We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“5 Star stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Bath Priory

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Bath Priory
Ranked #11 of 35 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“5 Star stay”
Reviewed September 24, 2011

We had a lovely stay here for our 14th Anniversary. The service was exceptional and the food was superb. We enjoyed the Tasting and Signature menus both of which were an experience (white beef and poached strawberries particularly amazing). Upgraded to the Geranium room which was very comfortable. This is technically a 4 star hotel but should be a 5 star in our view and a Michelin star cannot be long in coming. Had a brilliant stay at the Bath Spa hotel for our 10th Anniversary but this was even better. This may well be the best hotel in Bath. Faultless.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SIMON K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline B, Manager at The Bath Priory, responded to this review, October 7, 2011
We were delighted to receive this wonderful review on trip advisor and would like to thank the author for such glowing feedback particularly regarding the food and service. I am delighted to confirm that since this review was written we have been awarded 5 AA stars and a Gold Award and five stars from Visit England following their recent assesment. We very much hope to have the pleasure of welcoming these guests back to The Bath Priory for a future celebration.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    890
    213
    90
    26
    14
See reviews for
224
774
16
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cotswolds
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2011

Stayed for one night to celebrate our wedding anniversary. Lovely spacious room with wondefully comfortable large bed and balcony overlooking the garden. Garden was a delight to walk round, beautifully kept with specimen trees and flower beds. Managed a swim before dinner in the warm indoor pool. Also a a heated outdoor pool but not brave enough to sample the cool English summer weather on the way to the pool. We had drinks in the lounge before a memorable dinner in the delightful dining room. Cost an arm and a leg but all good quality. Not a rip off. Only criticism : no fresh bread rolls for breakfast.

Room Tip: Book an upgraded room throug a late rooms web site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HelenCotswolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2011

I visited Bath for one night.

My stay got off to a good start when my room was upgraded. The staff were courteous and helpful and did their best to put guests at ease. I did not feel at all uncomfortable which can sometimes be the case in high-end establishments.

It is a clean, quiet hotel, a little way out of the centre. The hotel is set in beautiful grounds.

The town centre can be reached easily by a pleasant walk through the local park, past the Royal Crescent, though people may want to consider a taxi for the return trip as the hill is quite steep.

There is a lovely spa with pool, steam room and sauna, we visited before an evening out in Bath and had the whole place to ourselves. The hotel also has an outdoor swimming pool.

The only meal I had in the hotel was breakfast, served in a dining room overlooking the garden, which was lovely.

Overall, although quite expensive, I definitely felt it was worth it and would certainly return if ever visiting Bath again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sadtocomehome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colwyn Bay, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 18, 2011

We only stayed for one night but wish that we had booked to stay longer. Our room was extremely comfortable and beautifully furnished, views of the lovely gardens from the windows and balcony. We enjoyed walking around the beautifully maintained gardens and vegetable patch and then enjoyed a swim in the heated outdoor pool. Dinner was excellent, the staff were discreet, courteous and very attentive. The food itself was excellent - the dining area is intimate and every effort is made to ensure that guests are given privacy at their table. Breakfast was equally good with a very extensive choice. In all, a very pleasant experience in a lovely and well-run hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melanie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2011

Stayed for one night for our silver wedding anniversary. What can I say but what a amazing experience, from checkin to leaving. The staff where very attentive, nothing was to much trouble. Our room had nice little touches candles nd Rose petals and a card wishing us a happy anniversary. We also had treatments in the spa glad we booked them in advance as they get very booked. The treatments were great felt very relaxed. I would recommend this hotel for celebrating any special occasion as they make you feel so special.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simoney62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2011

Where to begin? First of all my sister and I came here hoping for a lovely get away we would never forget. Well, we will certainly never forget it but not for the reasons we had hoped. The stay started all right with the staff being reasonably courteous and the rooms are clean and neat. We did notice a strong and prevaling odor of cow manuer throughout the hotel, however apparently this region is famous for it's dairy products so we tried to ignore it. The spa facilities are nice although they close at 8 pm so you can't use them after dinner. Our main mistake was eating dinner at the hotel. We chose the signature menu not knowing that it would take 30 min for each course to be prepared and there were 9 courses! The food was tiny and pretentious and we found it very difficult to understand our waiter who had a thick French accent (as do most of the staff.) Finally after 2 1/2 hours we couldn't take it anymore and asked if we could just skip to dessert. This request caused much consternation amongst the staff, apparently they couldn't imagine why we didn't want to sit there for 3 more hours eating tiny, odd tasting food. It was a truly awful experience and I will never repeat it. I'm sure there are people whose palates are refined enough to appreciate this kind of food but I am not one of them. All I could see was that I paid over 200£ for an amount of food I could fit in the palm of my hand and it didn't even taste very good. If you are posh enough to enjoy arrogant staff, tiny, nasty, expensive food and the smell of cow manure, then by all means, go to the Bath Priory. If you would rather stay someplace you actually feel welcome and enjoy a good meal then I recommend you avoid it.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank vangiekitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline B, Manager at The Bath Priory, responded to this review, September 16, 2011
As a business who care tremendously about our guests experience, we always treat guests feedback as jewels that are given to us so we can look to improve our offering. I do however, have to say that this review lost me when I read the sentence that included “nasty food” Sam Moody is a talented chef and although his food may not have been to these ladies taste it could never be labelled “nasty”, please see previous reviews for a more balanced view. It would be impossible for a 30 minute delay in between each course, if this was to be the case we would still have a full restaurant at midnight. Our restaurant service under the direction of Restaurant Manager, Anca Harlow is often described as many things including sincere, professional, unobtrusive and genuine, arrogance is a word that is never used by our guests. Our Restaurant team care very much about each and every one of our guests dining experience. Our situation is just outside of Bath and several miles away from the nearest farm in my nine years of being at The Bath Priory, I have never been witness to an overbearing smell of cow manure. Our hotel was obviously not to these ladies liking which is such a shame as this was an important part of their vacation, I would however, encourage you to read on through the many reviews where we have exceeded guests expectations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Mids
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2011

Stayed for a weekend with my wife and really enjoyed the hotel. Lovely buildings, lovely setting. The room was nice and spacious and had a great view of the gardens. Staff were all very friendly and helpful.
Two niggles- Dinner wasn't fantastic. Not bad, but not fantastic. Good food, but the whole experience wasn't the standard I was expecting. Considering they make a big thing of their restaurant.
There's no air-con in the hotel and it did get very hot in the room and the restaurant. I assume they can't do anything about this, so it seems churlish to complain about it, but it was hot and they have fans dotted around everywhere which doesn;t look the best.
Would absolutely recommend it though. One of the nicest hotels we've stayed in, in the area.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fickleWestMids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.7 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
1.7 mi away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#12 of 35 in Bath
1,319 reviews
1.0 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
1.4 mi away
The Ayrlington
The Ayrlington
#9 of 35 in Bath
1,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bath Priory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bath Priory

Property: The Bath Priory
Address: Weston Road, Bath BA1 2XT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 35 Hotels in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Bath Priory 5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled within four acres of mature award-winning gardens and spacious terraces, The Bath Priory sets itself apart as a peaceful haven in a bustling city. The Georgian house of honey-coloured Bath stone enjoys a tranquil location just a short walk through Royal Victoria Park to Bath’s city centre and is proud to hold the city’s only Michelin Star for its exceptional cuisine. The award-winning spa has a selection of luxurious treatments, an indoor pool, pool-side sauna, elliptical steam pod and shower. From the moment you enter The Garden Spa by L’OCCITANE, fragrances transport you to Provence; the escape begins with scent. Every gesture, every ingredient, every ritual is drawn from a page of the L’OCCITANE grand herbarium, a resource of hundreds of essential oils and natural ingredients. Steeped in Roman history, the city of Bath is a UNESCO World Heritage site. The Roman Baths, Pump Rooms and Theatre Royal are noteworthy highlights alongside the city’s architectural merits including the Royal Crescent and The Circus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Bath Priory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing