We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Roseate Villa Bath
Ranked #3 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 6, 2012

We found this hotel online and were impressed by the location ( 5 min walk to centre of Bath )
and car parking. We wanted somewhere close to visit the Christmas market recently without having to worry about parking in the centre of Bath. We were very impressed by the whole place including the friendly staff, the big clean room and ensuite bathroom. The breakfast was brilliant too in the lovely dining room. One bit of advice is to book direct with the hotel then you get free parking and breakfast otherwise if you use other websites you pay extra for these.
I would thoroughly recommend this hotel and would gladly visit again.
It would be even better if they started to do evening meals but there are plenty of restaurants to choose from in Bath.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trevor C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheVM, Owner at The Roseate Villa Bath, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

Thank you for this great review. It is helpful for other guests, new to Bath, to know how useful it is to have car-parking provided in an off street car-park. Permits, offered by most city cenre hotesl, are fine but at busy times it can be hard to find a space on the street, and these can often be some distance from the hotel where they are staying.

We don't offer evening meals as most guests are looking forward to discovering some of the wonderful restaurants Bath has to offer - and we are happy to recommend places and make reservations. Running a restaurant can be an expensive business - we prefer to try keep room rates affordable and ensure that breakfast is a feast to remember.

Thank you again - and have a very Happy Christmas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,788)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,504 - 1,510 of 1,788 reviews

Reviewed December 3, 2012

We visited back to attend a wedding and arrived on Christmas Market opening weekend. Upon arrival we were welcomed with tea and Christmas cake by Chrissy. She sat with us to go through our reservations then showed us to our room. The rooms were beautiful, the beds very comfortable and linens were great.
The location is a short walk from the center of the Bath. The staff was incredibly helpful in recommending places, calling taxis and anything we needed during out stay. I highly recommend this B&B. For American's who travel , know it's not the B&B you are use to in the states. This is more like a high end boutique hotel.
Thank you for such a great stay and your staff was wonderful. We'd like to point out one of your team members, Chrissy , who we really enjoyed dealing with while we were there.

Room Tip: There is a room on the bottom floor, which is at the end of the hall, that has the largest bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheVM, Owner at The Roseate Villa Bath, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

We can't stop Chrissy smiling! Thank you for your kind remarks. It was a very busy weekend when you stayed so all the staff were working flat out to provide a good service to all our guests - and a pat on the back is so welcome!

We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay - Bath is a magiclal city! Especially for a wedding.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

My husband and I have just returned from a weekend break at Villa Magdala, and I have to say that it was perfect - if it was possible to award 6 stars, we would! As we were travelling down from Yorkshire, and wanted to spend as much time as possible in Bath, I had asked prior to our arrival if it would be possible to park early, and check in at the normal time. No problems at all, a good start. When we did check in, we were made extremely welcome, complimentary coffee and Christmas cake, before being shown to our room, where our luggage had already been taken.. We had decided to splash out on a "Best" room as were were celebrating a 40th anniversary, and were delighted with it. The bed was enormous, and the most comfortable we have stayed in years, tea and coffee and fresh milk ( the staff happily bring you a flask of fresh milk any time up to 9pm) and the whole place was absolutely spotless. The breafast was delicious, everything you could wish for and more, but most of all, every single member of staff was a credit to the Magdala, so welcoming, courteous, and discreet. Without a doubt, we will happily recommend this Boutique Bed and Breakfast to anyone visiting Bath and hopefully will return soon ourselves

Room Tip: We had room 25, a Best room which is on the ground floor and perfect if you have problems with stair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susan g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheVM, Owner at The Roseate Villa Bath, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

Thank you so much - we were so thrilled with your comments. Without exception, our staff try their very hardest to ensure all our guests feel well looked after - and they are empowered to do whatever it takes to achieve that. So for their efforts to be recognised so generously is wonderful. Everyone was over the moon!
Have a very Happy Christmas from all of us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Arrived early and offered coffee and Xmas cake, no problems there. Room was warm and very comfortable and of a good size and having stayed before in Bath is also very good value. We had the lowest level of room as it was the only room they had available. All the staff were friendly and the location was spot on, only 5 mins from main centre and rugby ground.

Why not 5 points? Car park could do with widening by a meter or so to allow vehicles to be parked easier, not so easy after a 3 hour drive and the over head shower ( size of a dinner plate )had limited power, hand held alterantive was very good tho.

Pause for thought, If you book through Expedior etc just remember that they take a significant part of the cost as a booking fee and the hotel has a small charge for parking in this instance. We booked direct, free parking and also offered ( not requested ) a £10 reduction so always try to go direct.

Would return to this accomodation again without doubt.

Room Tip: Room 2 is next to the main entrance and reception and there is minimal noise from this but I would u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alan443
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheVM, Owner at The Roseate Villa Bath, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

Thank you for this positive review. Let me respond to your comment re the parking..............we are one of the very few central Bath hotels with a private off-street car-park. We would love to widen it but being in the centre of a UNESCO World heritage city, in the heart of the Conservation Area, the green spaces are strictly protected and we have been advised that this would not be acceptable to the numerous authorities that have to approve these matters! If all our guests park neatly then we do not have a problem in fitting everyone in, albeit that it is tight! For those who arrive in very large vehicles, then we can provide a permit for the quiet residential road outside - and we don't charge if you've booked directly with us. Parking in Bath is a nightmare - which is why so many of our guests choose us.

I do hope you mentioned the shower pressure during your stay - we are always happy to call out our maintenence team to resolve any problems like this.

Thank you again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Is there anything else to add I wonder? from the welcome we received with a cup of tea and slice of delicious Christmas cake to the excellent breakfast the experience was designed to satisfy the guest as the priority, not get them out so you can get the new lot in.. something the larger hotels try but don’t usually achieve. A B&B with flair and taste! If you are staying for a few days I strongly recommend checking out this amazing Nepalese restaurant, flavours that will excite and surprise you.. - http://www.yakyetiyak.co.uk/. We will definitely return to Villa Magdala.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheVM, Owner at The Roseate Villa Bath, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

So pleased you enjoyed your stay - and the Christmas cake. November did seem a bit early to start serving it but with the Christmas Market starting we felt we just had to generate soMe Christmas Spirit!

Thank you for taking the time to write this review at such a busy time for everyone!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Only stayed one night, on a Sunday.

Got there earlier than planned - greeted with tea and cake whilst waiting to check in. Given lots of info and our keys as room was already ready.

Very nice ground floor room - in the "Best" category - not huge but absolutely fine - bathroom was a good size. Shuttered windows with a view over the park.

All the staff were very friendly and helpful. Beds were very comfy. Breakfast was freshly made & delicious - Buck's Fizz was a nice touch.

Very good location within easy walking distance of city centre and train station. Henrietta Park is nice (actually went for an early morning run!) - even nicer in the summer I expect.

It wasn't cheap by any means, but overall good value, I think.

Would not hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rachelfrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheVM, Owner at The Roseate Villa Bath, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2012

Thank you for all your lovely comments. We always try to have rooms ready as early as possible so that our guests can check in and mkae the most of their time in Bath. Where it's not possible we're very happy to let guests park in the car-park and make their way into the city and check in later.

We do hope you come back and stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

This was honestly the best place we have stayed. Wonderful warm, friendly welcome - tea/coffee/cake - each couple taken to their rooms individually and shown all facilities etc.
Beds really comfortable and bathrooms perfect.
Beautifully decorated bedrooms - as well as the rest of the hotel.
The most delicious breakfasts imaginable.
Parking was definitely the added bonus and location for the centre of Bath perfect.
Nothing was too much trouble - i.e. booking restaurants, taxis etc on request.
Recommended!!!

Room Tip: All four rooms were at the back so very quiet - no complaints at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PAULINE W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheVM, Owner at The Roseate Villa Bath, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2012

Thank you! You were such a pleasure to look after - we love all our guests but especially those determined to have a good time! So pleased you all enjoyed yourselves. And thank you for all your kindness and consideration to our team! Please come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.4 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
1.7 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
0.2 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
1,324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
No.15 Great Pulteney
No.15 Great Pulteney
#10 of 34 in Bath
401 reviews
1.4 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Roseate Villa Bath? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roseate Villa Bath

Address: Henrietta Road, Bath BA2 6LX, England (Formerly Villa at Henrietta Park)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Price Range: $130 - $361 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Roseate Villa Bath 5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a 5 minute level stroll to the centre of Bath with all its attractions, The Roseate Villa Bath is a handsome Victorian townhouse, set within its own gardens with an off-street car-park. So close to the heart of the city, yet the hotel is in a quiet road, opposite leafy Henrietta Park, so none of the usual late night city noise to disturb a blissful night's sleep. 21 stylishly refurbished bedrooms offer a 5 star rated boutique experience, with heavenly Hypnos beds, double or superking size, with feather light goose down duvets and crisp cotton bed linen. Well-equipped bathrooms include fluffy bath sheets, and luxury toiletries. Gourmet breakfasts are served in a light, airy ground floor dining room, overlooking the park, all freshly cooked to order from a range of quality locally-sourced ingredients. Marry all this with a team of friendly, quietly efficient staff, ready to recommend and book all kinds of entertainment for you - a truly charming and characterful place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Roseate Villa Bath reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Magdala Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing