We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Marks to the Bath Priory Hotel”
Review of The Bath Priory

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Bath Priory
Ranked #10 of 32 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 18, 2013

I stayed at the Bath Priory Hotel for one night in February 2013 to celebrate my and my girlfriend's birthday. Together with the room, we also booked a spa treatment and dinner for two in the restaurant. On all points, the hotel exceeded all my expectations and scored top marks: great service during the booking process and at the hotel; a lovely room; and delicious food at dinner and breakfast; although the spa itself is quite modest (rather small sauna and pool), the one hour body massage was first rate. This truly was a 5 Star experience and I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.
Andreas, Weybridge, Surrey, UKI

Room Tip: Speak to Annabel at Reservations - she will offer great advice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andreas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathpriory, General Manager at The Bath Priory, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Dear Andreas D,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Bath Priory and I am very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am glad you had time to use the Garden Spa. It is not the largest spa but it is a great addition to the hotel and we have some great spa staff to look after our guests. It is very kind of you to recommend the hotel and I hope to be able to welcome you back very soon.
Best wishes
Simon Franks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,420)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,049 - 1,055 of 1,420 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2013

Took my in-laws to the Bath Priory for afternoon team to celebrate their Golden Wedding Anniversary. Very good value at £23.50 per head for far more than we could eat (and yes we can eat!). A lovely selection of finger sandwiches, lemon drizzle, chocolate cake, carrot cake, fruit tart and plain and fruit scones with piles of homemade raspberry jam and clotted cream with naturally limitless tea. We were well looked after and they even asked whether we would like our remaining scones that we couldn't eat boxed up to take home.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Platty9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathpriory, General Manager at The Bath Priory, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Dear Platty9,
Thank you for the review of the Bath Priory. I am glad that all enjoyed your afternoon tea and agree what good value it is. There is a lot of food but there is no hurry and as you found out we are always happy to box up anything that you do not eat. I hope you will return, possibly in the warmer weather and enjoy afternoon tea in the garden, which is a lovely experience also.
Best wishes
Simon Franks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Had afternoon tea for 3 today. Excellent warm cosy surroundngs and the afternoon tea was delicous. Very generous portions and very well presented. The only thing it lacked was the lack of service. We had to wait ages to attract the attention of a member of staff to tell them the tea had gone cold and was not up to much. We were brough fresh pots of tea and all was well. I just think the customer service lacked somewhat for a five star establishment. I myself work in a customer service role and know all about excellent customer service. Not once did anyone ask if everything was ok and were we happy. Such a shame for such a small failing. Not sure I will return a second time. The Royal Crescent Hotel do a much better job when it comes to service.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathpriory, General Manager at The Bath Priory, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Dear Susan R,
Thank you very much for choosing to spend your Mother's Birthday at the Bath Priory and also for the review. I am glad that you enjoyed the afternoon tea. It is a lovely offering and a great idea for special occasions. I must apologise for the lack of service that you received. It is not the impression that we want any guest to leave with.
I do hope you will return to the Bath Priory and we will show you how good it is.
Best wishes
Simon Franks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

My wife wanted to experience fine dining to celebrate her birthday. Boy did this place deliver! We arrived by taxi and were greeted and escorted into the Hotel. From then on things just got better. The staff were so very kind, attentive and professional. Without exception the tasting menu was absolutely brilliant. The flavours were stunning. The wines that were selected were exactly right. We had a truly fabulous night and my wife could not have been more pleased.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathpriory, General Manager at The Bath Priory, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Dear Chris H,
Thank you for choosing to celebrate your wife's birthday at the Bath Priory and for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We work very hard at the hotel to make every visit special. Sam's cooking seems to get better all of the time and the tasting menus are a great way for him to be able to show off and for you to be able to experience all that is good about the hotel.
I hope to be able to welcome you both back to the Bath Priory very soon.
Best wishes
Simon Franks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

The Priory is "local" to us but not a place we can say we have frequented regularly over the years we have lived in Bath but we decided, after looking around at other similar places, to arrange a special Afternoon Tea Party for a small gathering of old friends and family in celebration of my wife's 70th Birthday today.

All I can say is that it was a very great success and all the arrangements made beforehand were undertaken with style, quality and professionalism by all involved. Pity we could make use of the garden but what else can one expect of a wet late January day. The Afternoon Tea was great - wonderful scones, rasberry jam and cream, sandwiches to die for and cakes that were a treat and enjoyed by all.

Not cheap but VERY good value and well worth the effort. We'll be going there again!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnwetherill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathpriory, General Manager at The Bath Priory, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

Dear Mr Wetherill,
I am very glad that you enjoyed your celebratory afternoon tea at The Bath Priory. The hotel is a lovely place to celebrate any occasion throughout the year. I do hope you will return in the better weather to make the most of the 4 acres Award winning gardens. I understand that you have written to the hotel to thank Francesca and the team. It is very kind of you to do so and much appreciated by the staff. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Simon Franks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Booked last minute three night New Year's Eve break and so glad we did, The hotel is warm, welcoming, unstuffy yet luxurious and has many excellent qualities. Wonderful staff, who genuinely want to make your stay perfect. Lovely food and great selection of wine....there was a very enjoyable wine tasting arranged one afternoon where the charming and knowledgeable sommelier introduced us to some unusual wines. Comfortable and immaculately clean bedrooms. We stayed in "Heather" which was on 2nd floor with little balcony overlooking rear gardens - very light and spacious and quiet (just 4 rooms up on 2nd floor so, up here, no long hotel corridor and banging doors etc). Complementary water and home made biscuits in room on arrival, and tea/coffee tray which we asked for beforehand. Fresh milk on request (which we kept cold on the balcony as no fridge). Huge comfy bed with exquisite bedlinen, fab bathroom with gorgeous Occitane toiletries and fluffy robes. Two small niggles if management read this! No full length mirror anywhere in room and also had to improvise to dry hair and do makeup as no mirror on dressing table and had to struggle underneath and behind dressing table to find plug socket which we alternated with the kettle!( obviously no plug in bathroom for hairdryer and even if there was, the bathroom mirror was very underlit).
The 3 night package was pricey I'll admit but it was absolutely worth it and we came home feeling rested, and pampered having had a wonderful break. We will be returning again!!
Thanks once again to the staff....you are world class!!!

Room Tip: Heather is very quiet and spacious with large bathroom and little balcony but warning if stairs are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmh61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

What a fabulous weekend once again at The Bath Priory Hotel. This is the second time we have enjoyed the luxury, ambiance and service at this great hotel in the beautiful city of Bath. We are fortunate to have stayed at the sister hotel Gidleigh Park at Chagford, but prefer the relaxed atmosphere and warm welcome at The Bath Priory. We travelled from Cornwall despite the snow as we reached Bristol. Bath had had quite a lot of snow, and the gardens at the hotel looked very pretty! We stayed in a beautiful room which was very comfortable and tastefully furnished. We decided to take the plunge and have the ten course Surprise Menu... with the accompanying 'Wine Flight'. What a treat. Perfectly presented and delicious courses of the most delicious tasty morsels, complimented by expert Sommelier choices of wines to accompany the courses. We were not disappointed, and half the fun was being told by the Sommelier a little about each wine we were tasting. The staff were, as always, so pleasant and helpful, they made our stay so welcoming and comfortable. A very pleasant stroll through the nearby Royal Victoria Park (in the snow!) took us in to Bath. Well worth a special trip to Bath to stay here, we will most certainly look forward to coming here again!

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Stuthejeweller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathpriory, General Manager at The Bath Priory, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

Dear Stuthejeweller,
Thank you very much for writing another review of The Bath Priory. It is so nice to be able to welcome return guests back to the hotel. The Menu Surprise is a real teat for both guests and staff. Sam changes the menu on a daily basis and sets the Somelliers the task of pairing the food and wine. I am glad that you enjoyed it so much. I hope to be able to welcome you back to the Bath Priory very soon.
Simon Franks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.7 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
1.7 mi away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
1 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
2.2 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
3.1 mi away
Combe Grove Hotel
Combe Grove Hotel
#20 of 32 in Bath
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bath Priory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bath Priory

Address: Weston Road, Bath BA1 2XT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 32 Hotels in Bath
Price Range: $210 - $606 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Bath Priory 5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled within four acres of mature award-winning gardens and spacious terraces, The Bath Priory sets itself apart as a peaceful haven in a bustling city. The Georgian house of honey-coloured Bath stone enjoys a tranquil location just a short walk through Royal Victoria Park to Bath’s city centre. The award-winning spa has a selection of luxurious treatments, an indoor pool, pool-side sauna, elliptical steam pod and shower. From the moment you enter The Garden Spa by L’OCCITANE, fragrances transport you to Provence; the escape begins with scent. Every gesture, every ingredient, every ritual is drawn from a page of the L’OCCITANE grand herbarium, a resource of hundreds of essential oils and natural ingredients. Steeped in Roman history, the city of Bath is a UNESCO World Heritage site. The Roman Baths, Pump Rooms and Theatre Royal are noteworthy highlights alongside the city’s architectural merits including the Royal Crescent and The Circus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Otel, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Bath Priory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing