We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic room”
Review of The Bath Priory

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Bath Priory
Ranked #11 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic room”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed here for our 25th Wedding Anniversary and it was fantastic. We were upgraded to a suite as it was a special occasion and I can honestly say the room was absolutely stunning. The bed was so comfortable and the bathroom huge with lights that came on when you walked in.
The breakfast was lovely lots to choose from and presented beautifully. We had the tasting menu in the evening; this was the only thing that I didn't enjoy too much. Maybe it was just me but I felt it lacked something.
The hotel is close enough to the city to walk to, about a 15-20 minute walk through the park, or you can get the open top bus at the end of the road which takes you on a tour of the city.
We went to the Thermae Bath Spain in the centre which I would definitely advise you to visit. It is a great place and the food is good too. We had a Twilight session for 2 which included 3 hours in the spa, robe, slippers towel + a meal and drink for £80.

I can't wait to go back next year for another weekend at this truly luxurious hotel.

Thank you to all the staff there, they were very friendly, polite and very helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lollypop2757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathpriory, General Manager at The Bath Priory, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear lollypop2757,
Thank you for the review. I am very glad that you enjoyed one of our suites. The six suites were refurbished in 2012 and are beautiful spaces offering wonderful views of the gardens and privacy away from the main hotel. We are very lucky to have such a good team of Room Attendants , led by Suzanne, who keep the hotel spotless.
As you say the location is within walking distance of the city and we are one of the very few hotels within the city that has a car park.
I hope to be able to welcome you back to the Bath Priory very soon.
Simon Franks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    929
    222
    94
    27
    14
See reviews for
233
816
16
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level Contributor
85 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

This is just such a lovely place to stay. We were there for my husband's birthday and they gave him a complementary gift. The hotel is well located. We had fantastic food. The swimming pool was great. The staff were fantastic. We just can't wait to come back (when we can afford it).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CortinaUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathpriory, General Manager at The Bath Priory, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear CortinaUK,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of the Bath Priory and I am very pleasd to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. I do hope your husband will return the favour and bring you back for your birthday.
Best wishes
Simon Franks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Stayed at the hotel to celebrate a birthday. The staff were very attentive and professional. Was upgraded to a superior room but it was very warm, quite uncomfortable on times. Had the 9 course menu surprise which was absolutely fantastic. Wonderful array of foods. Breakfast was wonderful. Would certainly visit again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smiles1168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathpriory, General Manager at The Bath Priory, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear Smiles1168,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of the Bath Priory. I am very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is lovely for us to be able to upgrade people and we do try to do this. The Surprise menu really is a treat and I am glad that you appreciated both it and the service as all of the staff in the hotel work very hard.
I look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Best wishes
Simon Franks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

I took my mum here for the 3 course lunch as an early Mothers Day treat. We both loved it, the service was impeccable from all staff we came into contact with, drinks and food delicious and extra touches made it a special treat i.e. being greeted as we got out of our taxi, canapes in the library with the log fire roaring, nothing too much trouble (e.g. i was chilly and they shut the windows). Highly recommended and would love to go again. Good value too for a Michelin star restaurent, £35 for 3 courses.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VVerity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathpriory, General Manager at The Bath Priory, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear Werity,
Thank you for the review and I am very glad that you enjoyed your pre Mothers Day treat so much. The Bath priory is a great place for such occasions or just for lunch without an occasion. Our mid week luncheons start from just £19.95 for two courses.
Best wishes
Simon Franks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

I have visited this hotel many times and think that it is the best I have been to in Bath. The service and food is without question very good. The garden is to die for in a city.

I can't wait to go back again

Well done

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SteveGrimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathpriory, General Manager at The Bath Priory, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Dear SteveGrimes,

Thank you for the review of the Bath Priory. It is always nice to hear such good things about the hotel. Sam's food is very good, the service of a similar standard and the gardens, having won the Relais and Chateaux garden award this year, are, as you say, to die for.
I hope to welcome you back to the hotel very soon.
Simon Franks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
88 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We had a 3 course lunch with Michael Caines and prepared by Sam Moody - it was wonderful in every aspect. The hotel is in a wonderful setting, the food was superb, and all the staff were most helpful. You pay a high price but it matches the quality. The Priory sets the standards that others have to rise to.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TelnChel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathpriory, General Manager at The Bath Priory, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Dear TelnChel,
Thank you for the very nice review of the Bath Priory. Our events that we organise with Michael Caines are always very popular and well attended. He is both an outstanding chef and great speaker who finds time to speak to everyone.
We do hold a number of events at the hotel throughout the year and we have started Ladies Luncheons again this year. Please do check the Events page of our website for more details.
i look forward to welcoming you back to the Bath Priory very soon.
Best wishes
Simon Franks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

One February Friday evening we felt like escaping London for a change of scenery. We decided to explore Bath over the weekend.
We were looking for a quite place, far from the main streets but at the same time walking distance from the town centre. We wanted to relax in comfort in a place with a bit of character, so Bath Priory Hotel and Spa seamed to tick all the boxes.
Web site was deceiving. I had this picture of the hotel surrounded by greens not so close to the busy road it is in fact on.
We arrived late afternoon, tired after a day of traveling and wondering around the town, to be warmly welcomed by the hotel receptionist. Our luggage has been taken care of and we were taken on the tour around the hotel. Quite relieved to be finally left alone we admired our spacious, comfortable room with lovely garden view. We were impressed with high maintenance and cleanness.
Having connected all our devices to Wifi ( each device required different access code) we were ready for a swim and quiet time in the spa. It wasn't meant to be! Very little relaxing area was occupied by noisy children left there by their parents who were enjoying spa treatments! At least they had a good time.. We couldn't swim as there was a lot of toys in the pool and each stroke required moving them out of the way. Sauna and steam were crowded as well so we returned to our room a bit disappointed.
We were not very hungry so we decided to have a little stack in the lounge area by the fire place. It was lovely, cosy and peaceful at first but soon become busy with guests waiting to be seated for dinner in the restaurant.
Our food arrived promptly and we enjoyed well made and tasty sandwiches before we went back to our room.
After good night sleep we went downstairs for breakfast. Here another disappointment. Although you can order breakfast but if you are really hungry and inpatient ( we were waiting over half and hour) and want to grab something from the buffet you won't have very much to choose from. Breakfast wasn't included in the room price so I would expect a better selection if you are being extra charged for it.
And off we went back home not sure if we fully enjoyed our experience and if the price paid was really worth it.



  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank iwonab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathpriory, General Manager at The Bath Priory, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Dear Iwonab,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Bath Priory. I am very glad that you chose the hotel to come and stay at and am sorry that you felt the website was deceiving. We are very lucky to be set within four acres of award winning gardens and we are also one of the very few hotels in Bath with its own car park.
We do try to cater for both families and those looking for a quieter time which is why we have childrens swimming times of an hour and a half in the morning and the afternoon. I m sorry that this must have coincided with you swimming in the pool.
I do hope you will return to the Bath Priory, especially in the summer when the outdoor pool is open, which is a real treat on a nice day.
Best wishes
Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.6 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
1.7 mi away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
0.6 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
1.1 mi away
Villa at Henrietta Park
2.2 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bath Priory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bath Priory

Property: The Bath Priory
Address: Weston Road, Bath BA1 2XT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Bath Priory 5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled within four acres of mature award-winning gardens and spacious terraces, The Bath Priory sets itself apart as a peaceful haven in a bustling city. The Georgian house of honey-coloured Bath stone enjoys a tranquil location just a short walk through Royal Victoria Park to Bath’s city centre and is proud to hold the city’s only Michelin Star for its exceptional cuisine. The award-winning spa has a selection of luxurious treatments, an indoor pool, pool-side sauna, elliptical steam pod and shower. From the moment you enter The Garden Spa by L’OCCITANE, fragrances transport you to Provence; the escape begins with scent. Every gesture, every ingredient, every ritual is drawn from a page of the L’OCCITANE grand herbarium, a resource of hundreds of essential oils and natural ingredients. Steeped in Roman history, the city of Bath is a UNESCO World Heritage site. The Roman Baths, Pump Rooms and Theatre Royal are noteworthy highlights alongside the city’s architectural merits including the Royal Crescent and The Circus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, LateRooms, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Bath Priory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing