owner at The Roseate Villa Bath, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2013

Thank you for all your generous comments. Parking was just so difficult this year as Bath was just heaving with people! Glad we could help though. Have a very Happy Christmas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.4 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.5 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
1.7 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
1,286 reviews
1.4 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
0.5 mi away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Roseate Villa Bath? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roseate Villa Bath

Address: Henrietta Road, Bath BA2 6LX, England (Formerly Villa at Henrietta Park)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Price Range: $169 - $410 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Roseate Villa Bath 5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a 5 minute level stroll to the centre of Bath with all its attractions, The Roseate Villa Bath is a handsome Victorian townhouse, set within its own gardens with an off-street car-park. So close to the heart of the city, yet the hotel is in a quiet road, opposite leafy Henrietta Park, so none of the usual late night city noise to disturb a blissful night's sleep. 21 stylishly refurbished bedrooms offer a 5 star rated boutique experience, with heavenly Hypnos beds, double or superking size, with feather light goose down duvets and crisp cotton bed linen. Well-equipped bathrooms include fluffy bath sheets, and luxury toiletries. Gourmet breakfasts are served in a light, airy ground floor dining room, overlooking the park, all freshly cooked to order from a range of quality locally-sourced ingredients. Marry all this with a team of friendly, quietly efficient staff, ready to recommend and book all kinds of entertainment for you - a truly charming and characterful place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your The Roseate Villa Bath reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Magdala Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing