We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Way to Start Our Trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Roseate Villa Bath
Ranked #3 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 20, 2011

We stayed our first two nights of a 22 day trip at the Villa Magdala and were very pleased. The rooms were comfortable and well appointed and the dining area was just lovely. The new owners are going out of their way to welcome you and accomodate your needs. The location was perfect - across from a lovely park and easy walking distance to the town sights. We also took a side tour to Stonehenge with Mad Maxx tours that we would highly recommend. This was my sister's first stay in England and it made for a wonderful start. Definitely would recommend this place to friends and family.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mustlovetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,738)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,664 - 1,670 of 1,738 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2011

The hotel is situated 5mins from bath centre by foot but next to a park and therefore in a pretty and quiet location.
Free car park at the hotel should not be underestimated.
Quirky building added.to the charm of the hotel and look forward to seeing the refurbished look next year.
Staff very friendly and helpful and rooms were high standard of cleanliness.
Breakfast was lush.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joblob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2011

We had a one-night stay in late May and had a lovely time here. Excellent service. Personal attention from the new owners who have plans for improving the place.

Tip: Don't bother renting a car if you're staying here. It's walking distance to the Bath sights, shops and restaurants. Driving a car around could be more cumbersome as weekend traffic was a slow crawl.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrsDIY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2011

Lovely, quiet location but within easy walk of the city centre. Friendly and helpful staff. Delicious breakfast (particularly the sausages!). Great to have free car parking and we were able to leave our car there for the day having checked out.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leatmill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2011

Just returned from 3 nights at the Villa Magdala and for the first time, we felt we just HAD to provide feedback on Trip Advisor! This is a brilliant B & B. The location couldn't be better (5 minutes walking distance from the centre of town), the breakfasts were wonderful (with a fabulous choice of superbly cooked food and sausages to die for!), staff who were so helpful and friendly (Nothing was too much trouble and everyone had a great sense of humour!) and beautiful, spacious, comfortable, clean rooms. The website is right to suggest that this is Bath's best kept secret......

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Halfwayboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheVM, Manager at The Roseate Villa Bath, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2011

Thank you, we love the Sausages too, they are from Bath Butcher, Terry and Sons just round the corner from us on Walcot street.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2011

Villa Magdala is perfectly situated for those who want to avoid street noise and don't mind walking 3-5 minutes to the center of Bath (it's a beautiful walk, too!). Our room, a superior double, overlooked Henrietta Park (across the street) and was large, comfortable, and well-lit. We could not hear people in adjoining rooms or noise from the street below, and enjoyed a very relaxing stay.

Breakfast was fantastic both days -- a wide selection of excellent foods for all tastes. The staff was friendly, readily available, and quite knowledgeable. One very minor issue: the curtain in our room showed signs of age (starting to tear where people usually pull to close it). I'm told they will refurbish at the end of this year, however, so that will probably be fixed.

If we ever return to Bath, we'd love to stay here again.

Room Tip: Check multiple sites for discounts or coupons
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cgm3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

We stayed here for a sophisticated hen do weekend and found it to be excellent value for money, high quality and a fantastic breakfast. A charming, well presented old house only 3 minutes walk from Bath Abbey. We all said we would go back and would recommend it to friends. The staff were attentive and really helpful. Perfect!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OxfordBecky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheVM, Manager at The Roseate Villa Bath, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2011

Thank you, it was lovely to have you all stay! Hope you enjoyed the spa too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
1.7 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
0.4 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.5 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
1,304 reviews
1.4 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
1.1 mi away
The Bath Priory
The Bath Priory
#10 of 34 in Bath
1,404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Roseate Villa Bath? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roseate Villa Bath

Address: At Henrietta Park Henrietta Road, Bath BA2 6LX, England (Formerly Villa at Henrietta Park)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Price Range: $151 - $418 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Roseate Villa Bath 5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a 5 minute level stroll to the centre of Bath with all its attractions, The Roseate Villa Bath is a handsome Victorian townhouse, set within its own gardens with an off-street car-park. So close to the heart of the city, yet the hotel is in a quiet road, opposite leafy Henrietta Park, so none of the usual late night city noise to disturb a blissful night's sleep. 21 stylishly refurbished bedrooms offer a 5 star rated boutique experience, with heavenly Hypnos beds, double or superking size, with feather light goose down duvets and crisp cotton bed linen. Well-equipped bathrooms include fluffy bath sheets, and luxury toiletries. Gourmet breakfasts are served in a light, airy ground floor dining room, overlooking the park, all freshly cooked to order from a range of quality locally-sourced ingredients. Marry all this with a team of friendly, quietly efficient staff, ready to recommend and book all kinds of entertainment for you - a truly charming and characterful place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your The Roseate Villa Bath reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Magdala Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing