We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Bath Priory
Nearby Hotels
$402
$311
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$154
$145
MGallery
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$216
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$180
$171
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Holiday Inn Express Bath(Bath)(Great Value!)
$107
$89
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$119
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$148
$139
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Bailbrook House Hotel(Bath)(Great Value!)
$112
$107
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harington's Hotel(Bath)(Great Value!)
$101
$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Reviews (1,511)
Filter reviews
1,511 results
Traveler rating
1,094
257
109
33
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,094
257
109
33
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstasting menumichelin stargidleigh parkspecial occasionindoor poolmain restaurantdrawing roomafternoon teapublic roomsspa treatmentscountry houseroyal crescentlovely hotelbirthday treatbeautiful gardena real treatluxury hotel
Filter
Updating list...
1,023 - 1,028 of 1,511 reviews
Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

Fantastic hotel, faultless across the board really. Service, food, bedrooms all outstanding. Gardens looked lovely but pouring rain lead to them being viewed from indoors. Being really critical the pool area was slightly small with limited beds. Also the gym was limited in equipment, but this is hyper critical. Would definitely stay again and maybe try the tester menu.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank AdrianCTate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathpriory, General Manager at The Bath Priory, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2014

Dear AdrianCTate,
Thank you for your kind words about us. We really do aim to get every aspect of the experience right. Thank you for your feedback regarding the Garden Spa. We do have an outdoor swimming pool with more seating which is open during the summer months to create more of an experience within the Spa.
We look forward to welcoming you back, and I’m sure if you wanted to enjoy the Tasting Menu we could arrange a copy of the menu signed by Sam Moody as a memento for you.
regards
Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

This is a very special Hotel with very friendly and helpful staff My husband and I spent the night and what a very relaxing and comfortable night it was too. We personally have a hate for duvets and here we had crisp white sheets and blankets......simply perfect. Our room, Heather, was very relaxing with interesting pictures and not over overpowering colourful but stylish drapes. We had a balcony but sadly the inclement British weather did not permit us to go out on it. Our room overlooked the beautiful gardens. Lunch in The Pantry was good our fish cakes were very tasty and there was an interesting selection to choose from.

Then a visit to the Spa. It was just what I needed a fantastic relaxing massage after travelling. As we were a party of eight we had a private room for dinner. Five magnificent courses of delicious and imaginative food creatively presented on a variety of different shaped dishes.

The Bath Priory is a gem and I can highly recommend it for a great relaxing whether romantic or celebrating an occasion or just getting away from for a quiet time..

Room Tip: A bedroom over looking the garden is relaxing and quiet.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank judy011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathpriory, General Manager at The Bath Priory, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2014

Dear Judy001,
We are pleased that you enjoyed your time with us. All of our rooms are individually decorated so each of them has it’s own unique character. Heather and Lilac both have balconies with which to enjoy the fleeting English sunshine, if you can find it!
The Pantry is our new addition to the hotel, so we are thrilled that you enjoyed it. It is a more relaxed experience than our main restaurant and allows for more flexibility in terms of dining with us. I am glad you enjoyed the variety of dishes Sam Moody created for your party, we will pass the compliments on to him and his team.
Hopefully you will join us in the summertime and get full use of our balconies and terrace.
kindest regards
Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

We were heading to paris to celebrate 16 years together. Our flight was cancelled due to storms and my hopes of spoiling my wife for the weekend were pretty shattered, until we found this hotel on trip advisor. We telephoned and spoke with staff who were superb and provided us with a first class break. The food is excellent and the surroundings beautifully maintained. The spa is very enjoyable (the couples massage is very relaxing and worth the fee) thank you to the excellent staff for salvaging our weekend.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathpriory, General Manager at The Bath Priory, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2014

Dear Peter H,
We are so glad we could accommodate you for your special occasion. It is such a shame that your trip to Paris was spoiled, but we are so glad we could turn around an unfortunate situation for you. Our spa therapists train very hard to give you the most relaxing experience, and we are glad we could relieve some tension after what was undoubtedly a stressful time. We would like to congratulate you again on your anniversary, and hopefully we will see you return to us in the future.

best wishes
Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

My wife and I stayed just the one night at the Bath Priory but if we could have moved in we would have. We loved it. The staff, without exception, were friendly, attentive without being over-bearing, and efficient without being starchy, right from the welcome at the front desk through the staff in the restaurant to the young guy who cheerfully cleared our windscreen of the mess left by the local bird-life. Nothing was too much trouble and we felt our every need would be accommodated, if it hadn't already been anticipated. For us this was a special treat, a birthday present bought for us by our children, and it felt just that, a treat from start to finish. Our room (Apple Blossom) was lovely and, crucially, the bed was really comfortable (which sort of pillow would you like, sir?). It was also really quiet so we had a great night's sleep. Lunch was superb with immaculate service, and having taken our coffee in the lounge the hotel even brought a complementary Happy Birthday foodie treat. It was just so indulgently comfortable in their big sofas we didn't really want to move.

If you're going into the centre of Bath, and you should of course, then unless you have real mobility problems you should walk. It's a short and very pleasant stroll through the park, across the Royal Crescent, around The Circus and into town. Lovely.

Oh and let's not overlook the pool and spa area. This has been beautifully incorporated into the old buildings. We were very appreciative of the fact that even after we had checked out the hotel was happy for us to go into the city and come back to use the pool before heading off. By this time though we wouldn't have expected anything less of such a classy place.

Perfect.

Room Tip: We stayed in Apple Blossom which is lovely and overlooks the back garden. Highly recommend it but have no experience of the others.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A&A_F-L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathpriory, General Manager at The Bath Priory, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2014

Dear A&A_F-L

I was delighted to read of your recent stay and that we passed all your expectations. It goes without saying that as a team we try daily to make each experience for each of our guest special.

Once again thank you for your very kind review and we look forward to seeing you for your next celebration.

Best wishes
Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We arrived here about 4pm on the afternoon they re-opened after their winter break for refurbishment....everything was in in apple pie order, if it had been a rush to get everything done on time you would never have guessed.
Our room was Wisteria which was very nicely appointed and included a small table and a couple of chairs so if you had wanted room service it would be easy to eat there. We had asked for a twin bedded room and although the beds were made up separately they were touching each other, if you were travelling with a friend rather than partner it would be a good idea to mention it....as always the cleanliness was outstanding. There are supplies of tea and coffee in the room, you just phone down for fresh milk which in my experience is bought promptly.
On the Saturday I used the pool which although not big was warm and very relaxing and very nicely laid out with nice big fluffy towels and robes available... later I used the beauty facilities and will book ahead and use these more next time.
Our 'taster' menu was fabulous, every bit as good as Gidliegh in our opinion ......the breakfasts were also lovely with a good choice of buffet or cooked options.

Two things to mention, as in Gidliegh there is no clock in the rooms, I suspect this is hotel group policy to help you relax but be aware.
There is free wifi but the reception in our room was very hit and miss but much better downstairs in the reception rooms....the house is of traditional Bath construction and I guess wifi and thick walls are not a great match
We chose to not use our car between arrival and departure, taxis to Bath were between £5.50 and £7.50 depending on destination and time of day.

The staff were never less that utterly professional and friendly and made us feel at ease from the very beginning of our stay

We found this an excellent, very relaxing weekend break and hope to go back soon

Room Tip: It's lovely to look over the garden Wisteria has an over bath shower.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BertheUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathpriory, General Manager at The Bath Priory, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2014

Dear bertherUK

Thank you so much for your very kind review. I think you have touched upon everything a new reviewer reading Trip Advisor would want to see.

We as a team are very proud of all aspects of the hotel and I am delighted that you not only enjoyed your stay, but you will be coming back to see us again in the future.

Best wishes
Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews