We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent small hotel with a very warm welcome”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Roseate Villa Bath
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 30, 2013

This was our first visit to Bath and we picked the Villa Magdala because of it's location to the centre of the city. The welcome at the hotel could not have been better. The moment we arrived we were asked would we like a drink and a sit in the lounge whilst our bags were taken to our room. Then the young lady asked if we had been to Bath before? Then proceeded to tell us how to get into the city (which is just a 10 minute walk away). She gave us tips on some of the best places to eat and where and how to get to the sights.

Although our room was quite small, it was well furnished, spotlessly clean and had tea and coffee making facility (which on an evening you could pick up a vacuum flask of fresh milk from the breakfast room). We were amazed that the hotel was so closed to the city but so very quiet.

Finally I must say that the staff are the most pleasant and welcoming I have ever come across.

We had an excellent time and will go back again.

Room Tip: Ring the hotel directly and you will be probably be given a larger room if available. Plus the car p...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AERLJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheVM, Manager at The Roseate Villa Bath, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Thank you so mcuh for your kind comments, we like to welcome guests personally and sit them down with a drink before getting them settled into their room.

It is lovely to hear that all the staff were pleasant and helpfull, I will pass on your comments - Thank you! It is always better to book directly!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,709)
There are newer reviews for The Roseate Villa Bath
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,291 - 1,297 of 1,709 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2013

Having the opportunity to meet up with our family in Bath the choice of the venue at Villa Magdala was perfect, very comfortable accommodation, excellent breakfast, and superb service from all the staff, would certainly stay again on a future occasion.

Room Tip: If you are elderly ask for the 1st floor as there is no lift available
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kenneth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheVM, Manager at The Roseate Villa Bath, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

It is so nice to have a family group stay with us and we are so glad that you enjoyed it. Yes as we are a Victorian building there is no lift - and no-where to put one, but we are happy to help with luggage and we can allocate lower rooms on request. We do hope to see you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

The website photos live up to the experience. Gracious staff. Lovely rooms. We had 2 twin rooms for a mother-son trip. Rooms were warm at night but we did open the windows and there was fan. The breakfast was incredible. Well worth it. We often don't eat breakfast nor want to wake up for it. But even the teen sons woke for this. Amazing pastries they make on site plus a made to order breakfast. Quality. Lovely!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ts_Travel_Adventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheVM, Manager at The Roseate Villa Bath, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review! It's nice to hear that you made it up in time for breakfast and that it didnt disappoint. We are just about to change our breakfast menu in time for the start of the Autumn/Winter season....maybe another visit is due.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

After much research and review checking I booked my husband and I into a "best" room at Villa Magdala for one night. The property looks very imposing from the outside and we received a very friendly and informative welcome so we were expecting something very special. Unfortunately, the room we were given was at the front of the house on the ground floor. When we returned from dinner and switched on the lights the room filled with tiny flies despite the windows being closed. The plantation style plastic shutters on the high windows didn't close properly and the orange floodlights that were directed on the front of the building lit up our room all night long, so we had no sleep.
Reception closed at 9pm so there was no one for us to speak to about these problems. In the morning there were dead flies in and on the bed and I then noticed several squashed flies all over the walls from previous guests, yuck!
I complained to the manager in the morning who was very apologetic and offered to review the room rate. Breakfast was a shambolic affair with us being shown to an unmade table then given tea with no milk, toast with no butter and no menus. The cold buffet was severely lacking with no fresh fruit (it looked tinned) some leftover yoghurt and a few bowls of cereal. There was only pineapple and grapefruit juice until they brought out a jug of orange juice later on.
Overall we were very disappointed with the standards at this guest house and had expected a lot better considering the price and good reviews I had read.

Room Tip: Do not stay in room 25
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheVM, Owner at The Roseate Villa Bath, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

I wanted to respond to your review immediately as we were so disappointed that you didn't enjoy your stay with us - and very sorry too. The weather was very humid during your stay and whilst you believed you had closed the sash windows, we discovered, on your departure, that the top sash was down by about half an inch which allowed the midges to enter your room. We tell all our guests that whilst Reception closes at 9.00pm there is always someone here on site and that they can be summoned by ringing 0 from your room phone. I do wish you had called because the problem could have been easily solved and your bed linen changed.

I can only apologise for the flood-lights - there was a fault on the timer as we had had a small power interruption during the day - but again if you had called one of the staff from your room we could have turned these off manually for you.

At breakfast, you chose to sit at a table near the window which had not been re-laid as previous guests had only just vacated this table. I understand that one of our staff aplogised and immediately prepared the table for you and brought fresh milk and butter from the fridge. I do hasten to add that we never seat guests at an unprepared table but we are always happy to re-lay tables if guests wish to sit in a particular spot. We were extremely busy and, as we squeeze fresh oranges for juice, this again took a few moments. There was a large fruit bowl of fresh fruit on the buffet plus a number of fresh fruit compotes - we are concerned that you missed these.

We did reduce your room rate for you and we understood you to be satisfied with this action - if you are unhappy that we haven't dealt with the situation to your complete satisfaction then please do contact us and we would be happy to try to make some recompense. We hate to have unhappy guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Spent 2 nights here recently and whilst I agree with all the comments about it being a beautiful property, spotlessly clean and with a delicious breakfast, when we compare the price to the 4 star hotel in Cardiff we spent the previous 2 nights at, we feel it was a little overpriced. I realise it is not a hotel and that it is in a fantastic situation in Bath, but, even so, with parking and breakfast it cost £412 for the 2 of us for the 2 nights. The slatted blind in the room did not shut out the light completely which, although not a problem for me, was a problem for my sister-in-law. Also, it would have been nice to have been able to keep the complimentary bottled water cool in a small fridge, as it was lukewarm. These are the only criticisms, which were very minor, but which would have made the stay slightly better value.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ines54_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheVM, Manager at The Roseate Villa Bath, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to wite a review, Bath is the most expensive city in the Uk in terms of hotel prices - we even beat London, so we think that for the product and level of service we offer we are good value for money.

I take your point about the water, we are looking into chilling in in the summer months for guests who like it extra cold, but putting fridges in the rooms would be a noisy addition to the peace and quiet, I do wish you would have asked though and we happily would have chilled your water for you.

I hope that you will come and stay again and give us a chance to rectify the minor criticisms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We had a lovely stay in Bath for our second anniversary in January this year. Villa Magdala is a top class boutique hotel where really enjoyed staying. The rooms are nice and cosy, bright clean, with comfy bedding. The breakfast itself justifies a stay there! Probably the best breakfast we had to date! We will stay there again when we come back to Bath.
We would have loved to see the cute little dog Billy a bit more :)

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank izador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheVM, Manager at The Roseate Villa Bath, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Thank you so mcuh for your review........Billy tends to want guests sausages at breakfast so he sleeps in the office until the guests have gone out for the day then he comes out to play - next time just ask and we will bring him up for you to see. I do hope you come and stay again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Stayed only 1 night unfortunately but cannot rate it highly enough. A beautiful property and immaculately kept. Wonderful staff and special mention for the receptionist on duty Wednesday afternoon. We will definitely recommend this to all our friends. Great breakfast as well

Room Tip: We had what was described as a Good room couldn't be better.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christineneuen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheVM, Manager at The Roseate Villa Bath, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

The lovely receptionist who was on duty to check you in was Rosanna....I will pass on your thanks!

The wonderful review must mean that surely a second stay is in order ! Look forward to seeing you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.4 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.5 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 32 in Bath
1,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
0.5 mi away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
0.1 mi away
No.15 Great Pulteney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Roseate Villa Bath? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roseate Villa Bath

Address: Henrietta Road, Bath BA2 6LX, England (Formerly Villa at Henrietta Park)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Price Range: $180 - $424 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Roseate Villa Bath 5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a 5 minute level stroll to the centre of Bath with all its attractions, The Roseate Villa Bath is a handsome Victorian townhouse, set within its own gardens with an off-street car-park. So close to the heart of the city, yet the hotel is in a quiet road, opposite leafy Henrietta Park, so none of the usual late night city noise to disturb a blissful night's sleep. 21 stylishly refurbished bedrooms offer a 5 star rated boutique experience, with heavenly Hypnos beds, double or superking size, with feather light goose down duvets and crisp cotton bed linen. Well-equipped bathrooms include fluffy bath sheets, and luxury toiletries. Gourmet breakfasts are served in a light, airy ground floor dining room, overlooking the park, all freshly cooked to order from a range of quality locally-sourced ingredients. Marry all this with a team of friendly, quietly efficient staff, ready to recommend and book all kinds of entertainment for you - a truly charming and characterful place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Roseate Villa Bath reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Magdala Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing