We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Times gone by”
Review of The Bath Priory

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Bath Priory
Ranked #11 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We stayed for one night at the Bath Priory to celebrate a friend's birthday, which was a very special time. The hotel was like an old country house with high ceilings, lots of pictures, antiques and plenty of big comfortable chairs and settees. The service of the staff was outstanding and as others have said, the attention to detail was first class. Our room was huge with a gigantic bed which was turned down in the evening with a tray with slippers etc placed on top. Would have been good to have had tea making facilities, but would probably be out of place here. Food was excellent. Spent an hour in the pool which was fabulous. Short 15 min walk to the centre of Bath. If you want that special "upper class" hotel with the "silver service" and to feel like lord and lady of the manor, then this is the place!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janette56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,386)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,047 - 1,053 of 1,386 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights in October and were given a beautiful room in the main house ( Lavender )!!!!!!!! My word that bathroom .... Pure luxury and the most comfy bed.

There were no faults at all everything was just perfect from Mags on Reception a true gem to the room service staff who brought breakfast to our room on both mornings Thank you so much we were spoilt.

Afternoon tea was lovely, the grounds beautiful and the spa was wonderful. We went to spend some time alone and get away to chill out a bit and all was perfect.

The walk to bath through the park is lovely it takes about 20 mins to get into Bath so park your car up and leave it. We ate at Jamie's on the second night as per Bath Priory staff recommendation and a true delight Thank you.

We didn't eat in the restaurant as the price was a little to high but I'm sure it would have been lovely.

If you want to get away from everything, chill out and relax then this is the place to be nothing was any trouble to the fantastic and professional staff a real treat. Thank you to you all !!!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kazza2912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

My friend and I spent two spa days at the Bath Priory.
The hotel is has a lovely old feel to it and the gardens are wonderful.
Our treatments were very good and worth the money. The purpose built treatment rooms certainly added to the professionalism of the place.
Only one tiny niggle...there are no tea making facilities in the room. We did ring and get a tray of tea one morning but were unsure if we had been charged for it or not, so didn't repeat our request.
The staff are very tentative and genuine in their wish to make our stay a good one.

Room Tip: Ask for a room over looking the garden, as the adjacent road is busy in the mornings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jueb0bs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Where do I begin? We've only been here once before and that was some time ago, but we were greeted with, 'Welcome back." by the charming receptionist. Our dietary preferences had been kept on file and little things said or done made us feel very special.
Let's be honest, this is a fairly pricey place to stay, but we chose to stay one night at Bath Priory rather than two elsewhere. Why? Because any time spent here is just so relaxing. You feel calm and chilled straight away. The staff are amazing, the food is tremendous, the grounds are just glorious. It's the attention to detail that never fails to delight me. Even the turndown service is a joy and whoever worked their magic when we were at dinner had clearly thought things through and was absolutely meticulous.
The comment card left in our room invited us to feed back to the management any areas we felt could be improved upon. In most other hotels even a generous soul would be able to jot down two or three things. But I genuinely struggled. " Just stay the way you are!" was my first thought. Sounds easy, but I'm sure the effort that goes into reaching the standards Bath Priory achieves is not quite as effortless as it appears to be.

Room Tip: The reception staff are so helpful it's a good idea to call and ask their advice. They do have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ReviewerCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We loved the tranquility of this hotel - on the outskirts of Bath but really peaceful. The gardens are beautifully laid out with lots of interesting features, and the house is full of antiques and comfortable sofas. The service is outstanding, with a high ratio of staff who are all willing to help you. The restaurant is superb with a good variety of menus to choose from, and it was nice to be able to try some more unusual foods.
We will definitely return to this hotel, maybe at a different time of the year to see how the garden changes with the seasons.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank loveholidays111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Stayed here for one night on 29th September 2012. As soon as we arrived I knew we had made the right choice of hotel! Staff treat you like royalty; very professional, well trained and polite. Beautiful, large room; decor and furniture were classic, luxurious and full of character. Complete with complimentary welcome package, L'occitane toiletries, robe and slippers. Extremely comfortable bed resulting in quite possibly the best night's sleep I have ever had! Would definitely return just for the bed alone! Unfortunately, we didn't have time to eat dinner in the restaurant but ate breakfast the following morning, which again was up there with the best I had ever eaten (see photo of eggs benedict!) Not too far a walk from the city centre, can walk through Royal Victoria Park which is lovely. I can't fault anything about our stay here, apart from I wish we'd stayed longer and used all of the facilities that this hotel had to offer. If you're visiting Bath, stay here! I will definitely be returning in the future!

Room Tip: Stay for longer than one night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roxanne Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I have had my eyes opened with this fabulous hotel. ULTIMATE LUXURY! Never before have I experienced service like this. From the outset our Bath Priory experience was 5 star. The staff can;t do enough to help and they are obviously extremely well trained and enjoy what they do. Housekeeping service top notch. We especially enjoyed the A La Carte Signature menu with fabulous advice from Sommelier, Alex, who picked the perfect wines for each course!

You must have the afternoon tea if you go there! Truly scumptious!

Amazing hotel

Room Tip: choose a room at the back of the hotel overlooking the gardens. These rooms are quieter too
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lazza51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.7 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
1.1 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
1.7 mi away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
2.2 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
0.6 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bath Priory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bath Priory

Address: Weston Road, Bath BA1 2XT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Price Range: $206 - $558 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Bath Priory 5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled within four acres of mature award-winning gardens and spacious terraces, The Bath Priory sets itself apart as a peaceful haven in a bustling city. The Georgian house of honey-coloured Bath stone enjoys a tranquil location just a short walk through Royal Victoria Park to Bath’s city centre and is proud to hold the city’s only Michelin Star for its exceptional cuisine. The award-winning spa has a selection of luxurious treatments, an indoor pool, pool-side sauna, elliptical steam pod and shower. From the moment you enter The Garden Spa by L’OCCITANE, fragrances transport you to Provence; the escape begins with scent. Every gesture, every ingredient, every ritual is drawn from a page of the L’OCCITANE grand herbarium, a resource of hundreds of essential oils and natural ingredients. Steeped in Roman history, the city of Bath is a UNESCO World Heritage site. The Roman Baths, Pump Rooms and Theatre Royal are noteworthy highlights alongside the city’s architectural merits including the Royal Crescent and The Circus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Otel, Agoda, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Bath Priory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing