We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful Bath B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Roseate Villa Bath
Ranked #3 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We spent the weekend in Bath to celebrate my wife's birthday and stayed two nights at Villa Magdala. The service was lovely with friendly and helpful staff when we checked in, serving breakfast, and around the place whenever we passed by. The room was one of their smaller ones, but it was very comfortable and there was absolutely no road noise. The decoration in the room was bold but fun, as it was through the B&B. The location was great, 5 minutes walk to Pulteney Bridge yet without any noise or bother. There was plenty of breakfast choice and everything we tried was delicious. They also have a small collection of board games you can play in the dining room - perfect for filling the hour between a long day exploring and a dinner reservation. This will be top of the list every time we visit bath in the future!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Obtuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheVM, Owner at The Roseate Villa Bath, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Glad you liked the board games. We often wonder why more guest don't use them but I guess not everyone's a Scrabble fan like us! Soon to have some lovely tables and chairs outside, when the weather improves, so perfect for playing over a glass of wine!

Thank you for your very kind comments!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,725)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,397 - 1,403 of 1,725 reviews

Reviewed March 7, 2013

Just back from a two night stay in this beautiful villa, can't rate it highly enough- brilliant location,great to have parking on site. Beautiful place to stay,very lovely decor and although our room was one of the smallest it was perfectly functional-really comfortable bed, pillows etc, everything else we needed in the room, nice tea, coffee, bottled water, fluffy towels etc . Everything is immaculately clean and fresh.The staff were fantastic,-really lovely, nothing too much trouble-all really friendly and helpful. Breakfast service was so attentive, didn't have to wait long at all to say everything is cooked to order and the buttermilk pancakes were gorgeous!!. couldn't fault a thing, would definitely stay again and recommend to friends.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobbynbet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheVM, Owner at The Roseate Villa Bath, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Yet more lovely comments about our breakfast - we reckon it must be the complimentary glass of Buck's Fizz that helps! Really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us - and thank you for taking the time to write a review. Most of our guests do read the reviews so it really does help us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

I have to say that we had an excellent time in Bath, starting with our excellent accomadation. Very pleasant and friendly staff, nothing seemed to be too much trouble.Check in was effortless, bags disappeared with no fuss up to our room while we discussed the formalities.
Our room was pleasant overlooking the garden and car park, excellent shower, good toiletries. The bed was very comfortable, lots of cushions and pillows.
Breakfast, what can I say, plenty of choice, all superb. Particularly enjoyed the eggs royale.
We will be back when we're next in the vicinity

Room Tip: not sure but probably book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusieYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheVM, Owner at The Roseate Villa Bath, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

So pleased you enjoyed staying with us - I love it when guests notice all the little things that we think are so important like lots of cushions - perfect for getting comfy in bed for that morning cup of tea.

Please do come back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

My family and several friends have just spent two days at this hotel and it was an absolute pleasure to be based here.
The attention to detail and the quality of staff is second to none, the location is superb for shopping and sightseeing in bath,the cooked breakfast is first class ,the bedrooms are excellent
We do not generally review unless a hotel is worthy and special and this is.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Russell P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheVM, Owner at The Roseate Villa Bath, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Well, our great team of staff are thrilled to bits with this review! Thank you so much - we're pleased you enjoyed your stay! We love reviews like this as it's a great start to the day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

This must have been the best hotel we have ever stayed at. Even though we were in one of the smallest rooms it was still bigger than some we have had! Beautifully done out and in immaculate condition. The staff were lovely and helpful and the breakfasts were to die for! The situation of the hotel is perfect and having car parking brilliant. I can't praise it enough. Will recommend it unreservedly to our friends.

Room Tip: "Good" room had small shower room - no problem to us but if you are very generously propor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheVM, Owner at The Roseate Villa Bath, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Thank you so much - a really lovely review. Our smallest rooms are still pretty large with king-size beds and plenty of room to move around! The bathrooms in Good Rooms are quite small but we've made up for this with some careful design! One of the problems in operating a hotel within a period building! Better and Best rooms are much larger with larger bathrooms - but Good rooms are great value for the heart of the city!

Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

What a gem! Set in a quiet location overlooking an attractive park yet within walking distance of central Bath. Couldn`t fault our one night stay in this comfortable hotel. The staff are so helpful and welcoming. The breakfast was the best ever had in a hotel - I would recommend the Egg Florentine. Can`t wait to go again and sample a few more of the delicious breakfasts on the menu!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheVM, Owner at The Roseate Villa Bath, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Just about to change our breakfast menu to include some new, delicious dishes, ready for Spring/Summer when it eventually comes! You'll need to come back again- and we'd love to see you. Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We just came back from staying at the Villa Magdala for three nights. Our room was one of the smallest but we did not mind. It was very attractive and looked brand new. Plus it was quiet and super comfortable. We both had three nights of excellent sleep. The breakfasts were delicious and we looked forward to it every morning. The staff was warm and informative. The owners were there everyday and were wonderful in making our stay a pleasant one. You also cannot beat the location as it was on a quiet street across from a lovely park. Yet, everything was just a short stroll away. I would definitely recommend this hotel to my friends and family. I hope to return again.

Room Tip: Do not book through any services such as Bookings.com or Expedia, etc. If you book directly through...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davenrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheVM, Owner at The Roseate Villa Bath, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Please do come back again! So pelased you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your very helpful reminder to other guests to book directly with us to take advantage of rates inclusive of breakfast and parking! These are the SAME rates as those advertised on the third party booking agencies - so much better value.

A lovely review - thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.4 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.5 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
1.7 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
1,286 reviews
1.4 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
0.5 mi away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Roseate Villa Bath? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roseate Villa Bath

Address: Henrietta Road, Bath BA2 6LX, England (Formerly Villa at Henrietta Park)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Price Range: $169 - $410 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Roseate Villa Bath 5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a 5 minute level stroll to the centre of Bath with all its attractions, The Roseate Villa Bath is a handsome Victorian townhouse, set within its own gardens with an off-street car-park. So close to the heart of the city, yet the hotel is in a quiet road, opposite leafy Henrietta Park, so none of the usual late night city noise to disturb a blissful night's sleep. 21 stylishly refurbished bedrooms offer a 5 star rated boutique experience, with heavenly Hypnos beds, double or superking size, with feather light goose down duvets and crisp cotton bed linen. Well-equipped bathrooms include fluffy bath sheets, and luxury toiletries. Gourmet breakfasts are served in a light, airy ground floor dining room, overlooking the park, all freshly cooked to order from a range of quality locally-sourced ingredients. Marry all this with a team of friendly, quietly efficient staff, ready to recommend and book all kinds of entertainment for you - a truly charming and characterful place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your The Roseate Villa Bath reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Magdala Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing