We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only a Tea Party - but what a Party!!”
Review of The Bath Priory

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Bath Priory
Ranked #10 of 35 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Bath
Level Contributor
173 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Only a Tea Party - but what a Party!!”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

The Priory is "local" to us but not a place we can say we have frequented regularly over the years we have lived in Bath but we decided, after looking around at other similar places, to arrange a special Afternoon Tea Party for a small gathering of old friends and family in celebration of my wife's 70th Birthday today.

All I can say is that it was a very great success and all the arrangements made beforehand were undertaken with style, quality and professionalism by all involved. Pity we could make use of the garden but what else can one expect of a wet late January day. The Afternoon Tea was great - wonderful scones, rasberry jam and cream, sandwiches to die for and cakes that were a treat and enjoyed by all.

Not cheap but VERY good value and well worth the effort. We'll be going there again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnwetherill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathpriory, General Manager at The Bath Priory, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Mr Wetherill,
I am very glad that you enjoyed your celebratory afternoon tea at The Bath Priory. The hotel is a lovely place to celebrate any occasion throughout the year. I do hope you will return in the better weather to make the most of the 4 acres Award winning gardens. I understand that you have written to the hotel to thank Francesca and the team. It is very kind of you to do so and much appreciated by the staff. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Simon Franks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    913
    216
    91
    27
    14
See reviews for
230
794
16
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Booked last minute three night New Year's Eve break and so glad we did, The hotel is warm, welcoming, unstuffy yet luxurious and has many excellent qualities. Wonderful staff, who genuinely want to make your stay perfect. Lovely food and great selection of wine....there was a very enjoyable wine tasting arranged one afternoon where the charming and knowledgeable sommelier introduced us to some unusual wines. Comfortable and immaculately clean bedrooms. We stayed in "Heather" which was on 2nd floor with little balcony overlooking rear gardens - very light and spacious and quiet (just 4 rooms up on 2nd floor so, up here, no long hotel corridor and banging doors etc). Complementary water and home made biscuits in room on arrival, and tea/coffee tray which we asked for beforehand. Fresh milk on request (which we kept cold on the balcony as no fridge). Huge comfy bed with exquisite bedlinen, fab bathroom with gorgeous Occitane toiletries and fluffy robes. Two small niggles if management read this! No full length mirror anywhere in room and also had to improvise to dry hair and do makeup as no mirror on dressing table and had to struggle underneath and behind dressing table to find plug socket which we alternated with the kettle!( obviously no plug in bathroom for hairdryer and even if there was, the bathroom mirror was very underlit).
The 3 night package was pricey I'll admit but it was absolutely worth it and we came home feeling rested, and pampered having had a wonderful break. We will be returning again!!
Thanks once again to the staff....you are world class!!!

Room Tip: Heather is very quiet and spacious with large bathroom and little balcony but warning if stairs are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmh61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wadebridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

What a fabulous weekend once again at The Bath Priory Hotel. This is the second time we have enjoyed the luxury, ambiance and service at this great hotel in the beautiful city of Bath. We are fortunate to have stayed at the sister hotel Gidleigh Park at Chagford, but prefer the relaxed atmosphere and warm welcome at The Bath Priory. We travelled from Cornwall despite the snow as we reached Bristol. Bath had had quite a lot of snow, and the gardens at the hotel looked very pretty! We stayed in a beautiful room which was very comfortable and tastefully furnished. We decided to take the plunge and have the ten course Surprise Menu... with the accompanying 'Wine Flight'. What a treat. Perfectly presented and delicious courses of the most delicious tasty morsels, complimented by expert Sommelier choices of wines to accompany the courses. We were not disappointed, and half the fun was being told by the Sommelier a little about each wine we were tasting. The staff were, as always, so pleasant and helpful, they made our stay so welcoming and comfortable. A very pleasant stroll through the nearby Royal Victoria Park (in the snow!) took us in to Bath. Well worth a special trip to Bath to stay here, we will most certainly look forward to coming here again!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Stuthejeweller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathpriory, General Manager at The Bath Priory, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Stuthejeweller,
Thank you very much for writing another review of The Bath Priory. It is so nice to be able to welcome return guests back to the hotel. The Menu Surprise is a real teat for both guests and staff. Sam changes the menu on a daily basis and sets the Somelliers the task of pairing the food and wine. I am glad that you enjoyed it so much. I hope to be able to welcome you back to the Bath Priory very soon.
Simon Franks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

we have tried a number of hotels in bath over the years including royal crescent and bath spa but this is easily the best.
we have stayed in the summer and most recently in december;it is a beautiful hotel with excellent staff and amenities;the gardens are lovely and there is a good [although smal l]indoor pool and spa area[there is also an outdoor pool which was closed due to weather on both visits
.the food is of course excellent - ask for residents 'early menu' if you wanr something lighter or are going to theatre as hotel willl serve this earlier than regular dinner. hotel does provide tea ,coffee and biscuits in room but you need to request as hospitality tray- I,m not sure why that don,t ask if it is wanted when you book/arrive rather than leaving it to guest to request.
Hotel is slighter further away from city centre than some other hotels but easy ans pleasant walk through botanic gardens and victoria park to shopping centre in 15-20mins
we are looking forward to ging back

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank minerva10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathpriory, General Manager at The Bath Priory, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Dear Minerva10,
Thank you for posting a review of the Bath priory on Tripadvisor. I have passed on your very kind comments to the staff. I do hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back very soon and hopefully you will be able to use the outdoor pool. We will make sure there is a hospitality tray in your room for your arrival.
Simon Franks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We stayed in January 2013 just for the one night and despite needing a small mortgage to pay for it I will remember the experience always. The staff are the hotel's greatest asset - attentive, always available and nothing is too much effort. Highly recommend making use of the sommelier, he chose the perfect glass of wine for each of our 7 courses at dinner. The food was exquisite and my husband could not find a sliver of criticism (which trust me coming from the world's pickiest professional chef this is praise indeed!!). The spa is small but very clean and the pool lovely. Only gripe there, is that there is no separate jacuzzi, just a little alcove in the pool which is a little disappointing. The bedroom was for me totally beautiful - but not for those who like modern, sleek and chrome - this is purely indulgent quintessential English - think Laura Ashley on steroids! And very spacious. The bed was ginormous! The bathroom was modern and very well equipped and the towels were lovely and fluffy. Bathrobes a bit hard and scratchy, could do with fabric conditioner - although that's hardly a massive gripe. Only other possible criticism I could come up with was that when we went to the drawing room for afternoon tea at 3.30pm, both it and the library were very busy with people - we struggled to find somewhere to sit and they didn't seem to be residents either as they all seemed to be paying for their drinks before leaving the hotel and as check out is 12 noon it seemed odd where all these people had come from. Breakfast was perfect - loads of choice and you can choose whether to eat in the dining room or in your room (if you let them know the night before). We cannot wait to be able to return and this time we will be booking two nights not one!

Room Tip: Don't be put off by the term "standard room" - there is nothing standard about it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank everhopeful598
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathpriory, General Manager at The Bath Priory, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear Everhopeful598,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write sucha lovely review of the Bath Priory hotel. I am very glad that you both had such a good time. I am sorry that there was not a great deal of room for afternoon tea for you but it just shows how popular Sam's full afternoon tea is, especially the carrot cake that has a high icing to cake ratio. We look forward to welcoming you both back in the near future.
Simon Franks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
213 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

Ok a bit pricey but really worth every penny. Trust the chef, trust the sommelier, they know their food and wines. This was our third visit and none has disappointed. The restaurant is just superb and heading towards that star.

The hotel rooms are also lovely. We like old and antique, if you like modern bedrooms then stay elsewhere. We do like modern bathrooms with great showers. All three rooms we have tried so far have had them!

Go for it despite the price looking high it is worth it

Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Sagsma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathpriory, General Manager at The Bath Priory, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear Sagsma,
Thank you for your kind review of the Bath Priory. It is always nice when guests put their faith in both the chefs and the sommeliers. They are both passionate and talented and always looking to improve. I am very pleased to say that since your visit in February we have been awarded our first Michelin star, as predicted by you. As you can imagine we are very proud.
Simon Franks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sorrento, Italy
Level Contributor
380 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We visited the Priory in August and were extremely disappointed after our visit in May. Having expressed our views to the management, give them their due, they did offer us a complimentary stay in December.

Once again the staff were fantastic, but regrettably the romm, described as "Superior" and costine over £300 for 1 night, was unspectacular. I think the hotel rleis on the , obvious, large number of overseas guests, possibly blown away with everything old.

The food was good, but the portions were terribly small, and liking to what gave nouvelle cuisine its bad name. I felt hungryat the end of the evening. My "main" course consisted of a quite small sea bass fillet resting on 2 very small pieces of parsnip, with a spoonfull of sauce.

Having to pay for the use of wifi is unacceptable.

I am very sad that after our first visit thr susequent visits have been so disappointing. I visit Bath several times a year and was hoping to make this a regular stay. Sadly I will not be using this Hotel and restaurant again

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Theenglishcritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.6 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
1.7 mi away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.9 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#12 of 35 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,337 reviews
2.2 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bath Priory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bath Priory

Property: The Bath Priory
Address: Weston Road, Bath BA1 2XT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 35 Hotels in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Bath Priory 5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled within four acres of mature award-winning gardens and spacious terraces, The Bath Priory sets itself apart as a peaceful haven in a bustling city. The Georgian house of honey-coloured Bath stone enjoys a tranquil location just a short walk through Royal Victoria Park to Bath’s city centre and is proud to hold the city’s only Michelin Star for its exceptional cuisine. The award-winning spa has a selection of luxurious treatments, an indoor pool, pool-side sauna, elliptical steam pod and shower. From the moment you enter The Garden Spa by L’OCCITANE, fragrances transport you to Provence; the escape begins with scent. Every gesture, every ingredient, every ritual is drawn from a page of the L’OCCITANE grand herbarium, a resource of hundreds of essential oils and natural ingredients. Steeped in Roman history, the city of Bath is a UNESCO World Heritage site. The Roman Baths, Pump Rooms and Theatre Royal are noteworthy highlights alongside the city’s architectural merits including the Royal Crescent and The Circus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Agoda, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Bath Priory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing