We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Roseate Villa Bath
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Dukes Hotel(Bath)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Queensberry Hotel(Bath)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harington's City Hotel(Bath)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,840)
Filter reviews
1,840 results
Traveler rating
1,592
197
36
11
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,592
197
36
11
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshenrietta parkbucks fizzjean lucginger cakeb bon arrivallovely parkcity centrecar parkfresh milkquiet roadfew minutes walkboutique hotelwarm welcomebreakfast was deliciouspulteney bridgeon site parking
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,438 - 1,443 of 1,840 reviews
Reviewed July 16, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel. Luxurious,elegant but with very friendly,efficient staff. It is perfectly positioned in a quiet street a few minutes walk from the centre of Bath. A big bonus is the parking area with a guaranteed space for each room. Our room was lovely, overlooking Henrietta Park.
Breakfast was a real treat,starting with a complimentary Bucks Fizz and continuing with a good choice of well cooked dishes including a range of delicious vegetarian dishes.
This hotel has everything we look for in a hotel and we were very sorry to leave. It isn't cheap but is absolutely value for money.

Room Tip: Go for the best rooms overlooking the park.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wendy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheVM, Owner at The Roseate Villa Bath, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2013

Thnk you, thank you, thank you! A lovely guest who completely understands that what we do is to offer value for money - we're not about doing things cheaply.

We do hope you come to stay again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed here for recently for our mini-moon and it was just perfect!! The staff were so lovely, attentive and helpful and made us feel very welcome. There was a lovely card and chocolates congratulating us on our marriage which was such a lovely touch. The room was beautifully decorated, overlooking the park, the bed was lovely and comfortable, soft towels, gorgeous bathroom, beautifully stocked tea tray, luxury toiletries, Breakfast was delicious, all freshly cooked to order and served in beautiful surroundings, bucks fizz for breakfast too. I could go on and on....

Just a 5 minute walk to the centre and such a peaceful location considering you are so close. I would definitely recommend Villa Magdala to anyone visiting Bath, you will not be disappointed we had a wonderful time.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsCinCheltenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheVM, Owner at The Roseate Villa Bath, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2013

Really pleased you enjoyed your mini-moon - Bath is such a romantic city! And glad you enjoyed staying with us! it is so lovely when our guests appreciate all the little touches - we want to make every guest feel special!

Thank you so much for writing this review - a great pat on the back for all our team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

A wonderful house just 15 minutes walking from the centre of Bath, but in a very quiet area. Spotless and spacious rooms. If you are a lover of the English breakfast or not, here you will not be disappointed ... they offer a wonderful breakfast. The service is also great and they are well organized, but mind you they are not very cheap.

Room Tip: The road is not very busy, but it's better to choose a room from the back which are very quiet. I suggest to avoid the room that is just above the kitchen (number 1 I think), since the pipe is right below the window and you will smell the food for a couple of hours.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BP_EatLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheVM, Owner at The Roseate Villa Bath, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2013

Thank you for all the positive comments - but sadly not reflected in your scoring! You're abolutely right on one point - we don't do 'cheap'. What we do is 'value for money' - and a little bit of affordable luxury for our lovely discerning guests who recognise good quality. There are certainly some cheap places to stay in Bath - but once you've read the reviews I'm not sure that you'd like to spend time there! Stay with us instead.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Was visiting Bath for a long weekend to celebrate a friends 60th. From the moment we arrived, nothing was too much trouble. The rooms was divine, beautifully decorated.
It was walking distance to Bath town centre. opposite a park.
The breakfast was out of this world, using local produce. The kippers were to die for.
Everything about the Villa Magdala was divine, the food, the surroundings, the whole experience of staying there.
Just one bleep, it was a beautiful hot weekend, had to ask for a fan for the rooms.
Our group of five friends will take home so many wonderful memorise of Bath, but especially the Villa Magdala.

Room Tip: All the rooms are perfect, it is in a very quiet street.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank waters127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheVM, Owner at The Roseate Villa Bath, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2013

So pleased you enjoyed your stay here - you'll be glad to hear that we now have fans in every room with this extended spell of hot weather making the city so warm!

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

My wife and I stayed here just before the Christmas markets. The B&B is perfectly located within walking distance of the centre but far enough away not to be disturbed by late night revelers. We were greeted on arrival by a very pleasant member of staff who showed us the delightful room on the first floor. The room was spotless and the bed was very comfortable. As we made our way out for dinner at at restaurant where we had made a reservation we where given directions and lent a large umbrella by the staff. The following morning we had a fabulous breakfast, cooked to order with a glass of bucks fizz. The whole experience was great and we have recommended the Villa Magdala to several friends.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen-in-Richmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheVM, Owner at The Roseate Villa Bath, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

So pleased you enjoyed your stay - nearly time for this year's Christmas Market! We do hope you come to stay again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews