We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faultless”
Review of The Bath Priory

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Bath Priory
Ranked #10 of 32 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 5, 2014

This is a beautiful, small luxury hotel about 20 mins walk (or £8 taxi ride) from Bath centre in a quiet residential area of town along from the Royal Crescent. We stayed in Peony, a delightful smaller room overlooking the gardens on a B&B basis. Our stay was faultless from the completely flexible, "no problem" attitude of the staff when we arrived (tired and late for an appointment after a miserable journey) to the moment we checked out.
Breakfasts were excellent, very fresh fruit, first class hot dishes, lovely breads - can you get a Michelin star for breakfasts?? The garden is stunning and it would have been a real pleasure spending mornings in it reading the papers had we had time.

It is a fairly expensive hotel and the car park full of big new Mercedes and BMWs gives a guide to the clientele. However, it was a faultless and delightful stay and in my mind, worth the luxury price tag. Fully recommend for a special occasion.

Room Tip: Garden is beautiful. Most rooms look over it but well worth asking for a garden facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Decapitate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathpriory, General Manager at The Bath Priory, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2014

Dear Decapitate,

Now thats one lovely review, thank you for posting it

best wishes
Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,420)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

912 - 918 of 1,420 reviews

Reviewed May 1, 2014

This hotel is in a residential area (the posh bit) ten minutes walk from Bath centre. It is beautufully designed, simple, unfussy and elegant. The staff are very friendly and helpful, the garden is lovely and you really feel relaxed here within minutes. Quite expensive but worth every penny. They have very wierd bead mattress beds, but they seem to work quite well.

Room Tip: They are all quiet, all lovely (that I saw). You definately want one overlooking the garden at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathpriory, General Manager at The Bath Priory, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2014

Dear Mark W

Thank you so much for posting your review. I am delighted to read you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
regards
Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

We stayed two nights in the Jasmine room which overlooks the gardens - lovely room with amazing views and nice decor. We ate in the restaurant on one evening and had 3 courses from the a la carte menu - delicious! And then ate in their new restaurant the pantry. The pantry food was delicious and had a bit of atmosphere with lots of interesting pictures and some jazz music. Staff were friendly, attentive and service from everyone was excellent - would stay again in a heartbeat (just need to start saving!)

Room Tip: Rooms over the gardens - jasmine was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TinyUmbrella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathpriory, General Manager at The Bath Priory, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2014

Dear TinyUmbrella,

Wow what a lovely review. The whole team are thrilled with you comments

We look forward to seeing you again soon.
regards
Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

We really enjoyed our one night stay at this hotel. All decorated in great taste our bedroom had every comfort and we had a lovely view over the garden. We did not have time to visit the spa but chatted to people who had enjoyed their visit to it. The bed and linen made sleep easy and we over slept a bit before going down for breakfast
Dinner was excellent with an interesting way of presenting a menu - a fixed price for two courses chosen from the A la Carte menu. The Tasting menu read well but we did not try it. The dishes on the a la carte menu were interesting and well cooked. Dessert prices were reasonable. Breakfast was a bit disappointing as the croissants and petit pains did not seem to be freshly cooked which for this standard of hotel was a bit surprising,but the fresh fruit etc was very comprehensive.
Throughout our stay the service was very attentive and pleasant and we felt very welcome. The only blip was in the bar where we waited for a good ten minutes before being approached for our drink order.
A stay here is an expensive one but we felt thta it had been worth it.

Room Tip: Make sure your room faces the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank henryvws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathpriory, General Manager at The Bath Priory, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2014

Dear henrywvs,

Thank you for your recent honest review.

we look forward to see you again

regards
Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

This is a lovely hotel and spa with very attentive staff who pre-empt your needs in both. We've never experienced such great service at any other hotel we've stayed in.

A couple of things to take note of if you're visiting; if you have a disability with mobility requirements ask for a ground floor room. There is no lift. It is possible to access the spa without using the stairs by going outside around the building.

We felt that, whilst nicely presented, the breakfast wasn't worth £25 per head.

That said, we'd happily go back again.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Merlinandowners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathpriory, General Manager at The Bath Priory, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2014

Dear Merlinanddowners,

Thank you for posting your review. The team are delighted that you appreciated their attentive service.

Sam our chef has also taken your comments on board and is reviewing our breakfast offering to add value.

We look forward to seeing you again

regards
Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014

First I need to point out that this is a £250-300 a night hotel with a Michelin star restaurant so expectations are set to a certain standard. Sadly not a standard quite met. It all started well; greeted at our car, bags whisked away, check-in almost invisible. The room (orchid) was a lovely space, the bed comfortable, bathroom spacious....... And here the Buts start. Billed as over looking the courtyard (read car park) there was a lot of noise from the road and worse we were woken before 7am by the noise of bottles being thrown out! No place to plug in hair dryer in front of a mirror - no full length mirror - room safe out of action. So down for dinner - had to search out someone to order a drink - table booked for 8.30, finally got starters at 9.40 and main after 10. Food was however was in the main lovely -starter of asparagus with chicken gravy may sound odd but was spectacular - Beef main amazing - pork main disappointing and ordinary. Cheese board the best I've had! Hopefully the poor front of house was just a blip - and assuming this - do stay here but make sure you are not ravenous and definitely book a garden view room.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathpriory, General Manager at The Bath Priory, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2014

Dear Susan C

Thank you for posting for such an honest review which I am sure our readers will appreciate.

I was delighted to read that you were amazed by the food and thought certain dishes that Sam and the team produced were spectaular. With regards to some of the points for improvement, I am happy to inform you that we are addressing the way we communicate the various rooms we have and the views they show as we would not want to miss lead any of our guests. We have also been in contact with our local glass recycling company to move the time of their pick up to a more suitable hour.

Within the bedroom itself the safe has been fixed, an extendable lead hair dryer with a portable mirror has been added for use in multiple areas of the room. Our Executive Head housekeeper Suzanne is also researching into full lengh mirrors and a suitable place to locate it within the room.

I can only apologise for the delayed service you received at dinner. This is not in keeping with our usual high standard and I have addressed this with the team.

I do hope you and the readers of this review can see that we have taken on board your comments and are in the process of recitifying the comments bought to our attention.

Kindest regards
Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2014

We stayed 2 nights in the Cavendish room as a well earned break and enjoyed the experience enormously. Room was fantastic great layout with marvellous views over the gardens and lots of light. The bed was very comfortable and apart from the shower which was a minor let down a great bathroom. We loved the different rooms downstairs which all had a lovely atmosphere with luxurious sofas to sink in to and read the paper. The Spa was also great to just relax in for a while after breakfast. The quality of the service was first class and all the staff were enthusiastic and helpful highly recommended for anyone looking for a special break

Room Tip: pay that little bit extra and go for a suite if you are considering staying at a hotel like this to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David_CB4000KR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathpriory, General Manager at The Bath Priory, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2014

Dear David_CB4000KR

We are really pleased you posted your review about our beautiful Garden Spa suite Cavendish.
Suzanne and the housekeeping team really know how to make the suites special with all their little touches.

For your next visit why not try Royal our beautiful Master suite with it's own balcony which over looks our award winning gardens.

kindest regards
Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.7 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
1.7 mi away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
1 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
2.2 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
3.1 mi away
Combe Grove Hotel
Combe Grove Hotel
#20 of 32 in Bath
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bath Priory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bath Priory

Address: Weston Road, Bath BA1 2XT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 32 Hotels in Bath
Price Range: $210 - $610 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Bath Priory 5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled within four acres of mature award-winning gardens and spacious terraces, The Bath Priory sets itself apart as a peaceful haven in a bustling city. The Georgian house of honey-coloured Bath stone enjoys a tranquil location just a short walk through Royal Victoria Park to Bath’s city centre. The award-winning spa has a selection of luxurious treatments, an indoor pool, pool-side sauna, elliptical steam pod and shower. From the moment you enter The Garden Spa by L’OCCITANE, fragrances transport you to Provence; the escape begins with scent. Every gesture, every ingredient, every ritual is drawn from a page of the L’OCCITANE grand herbarium, a resource of hundreds of essential oils and natural ingredients. Steeped in Roman history, the city of Bath is a UNESCO World Heritage site. The Roman Baths, Pump Rooms and Theatre Royal are noteworthy highlights alongside the city’s architectural merits including the Royal Crescent and The Circus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Otel, Agoda, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Bath Priory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing