We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Very Special Place.”
Review of The Bath Priory

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Bath Priory
Ranked #11 of 31 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
South Wales
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“A Very Special Place.”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Where do I begin? We've only been here once before and that was some time ago, but we were greeted with, 'Welcome back." by the charming receptionist. Our dietary preferences had been kept on file and little things said or done made us feel very special.
Let's be honest, this is a fairly pricey place to stay, but we chose to stay one night at Bath Priory rather than two elsewhere. Why? Because any time spent here is just so relaxing. You feel calm and chilled straight away. The staff are amazing, the food is tremendous, the grounds are just glorious. It's the attention to detail that never fails to delight me. Even the turndown service is a joy and whoever worked their magic when we were at dinner had clearly thought things through and was absolutely meticulous.
The comment card left in our room invited us to feed back to the management any areas we felt could be improved upon. In most other hotels even a generous soul would be able to jot down two or three things. But I genuinely struggled. " Just stay the way you are!" was my first thought. Sounds easy, but I'm sure the effort that goes into reaching the standards Bath Priory achieves is not quite as effortless as it appears to be.

Room Tip: The reception staff are so helpful it's a good idea to call and ask their advice. They do have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ReviewerCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    945
    230
    97
    29
    15
See reviews for
239
834
17
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We loved the tranquility of this hotel - on the outskirts of Bath but really peaceful. The gardens are beautifully laid out with lots of interesting features, and the house is full of antiques and comfortable sofas. The service is outstanding, with a high ratio of staff who are all willing to help you. The restaurant is superb with a good variety of menus to choose from, and it was nice to be able to try some more unusual foods.
We will definitely return to this hotel, maybe at a different time of the year to see how the garden changes with the seasons.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loveholidays111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Stayed here for one night on 29th September 2012. As soon as we arrived I knew we had made the right choice of hotel! Staff treat you like royalty; very professional, well trained and polite. Beautiful, large room; decor and furniture were classic, luxurious and full of character. Complete with complimentary welcome package, L'occitane toiletries, robe and slippers. Extremely comfortable bed resulting in quite possibly the best night's sleep I have ever had! Would definitely return just for the bed alone! Unfortunately, we didn't have time to eat dinner in the restaurant but ate breakfast the following morning, which again was up there with the best I had ever eaten (see photo of eggs benedict!) Not too far a walk from the city centre, can walk through Royal Victoria Park which is lovely. I can't fault anything about our stay here, apart from I wish we'd stayed longer and used all of the facilities that this hotel had to offer. If you're visiting Bath, stay here! I will definitely be returning in the future!

Room Tip: Stay for longer than one night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roxanne Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I have had my eyes opened with this fabulous hotel. ULTIMATE LUXURY! Never before have I experienced service like this. From the outset our Bath Priory experience was 5 star. The staff can;t do enough to help and they are obviously extremely well trained and enjoy what they do. Housekeeping service top notch. We especially enjoyed the A La Carte Signature menu with fabulous advice from Sommelier, Alex, who picked the perfect wines for each course!

You must have the afternoon tea if you go there! Truly scumptious!

Amazing hotel

Room Tip: choose a room at the back of the hotel overlooking the gardens. These rooms are quieter too
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lazza51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
preston
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We returned to The Bath Priory for our second visit,and another great experience.The staff,and rooms are all with out doubt first class.Not stuffy or pretentious just well trained staff at their best We ate in one night and the food and ambience perfect..We swam in the out door pool,and it was super warm,the gardens are a joy even this time of year.Hope to save up and return soon Thanks.

Room Tip: We have stayed in both classic and superior rooms both really lovely and spacious with good bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank francescPreston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
336 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

You get what you pay for and this was no exception at the Priory. The staff from check in to leaving were very attentive and responsive. This was the end of our week of biking and week of walking the Cotswold Way so luxury was in order. It was such a civilized stay. The room was gorgeous and the mattress was perfect after staying at standard and sub standard places. The floor was wood which took care of worn out , dirty carpets. The bathroom was spacious and had lovely amenities. Plenty of fresh towels and a soaking tub for my aching legs and sore feet. We had dinner reservations there for both nights. Prior to dinner we were seated in the study or library and had drinks and canapés. Looking out onto the garden was very relaxing. Each night the dinner was great, well prepared and excellently served. We ate in plenty of places in our three week stay and The Priory gets it right. The breakfasts were very good with a nice cooked with plenty of options.
Every person that we came into contact with were charming and delightful. I had a deep tissue by Emily that relieved my aching muscles. She is much stronger than she looks and her massage was much needed. Only negative comment I would make about the spa was that the music was too loud during the treatment. Everything was clean and tidy.
The location is perfect and very residential. It was quiet and yes there is a school somewhere in the background. My husband and I prefer the windows open and enjoy the sounds of laughing children which ended by the late afternoon and we are in our sixties. The walk into Bath is an easy 20 minutes through some lovely parks.
I hated to leave this lovely property and will always remember our time there. I would not hesitate to recommend The Bath Priory.

Room Tip: We stayed in Morgina and found it to be lovely and overlooking a part of the secluded gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Popeyebird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Yesterday we visited The Bath Priory Hotel for afternoon tea. The sandwiches were delicious, the scones excellent, the cakes very yummy and the fruit tartlets to die for. We were offered a choice of teas and decided on the Darjeeling.
The staff were most friendly and efficient. The atmosphere was relaxed and gentile. Yes we will be back! Perhaps next time we will have a slightly larger table to cope with all the good things served.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen2006-10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.6 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
1.1 mi away
Villa at Henrietta Park
1.7 mi away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
2.2 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
0.6 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bath Priory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bath Priory

Property: The Bath Priory
Address: Weston Road, Bath BA1 2XT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 31 Hotels in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Bath Priory 5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled within four acres of mature award-winning gardens and spacious terraces, The Bath Priory sets itself apart as a peaceful haven in a bustling city. The Georgian house of honey-coloured Bath stone enjoys a tranquil location just a short walk through Royal Victoria Park to Bath’s city centre and is proud to hold the city’s only Michelin Star for its exceptional cuisine. The award-winning spa has a selection of luxurious treatments, an indoor pool, pool-side sauna, elliptical steam pod and shower. From the moment you enter The Garden Spa by L’OCCITANE, fragrances transport you to Provence; the escape begins with scent. Every gesture, every ingredient, every ritual is drawn from a page of the L’OCCITANE grand herbarium, a resource of hundreds of essential oils and natural ingredients. Steeped in Roman history, the city of Bath is a UNESCO World Heritage site. The Roman Baths, Pump Rooms and Theatre Royal are noteworthy highlights alongside the city’s architectural merits including the Royal Crescent and The Circus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, LateRooms, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Bath Priory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing