We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Room 2....loved it!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa at Henrietta Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Villa at Henrietta Park
Ranked #13 of 192 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Room 2....loved it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012


My girlfriend and I have just returned from a couple of days at Villa Magdala – we’re running the Bath Half in March so wanted to check out the route and do some Christmas shopping. I’ve stayed before but not since it’s been renovated. When I came to post this review, I saw the recent review of the same room we stayed in and just couldn’t believe it was the same room.
Room 2 is lovely – beautifully decorated with a super comfy king-size bed, very light and airy.   Yes, it’s near Reception but it is one of the lowest priced rooms  and really good value for central Bath!  And the rate includes free parking – two and half days in our case so that was great.  The bathroom is newly fitted out with a big walk in shower – piping hot water all the time even in the middle of the afternoon when I wanted a shower after a run.  And cosy too with a thermostatically controlled bathroom heater – when we checked in it was explained to us how to switch this off if we didn’t want it to run in the night – very useful.  And reminded that we needed to switch it back on in the morning – even more useful!  
A little noise at around 8.15 when we could hear other guests coming down to breakfast but certainly not intrusive – and what busy city centre hotel is perfectly silent?
We loved it and will be back – we may book one of their Best rooms if it is a special occasion as they do look lovely but if it’s good value for money you’re after, Room 2 is just fine.  Thanks too to all the lovely staff who made us feel so welcome.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChristianDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheVM, Owner at Villa at Henrietta Park, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you for your assessment of Room 2 - it seems to bring out differing views from our guests. But, as you point out, it's great value for money and the noise is not intrusive in any way.

Good luck in the Bath Half - we'll be cheering you on as the start is just outside the hotel! A great weekend for the city. Happy New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,561 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,345
    168
    33
    11
    4
See reviews for
221
1,000
27
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (369)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

I honestly found it very difficult to leave Villa Magdala! It is so, so much more than a Bed and Breakfast, far more like a chic boutique hotel or a mini Claridges!
We stayed in room 23; lovely big room & bathroom, shower and bath, The White Co. toiletries, lots of fluffy towels, tea&coffee making facilities and a super-comfy big bed.
Breakfast is perfectly executed; friendly staff on hand to greet you and show you where to sit. Bucks Fizz on offer (if you want to start your holiday off with a sparkle!), tasty toast rounds, BIG pots of tea/coffee, continental breakfast buffet and amazing cooked courses. Recommend Eggs Royal or Benedict-both so good!
Rooms were elegantly decorated in grey, black and white and cleaned to a very high standard every day, staff were all lovely and very quick to respond to any requests.
Magdala is situated very close to town and all Bath's restaurants, bars, theatres and independent shops. It takes about five to ten minutes to walk to Milsom Street and the staff can recommend places to visit if you are new to the city.
If you are looking for a chic and relaxing stay in Bath, you would be well advised to check out Villa Magdala. Take it from me, it's pretty special.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SkymuffinUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheVM, Owner at Villa at Henrietta Park, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you so much for this - it was lovely having you to stay. We were rather over-awed by the Claridge's comparison so that will keep us on our toes!

Happy New year to you both!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

We were allocated Room No 2 upon arrival - right next to the main entrance, Reception and opposite the Breakfast Room.( Just wish I had paid more attention to the reviews relating to this dreadful Room No 2 at the point of booking!) We booked a 'Good' room for 2 nights and indeed the bedroom itself was fine. Bathroom was freezing cold- probably the worst bathroom I have experienced with Hotels and B&Bs. Wall heater in bathroom did not work so reported this fault and this was fixed on the Saturday. No 'power' to power shower and luke warm water. The hand held shower was better but then just left with one hand to wash etc. No room to place cosmetic bags etc - could consider installing shelving.
Woken at 6am on Saturday morning by the heating system? A terrific bang that went on for ages! Worse the following morning- woken at 5:40 am - blinds shaking and terrific noise.Following this, loud voices preparing breakfast, almost with no regard for 'sleeping' guests; reception staff ordering newspapers,door bell ringing.Positives- breakfast was excellent and so was the waiter service. Location and parking also excellent. Please consider converting room No 2 into a Lounge area? Or, at the least, explain to guests that this Room, because of its location is subjected to a GREAT deal of noise.....and consider reducing the price. This is 1 of 3 B&Bs in Bath we have stayed in - 139 and Hawkins were superb -just a bit further to walk into town. Had we a decent room ( Good is fine, it was just the location) I would be more generous with my rating.

Room Tip: Avoid Room No 2!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KMKA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheVM, Owner at Villa at Henrietta Park, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you for the generous comments but overall we were so disappointed with this lowly rating. Just a couple of points to make. First, we were sorry that you didn't like your room but this was the only room available in the category you had chosen, despite booking as early as the previous May - it was the last weekend of the Bath Christmas Market so a very very busy weekend for us.

The heater in the bathroom is on a thermostat - it cuts in and out as the temperature falls. So it wasn't broken, just not working above 20 degrees Celsius so hard to understand how the bathroom was so cold.

No other comments or concerns were raised with us or any of our staff until these guests came to check out - a great shame as one of our other guests cut short their stay due to a family crisis and we could have moved these guests to another room if we had known of their concerns.

We have had other reviews of this room where other guests describe any noise levels as minimal. ( See alan 443 29th November and kenao 10th November) This room is often particularly requested by any guests who don't want to tackle stairs - and very few hotels in Bath can offer ground floor rooms.

As for reducing the price, the room rate for this room is particularly keen already but these guests did have a further discount applied to their bill which they neglect to mention in their review.

So sorry they were disappointed but if only they had mentioned these issues during their stay then we have a chance to put things right..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

We have just had a lovely weekend at the Villa Magdala.From the moment we arrived with a welcome cup of tea and xmas cake to the little chocolates in our room.The room itself was number 1 at the back of the buiding with a nice view .bath towels were gorgeous. Generous in size and suitably fluffy! The staff were all polite,professional and saw to all our needs. The best bit was the breakfast! I had eggs florentine both mornings as they were so good! Although looking at other peoples plates of food it all looked good. Bucks fizz was offered too.Everything was so clean and well presented. Not just some greasy fry up.We never had to ask for anything during breakfast as the staff were always one step ahead.Very good location. Only three minute walk into the centre..It was more than just a Bed and Breakfast. As others have said...it was like a chic boutique hotel. The only thing missing was a lounge.
I would highly recommend the Villa magdala.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bubbyjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheVM, Owner at Villa at Henrietta Park, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
So pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. I'm always delighted when our guests comment on our bed linen and towels - we made a decision that this was a vital part of the 'boutique hotel' experience so, despite the expense, we went ahead and choose the best! I'm so pleased that you and other guests have noticed! Nothing nicer than crisp Eygptian cotton and huge fluffy bath sheets..........................thank you!

Please do come back - Bath is beautiful in the quieter winter months and we're offering some fantastic mid-week rates! Happy Christmas to you from us all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

We found this hotel online and were impressed by the location ( 5 min walk to centre of Bath )
and car parking. We wanted somewhere close to visit the Christmas market recently without having to worry about parking in the centre of Bath. We were very impressed by the whole place including the friendly staff, the big clean room and ensuite bathroom. The breakfast was brilliant too in the lovely dining room. One bit of advice is to book direct with the hotel then you get free parking and breakfast otherwise if you use other websites you pay extra for these.
I would thoroughly recommend this hotel and would gladly visit again.
It would be even better if they started to do evening meals but there are plenty of restaurants to choose from in Bath.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevor C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheVM, Owner at Villa at Henrietta Park, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you for this great review. It is helpful for other guests, new to Bath, to know how useful it is to have car-parking provided in an off street car-park. Permits, offered by most city cenre hotesl, are fine but at busy times it can be hard to find a space on the street, and these can often be some distance from the hotel where they are staying.

We don't offer evening meals as most guests are looking forward to discovering some of the wonderful restaurants Bath has to offer - and we are happy to recommend places and make reservations. Running a restaurant can be an expensive business - we prefer to try keep room rates affordable and ensure that breakfast is a feast to remember.

Thank you again - and have a very Happy Christmas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

We visited back to attend a wedding and arrived on Christmas Market opening weekend. Upon arrival we were welcomed with tea and Christmas cake by Chrissy. She sat with us to go through our reservations then showed us to our room. The rooms were beautiful, the beds very comfortable and linens were great.
The location is a short walk from the center of the Bath. The staff was incredibly helpful in recommending places, calling taxis and anything we needed during out stay. I highly recommend this B&B. For American's who travel , know it's not the B&B you are use to in the states. This is more like a high end boutique hotel.
Thank you for such a great stay and your staff was wonderful. We'd like to point out one of your team members, Chrissy , who we really enjoyed dealing with while we were there.

Room Tip: There is a room on the bottom floor, which is at the end of the hall, that has the largest bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank R C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheVM, Owner at Villa at Henrietta Park, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
We can't stop Chrissy smiling! Thank you for your kind remarks. It was a very busy weekend when you stayed so all the staff were working flat out to provide a good service to all our guests - and a pat on the back is so welcome!

We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay - Bath is a magiclal city! Especially for a wedding.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

My husband and I have just returned from a weekend break at Villa Magdala, and I have to say that it was perfect - if it was possible to award 6 stars, we would! As we were travelling down from Yorkshire, and wanted to spend as much time as possible in Bath, I had asked prior to our arrival if it would be possible to park early, and check in at the normal time. No problems at all, a good start. When we did check in, we were made extremely welcome, complimentary coffee and Christmas cake, before being shown to our room, where our luggage had already been taken.. We had decided to splash out on a "Best" room as were were celebrating a 40th anniversary, and were delighted with it. The bed was enormous, and the most comfortable we have stayed in years, tea and coffee and fresh milk ( the staff happily bring you a flask of fresh milk any time up to 9pm) and the whole place was absolutely spotless. The breafast was delicious, everything you could wish for and more, but most of all, every single member of staff was a credit to the Magdala, so welcoming, courteous, and discreet. Without a doubt, we will happily recommend this Boutique Bed and Breakfast to anyone visiting Bath and hopefully will return soon ourselves

Room Tip: We had room 25, a Best room which is on the ground floor and perfect if you have problems with stair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank susan g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheVM, Owner at Villa at Henrietta Park, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you so much - we were so thrilled with your comments. Without exception, our staff try their very hardest to ensure all our guests feel well looked after - and they are empowered to do whatever it takes to achieve that. So for their efforts to be recognised so generously is wonderful. Everyone was over the moon!
Have a very Happy Christmas from all of us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.3 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.3 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#10 of 34 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,311 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#16 of 34 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,310 reviews
0.5 mi away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
1.7 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa at Henrietta Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa at Henrietta Park

Property: Villa at Henrietta Park
Address: Henrietta Road, Bath BA2 6LX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa at Henrietta Park 5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a 5 minute level stroll to the centre of Bath with all its attractions, Villa at Henrietta Park is a handsome Victorian townhouse, set within its own gardens with an off-street car-park. So close to the heart of the city, yet the hotel is in a quiet road, opposite leafy Henrietta Park, so none of the usual late night city noise to disturb a blissful night's sleep. 21 stylishly refurbished bedrooms offer a 5 star rated boutique experience, with heavenly Hypnos beds, double or superking size, with feather light goose down duvets and crisp cotton bed linen. Well-equipped bathrooms include fluffy bath sheets, and luxury toiletries. Gourmet breakfasts are served in a light, airy ground floor dining room, overlooking the park, all freshly cooked to order from a range of quality locally-sourced ingredients. Marry all this with a team of friendly, quietly efficient staff, ready to recommend and book all kinds of entertainment for you - a truly charming and characterful place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Villa at Henrietta Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Magdala Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing