We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beyond Words”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa at Henrietta Park
Ranked #3 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Malahat, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beyond Words”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

What a wonderful B&B!! It is hard to know wehre to even start to review this wonderful establishement. The rooms were spacoius, bright and well decorated. Everything and more! The staaff were all hospitable, pleasant and extremely helpful. The breakfast was beyond compare.

Of all the places that we stayed on our two-week trip to the United Kingdom, this was the best B&B. It has earned every star that it has. We will recommend to anyone in Canada who might be going to Bath.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Les and Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheVM, Owner at Villa at Henrietta Park, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Thank you! A lovely review which all our staff were so thrilled with - it's a wonderful start to our day if we have a good review on Trip Advisor!

We'll look forward to welcoming lots of Canadian visitors!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,649 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,422
    178
    34
    11
    4
See reviews for
239
1,050
30
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (388)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
154 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

This B&B was extraordinary. Expensive, yes -- but worth every penny. We had a lovely suite (see pictures) on the first floor. Quiet, peaceful, very tastefully furnished. Literally a 5 minute level walk to the historic centre of old Bath, UK.
The staff were very nice, and mrecommended a superb restaurant "The Circus" in Brock Street just off the historic Circus region of Bath. It was 5 minute taxi ride away (cost about UK 6 pounds for the cab).
The restauant was very busy -- we could only get a table at 8.30pm -- but it was worth the wait. The staff were very welcoming, particularly one waitress who originally came from Zimbabwe, but has now lived in the UK for 7 years.
We skipped the Entrees (Starters) and went straight to a Main Course. I had the Lamb which was beautiful, and my wife had the Sea Bass. Vegetables were well matched, and were local and very fresh.
We complemented this with an English wine from Devon. The locals were stunned that we didn't order a French or New Zealand white -- but the English wine was fine. After all, the Romans made high quality wine in the UK 2000 years ago !
In summary, an excellent dining experience.
Breakfast next morning at Villa Magdala was lovely. The bacon had that fresh, farm flovour that is so rare these days. The organic eggs were well cooked, and the sausages and mushrooms delicious.
I'd rate Villa Magdala in my top 5 all time B&Bs (after having stayed in a few hundred !).

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the park if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheVM, Owner at Villa at Henrietta Park, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind comments. We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay - and dinner at The Circus. This is a personal favourite of ours! We do hope you'll come back on your next trip to the UK!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

I recently stayed at the Villa Magdala with my husband for my birthday. What can I say, it was an absolute treat. I only wish I could have stayed longer. The room was beautiful and the bathroom huge. It's a lovely quiet location overlooking a park and it's also really close to Bath. We both slept extremely well in the very comfortable and spacious bed. Although I have to say that the best thing about my stay was the wonderful breakfast. Bucks fizz and kippers, which were absolutely fantastic. It's a great place and I'd love to go back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diggity64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheVM, Owner at Villa at Henrietta Park, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Yet more praise for our kitchen team - thank you! The kippers are good - and we serve them in pairs! So pleased you enjoyed your birthday - there's always next year? We'd love to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
161 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We have recently just stayed one night with Villa Magdala. This magnificent Boutique Hotel/ B&B, is located an easy walk to the centre of Bath, close to the RomanBaths and shops, and has on site parking available, important if driving as parking is really tight in the city. We were given an upgrade on arrival and our room was delightful. Generous with a super comfy king bed and lovely ensuite. We were offered cake and tea on arrival and given some information and suggestions for dinner. The staff were all exceptionally polite, helpful and friendly. We recommend Sotto Sotto, Italian Rest for dinner, delicious, but unless you are planning on a very late meal like us, then book! It's impossible to get into.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristineB55Geelong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheVM, Owner at Villa at Henrietta Park, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
So pleased you enjoyed staying with us! We loved having you here! And, yes, Sotto! Sotto! is great - we send lots of our guests there and they all seem to love it too! Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

The Villa Magdala was one of our favourite places to stay on our 2 week trip across Britain!!!

We walked through their doors on a rainy day and I’m not sure if we could have felt more welcomed- they took our coats, sat us in the dining room, offered us cake and gave us hot tea to help warm us up. Their English hospitality made a cold gloomy day bright and sunny!! Our room was very posh, beautifully decorated, and the bed was AMAZING. In comparison to most that we had stayed at, it was a great size with every amenity that we could need. The only downside was the size of the washroom- although unbelievably clean, it was the size of a closet and difficult to move around in. All of the staff were very charming and were happy to help us in any way. The location was great, 10-15 minute walk to the centre of Bath, the rooms were lovely, stylish and comfortable, the owners and staff were friendly, always smiling, and our experience as a whole was wonderful. Not to mention their little dog that was as sweet as pie!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heathersadvice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheVM, Owner at Villa at Henrietta Park, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Thank you so much for writing such a positive review. We're glad you found the bed comfortable - we have Hypnos beds in all our rooms, either king size or superking size depending on the type of room you book. One or two of our rooms do have smaller bathrooms but we try to make our guests aware of this before their stay and, of course, this is reflected in the room rates we charge.

Please do come back when hopefully the sun will shine!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

We stayed 5 nights at the Villa Magdala. Bath is a great town in itself, but is also a good base for exploring the surrounding area by car or train.
Villa Magdala was an excellent place to stay. The room was large and comfortable, the staff was friendly and helpful, and the breakfasts outstanding. The location of the hotel was just the right distance from the city center and we found it easy to get in and out of town with our rental car. They have a car park.

Room Tip: Our trip faced the street, but since it is a residential section, that was not a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheVM, Owner at Villa at Henrietta Park, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
So pleased you enjoyed your stay. Our car park is one of the reasons guests choose us initially - and then hopefully love everything else! New visitors to Bath do find that driving in the city can difficult and finding a car-parking space even more so! We look forward to seeing you again one day on your next trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

The Villa Magdala is a perfect place to stay while in bath. The staff were friendly and welcoming and very accommodating. Our room was beautiful and clean with very good facilities. The breakfast was delicious and service was fantastic. I would recommend staying here to anyone visiting bath. I can't wait to go back.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Leona H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheVM, Owner at Villa at Henrietta Park, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Come back soon! We were so pleased to receive your review - thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.4 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.1 mi away
No.15 Great Pulteney
0.2 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
1,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#17 of 34 in Bath
1,369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa at Henrietta Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa at Henrietta Park

Property: Villa at Henrietta Park
Address: Henrietta Road, Bath BA2 6LX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa at Henrietta Park 5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a 5 minute level stroll to the centre of Bath with all its attractions, Villa at Henrietta Park is a handsome Victorian townhouse, set within its own gardens with an off-street car-park. So close to the heart of the city, yet the hotel is in a quiet road, opposite leafy Henrietta Park, so none of the usual late night city noise to disturb a blissful night's sleep. 21 stylishly refurbished bedrooms offer a 5 star rated boutique experience, with heavenly Hypnos beds, double or superking size, with feather light goose down duvets and crisp cotton bed linen. Well-equipped bathrooms include fluffy bath sheets, and luxury toiletries. Gourmet breakfasts are served in a light, airy ground floor dining room, overlooking the park, all freshly cooked to order from a range of quality locally-sourced ingredients. Marry all this with a team of friendly, quietly efficient staff, ready to recommend and book all kinds of entertainment for you - a truly charming and characterful place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Villa at Henrietta Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Magdala Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing