We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Stay in Bath”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Roseate Villa Bath
Ranked #3 of 31 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 12, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at Villa Magdala over the May bank holiday weekend. We booked direct with the hotel after reading reviews that parking and breakfast is included - but if booked with booking.com its £12 parking and £12 each for breakfast. We stayed in a standard room (£130) it was lovely I felt like I was in my own bedroom rather than in a hotel. The sheets and pillows were pristine the bed was ridiculously comfortable we both slept very well. The bathroom was small just a toilet basin and shower but everything you need for a 1night stay and toiletries from the white company were provided. Breakfast started with a glass of bucks fizz, followed by a pot of tea, toast, pastries and then a full English. There was fruit, cereals, yogurt, jam etc. to help yourself to also. The hotel is in a great location opposite a beautiful park and a 5minute walk into the centre of town. I loved Bath its a very pretty city, I will be returning and I would choose to stay at the Villa Magdala.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Faye_alice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheVM, Owner at The Roseate Villa Bath, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

So pleased you enjoyed staying in Bath - and staying with us! we have treid to make the rooms less hotel-like so it was lovely that you recognised that!

Look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,707)
There are newer reviews for The Roseate Villa Bath
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,344 - 1,350 of 1,707 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2013

This BB is in a good location with 10min walk to town. We paid £186 per night to include breakfast and parking. The reviews were all very good which is why I decided to pay that amount of money.
Sadly our experience was not good. We booked an extra large room with a King size bed overlooking the garden. (See pic of garden).
The bed was a 5ft and not a 6ft as I thought a king size would be. The garden view was depressing and uncared for.
The en suite bathroom was small and basic with poor design.The extractor fan was not sufficient and the toilet seat would not stay up on its own due to a shelf. The sink did not have mixer taps (pet hate).
We had a single glazed sash window that shook every time the wind hit it.
I had to return my breakfast as the scrambled eggs were runny and the streaky bacon was fatty.
They had no cornflakes or Weetabix which are pretty standard cereals.
The car park is small and tight and despite paying £12 extra we were informed that if it was full we could park up the road and the hotel would issue us with a parking permit!
We booked this hotel for two nights but only stayed the one night despite paying for two nights.
This was due to the beds being very firm and the rooms have no air conditioning and it was very stuffy in there.
Apart from the location this BB was nothing special except for the price!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jelgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheVM, Owner at The Roseate Villa Bath, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

We're sorry you didn't enjoy your stay. You had made your reservation through Booking.com booking one of our mid-range rooms. On arrival you insisted that the bed in your room was not king-size and we could nothing to persuade you that UK standard bed sizing makes it clear that king-size is 60 inches by 72 inches, which was the size of the bed in your room - we even had to resort to showing you this on Google. You had not booked an extra large room, as you seem to believe, and because it was Bank Holiday weekend, we were unable to change your room for you. We understand from a previous review, received from you, that you thought you were booking a five star hotel not a five star rated bed and breakfast - this is a problem with Booking.com who do not differentiate clearly enough - please take this up with them as we have little control over how they represent us on their web-site. You also said you expect air-conditioning - we don't claim to offer this - and a swimming pool or Spa - again, nothing on our web-site or on Booking.com offers these facilities. And you certainly would not have been able to book a five star hotel with Spa for anything less than £350.00 per night in central Bath on a Bank Holiday weekend.

We have various garden area for guests to use - the photograph you enclose is not the area open to guests, as it is the area through which our deliveries come. What a shame you didn't photograph the attractive front garden with the tables, chairs and parasols - an area which many guests enjoyed using over this sunny weekend. Or the little enclosed rear garden with summer house and more jolly striped deck chairs - a real suntrap.

We do not stock Weetabix or Cornflakes - we try to stock a range that is just a little more interesting. What a shame you couldn't find anything you liked from the six cereals we do offer from homemade granola and Dorset Cereals Nutty Muesli, through to mini shredded wheats, Special K, Fruit and Fibre flakes - oh, and gluten free cereals too. There were four fresh fruit compotes, two types of yoghurt, 3 juices, including freshly squeezed orange, a huge fruit bowl, freshly made smoothies etc etc - it was disappointing that you didn't find anything to enjoy. All our cooked breakfasts are cooked to order - scrambled eggs slightly soft and bacon - back and streaky- lightly crisped. You returned yours asking for everything to be well cooked - this was immediately done for you and would have been done like this at first had you requested well-done eggs and bacon, when you ordered. We're more than used to dealing with very specific requests - and are happy to do that.

We are in the heart of a world heritage city - and are one of the few places that actually have a car-park. It easily accommodates 16 cars - we do offer street car parking permits for guests who have particularly large cars or who are not very confident at parking - this often is the case where international guests have a hire car they are not used to. I'm not sure why you are surprised by this - it is very common in the middle of a city renowned for its lack of car-parks.

For guests who book directly with us, we offer an inclusive breakfast and parking rate - and you can tell us your exact requirements so we can ensure that we meet your needs - and hopefully have happy guests. For you, it was not so and we certainly regret this - what a shame you didn't ask to speak with us when you were here so we could have resolved any issues straight away. We were busy working here all over the holiday weekend.

If you would like to call us, we'd be happy to discuss any lingering problems that you have - I can assure you that all our reviews are genuine, as you seem to have raised some doubts about this in a previous review. I hesitate to invite you back as its obvious we are just not your 'cup of tea' but happy to try to resolve any remaining misunderstandings for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Like DavidCA1 i found this through the tourist information and enjoyed the stay, the breakfast and found the staff very friendly. Short walk from Bath, free parking, clean rooms and child friendly. Very satisfied.

Room Tip: Room 4 is a nice corner room, lots of light...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wheresmyhat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheVM, Owner at The Roseate Villa Bath, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

Thank you so much for your positive comments - much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

WE stayed at Villa Magdala from the 22nd to the 25th April. We choose one of their 'Best' rooms and I have nothing but praise both for the room itself and for the service during our stay. Breakfasts are a dream, the staff are always willing to help and the building itself is looked after to perfection. Location is perfect...and parking is free. Would certainly recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nadette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheVM, Owner at The Roseate Villa Bath, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

So pleased that you enjoyed your stay - we try to ensure that the building is kept up to scratch. Guests are used to seeing our maintainence chaps about, brandishing paint brushes! Its so nice when its noticed! Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

We came to the Villa Magdala looking for the chance to get away from it all. We found a peaceful haven where nothing was too much trouble. The accommodation was first class and the owners and staff went out of their way to make our stay a memorable one for all of the right reasons. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend the hotel to anyone looking to experience the sights of Bath. It was especially useful to be able to park the car and forget about it for the whole time of our stay with town such a short walk away. We will absolutely come back if only just to sample the breakfast again which was fantastic. Many thanks

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank waplina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheVM, Owner at The Roseate Villa Bath, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Fanastic review - thank you! Every morning, our day starts by checking Trip Advisor - so when there is a lovely review such as yours we can be sure we'll have a good day!

Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

I know sometimes reading a totally positive review in TripAdvisor will often be met with skeptisism, but everything here was exactly my experience--not sugar-coated!!!

I was traveling to Somerset last week on holiday with my partner and had made the error of not booking a hotel before arriving in Bath. We were steered to Villa Magdala by the tourist office just across from the Roman Baths. What a fortunate turn of events for us! We booked the last available room and checked in.

From the moment we walked in, we knew we had made the right decision. Everyone was so welcoming and professional. The feel and design of the hotel, and our room (#4) was warm, comfortable and contemporary. All the little touches were great, and the full breakfast the next morning was wonderful. The location was an easy 4 minute walk to the center of the old town. They even allowed us to remain parked after checking out to continue seeing the sights. The proprietors were the most welcoming people, helping serve breakfast, and generally ensuring everything was meeting our expectations, without being overbearing.

We highly recommend this property to anyone looking for great location, comfortable & stylish accomodations, and friendly helpful hosts. Thanks for a great stay!!!

Room Tip: Corner room 4 was bright and spacious.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidCA1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheVM, Owner at The Roseate Villa Bath, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review. And I'm pleased that we lived up to expectations. The Bath Visitor Centre is a great place for visitors to Bath to get information aboput the city - and where the best places to stay are!

Please do come again if you visit Bath again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Lovely hotel, lovely room and lovely breakfast. Its a bit expensive but you do get good quality back. The staff is very kind and polite. We had a very nice room with nice windows. The shower was strong and big. Breakfast was excellent and I personally loved their coffee.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Tania M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheVM, Owner at The Roseate Villa Bath, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

A lovely concise review. Thank you for your kind comments. Our coffee is locally roasted and blended for us - we always try to use local suppliers if we can - we'll pass on your comments to them!

Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.4 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.5 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 31 in Bath
1,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
0.5 mi away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
0.1 mi away
No.15 Great Pulteney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Roseate Villa Bath? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roseate Villa Bath

Address: Henrietta Road, Bath BA2 6LX, England (Formerly Villa at Henrietta Park)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Price Range: $178 - $420 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Roseate Villa Bath 5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a 5 minute level stroll to the centre of Bath with all its attractions, The Roseate Villa Bath is a handsome Victorian townhouse, set within its own gardens with an off-street car-park. So close to the heart of the city, yet the hotel is in a quiet road, opposite leafy Henrietta Park, so none of the usual late night city noise to disturb a blissful night's sleep. 21 stylishly refurbished bedrooms offer a 5 star rated boutique experience, with heavenly Hypnos beds, double or superking size, with feather light goose down duvets and crisp cotton bed linen. Well-equipped bathrooms include fluffy bath sheets, and luxury toiletries. Gourmet breakfasts are served in a light, airy ground floor dining room, overlooking the park, all freshly cooked to order from a range of quality locally-sourced ingredients. Marry all this with a team of friendly, quietly efficient staff, ready to recommend and book all kinds of entertainment for you - a truly charming and characterful place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Roseate Villa Bath reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Magdala Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing