We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great rooms, wonderful Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villa at Henrietta Park
Ranked #4 of 35 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great rooms, wonderful Service”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

My husband and I stayed here and the rooms were amazing. We were greeted and offered tea/coffee and sponge cake as we relaxed prior to checking in. Our bags were delivered to our rooms for us. My only concern would be: they do not have a lift and if you weren't able to walk up multiple flights of stairs this might not be the perfect place for you. Otherwise, it was an amazing place to stay in Bath.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cwscats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheVM, Owner at Villa at Henrietta Park, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
So pleased you enjoyed your stay with us - and for your helpful comments for other guests. We do have three beautiful ground floor rooms, well away from any noise, which are suitable for any guests who have a problem with stairs - although our stairs are wide and shallow so we rarely have problems.

Please do come back soon - it's the Christmas Market in Bath soon and a magical time to visit!
Thank you for taking the time to write a review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,580 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,363
    169
    33
    11
    4
See reviews for
228
1,009
28
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (370)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Booked for two night trip to Bath. The staff were very courteous, cheerful and looked after your every need. The hotel itself is very well situated. Only a 10 minute slow walk to the centre of town, yet in a very tranquil area, just opposite a beautiful park. The interior appears to have been recently refurbished and the en-suite room was large and very comfortable. The bed was huge and very comfortable. There was a varied choice at breakfast, it is a B&B only, everything from Bucks fizz and various other juices to, cereals, tea, coffee, toast and the finest of cooked meals to set you up for the day.
Absolute silence at night, needed the windows open as very warm.
The only word of warning is parking is very tight and, limited for guests, but they manage to squeeze everyone in.

Room Tip: One of the top rooms for space and comfort, but it is three flights of stairs so if trouble getting...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taz423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheVM, Owner at Villa at Henrietta Park, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
So pleased you liked your room - we really appreciate every review as it is invaluable in helping other guests pick their ideal hotel. And hopefully such a lovely review will ensure they pick us!
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed October 22, 2012

My girlfriend and I had such a lovely stay at the Villa Magdala. The staff were very friendly and helpful; the bed was one of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept on; the room was gorgeous and a wonderful en suite - we were truly indulged! Oh and the breakfast... Stunning! The best eggs Benedict I have ever had.

5 minute walk into the city where there are lovely bars and restaurants, we stumbled across 'The Tramshed' on our first night, which was very good.

Thank you Villa Magdala, we will be back and we will definitely recommend you to friends and family!

Chris

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheVM, Owner at Villa at Henrietta Park, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
We really appreciate you taking the time to write this review - and for your offer to recommend us to friends and family. Nothing works more successfully than a personal recommendation!

I have tweeted the Tramshed too to pass on your comments - nothing better than a pat on the back! Bath does have some great bars and restaurants! Do come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

When we arrived to this beautiful hotel we were greeted by staff and offered refreshments, and a chance to relax before checking in....... The most painless checking in I must add. The room was amazing, very clean, modern and spacious. We had a wide range of selection for breakfast, nice dining room and again very clean. The location is maybe 4/5 minute walk from the very centre of town.... I would like to finish in the staff... 5 star rating here without a doubt in my mind..,. Overall this stay was fantastic, and I would advise anyone to stay here

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonny805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheVM, Owner at Villa at Henrietta Park, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
What a lovely pat on the back for our team of staff! They always do their very best to ensure that all our guests enjoy their stay - but not everyone mentions it. So a big thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Uk
Level Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

I won my stay at villa magdala but would gladly stay again and pay for the priveledge. It's a beautiful place with modern, attractive rooms and helpful, friendly staff. The breakfasts are very special and service is attentive but never intrusive. I would thoroughly recommend staying here to anyone going to Bath. The location is great too as everything you could want is within walking distance. If you are trawling the net for somewhere to stay in Bath then just stop and book Villa Magdala now. You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scullyx100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheVM, Owner at Villa at Henrietta Park, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you so much for all your kind comments - glad you took the time to enter our cake competition! A very well-deserved winner - and I'm assured by some of our team that the cup-cakes you made at your cupcake class ( also part of the prize) were truly beautiful!

Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 10, 2012

I booked my parents here for my Dads birthday and I have never seen them return with such a big smile or so relaxed. The staff at Villa Magdala were so helpful on the run-up to their stay that I managed to book restaurants and treats to make things easy for my folks. During their stay Mum & Dad felt so looked after it sounded like they didn't want to return. The hotel was luxurious, cosy and in the words of my Mum - felt like home. I'll definitely book them a stay here again and will definitely stay here myself. Thank you Kim & The Gang

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anit M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheVM, Owner at Villa at Henrietta Park, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
We're so pleased your parents enjoyed their stay. We're always happy to recommend and book restaurants for guests. Bath has some great places to eat - and we love our food!

I do hope they come back - there's always more to explore.
Thank you for taking the time to write this review - it really helps!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

When you check in the receptionist asks : "do you want a paper?". And when you check out you find the price of the paper added to your bill. That's a bit cheap and lacking elegance for a place so expensive.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coerlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheVM, Owner at Villa at Henrietta Park, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
We were surprised at this review. We're sorry if you feel misled about the ordering of newspapers.

We provide free papers and magazines for guests' use but all guests are asked if they require a particular paper of their own. We then order this and deliver to their rooms. No guest has ever expected not to pay for their personal choice of papers - and these guests' papers amounted to over £4.00 during their stay.

We also dispute that we are expensive - rooms at the weekend start at just £70.00 per person for bed ( king-size double), en-suite bathroom, full English breakfast, including a glass of Buck's fizz, free car parking and all taxes. For central Bath, we believe this is excellent value for money in newly refurbished rooms. For other guests reading this review, I do urge you to make some price comparisons to confirm this for yourself.

I do wish you had mentioned this matter at the time of your stay so we could have apologised in person to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.4 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.3 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#12 of 35 in Bath
1,319 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 35 in Bath
1,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
No.15 Great Pulteney
0.4 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#17 of 35 in Bath
1,335 reviews
1.7 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa at Henrietta Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa at Henrietta Park

Property: Villa at Henrietta Park
Address: Henrietta Road, Bath BA2 6LX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa at Henrietta Park 5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a 5 minute level stroll to the centre of Bath with all its attractions, Villa at Henrietta Park is a handsome Victorian townhouse, set within its own gardens with an off-street car-park. So close to the heart of the city, yet the hotel is in a quiet road, opposite leafy Henrietta Park, so none of the usual late night city noise to disturb a blissful night's sleep. 21 stylishly refurbished bedrooms offer a 5 star rated boutique experience, with heavenly Hypnos beds, double or superking size, with feather light goose down duvets and crisp cotton bed linen. Well-equipped bathrooms include fluffy bath sheets, and luxury toiletries. Gourmet breakfasts are served in a light, airy ground floor dining room, overlooking the park, all freshly cooked to order from a range of quality locally-sourced ingredients. Marry all this with a team of friendly, quietly efficient staff, ready to recommend and book all kinds of entertainment for you - a truly charming and characterful place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa at Henrietta Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Magdala Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing