We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Place”
Review of Highways House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Highways House
Ranked #53 of 157 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 19, 2006

My wife and I spent a night at Highways House during the second week of August. The lady of the house, Judith, is an absolute treat. She very willingly gave us a map and explained how to get downtown. She made sure to book us for breakfast - Excellent. The room was outstanding and the bed and shower were first rate (best we had in England). We felt that we received great value for our money (remember that the Pound costs us more than $2 Canadian). The location was great (an easy downhill walk to the town centre. Walking home was a steep but gradual walk. Breakfast was great - lots to eat did not leave hungry. We wished that we could have stayed longer but did enjoy our selves. Thanks Judith!

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank burke30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (195)
There are newer reviews for Highways House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

166 - 172 of 195 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2006

It was a bit of a shock on arrival to discover that since booking less than three weeks earlier the ownership had changed. The new owner works in London during the week, and the staff who used to cover the weekends are now responsible for running the guesthouse on weekdays.
The hospitality tray was less generous than we have experienced in comparable establishments, but extra teabags and UHT milk were provided on request.
A major disappointment was the breakfast, and it looks as if some economies have been made. Produce is said to be locally sourced where possible, but the sausages must, in this case, have been sourced locally at the cash and carry, because they were of poor catering quality. During our five-day stay the quality of the fruit salad deteriorated, and by the end appeared to have come straight out of a tin. Butter was not one of the options on the table.
While the accommodation was spotless, replenishment of supplies was hit and miss. Some days we were provided with a face flannel each, other days there was only one. Sometimes used shampoo and shower gel sachets were not replaced, and, on our last night the remaining bar of soap had been removed. We had to manage without as the staff had gone off duty by the time we realised.
These were the problems, but it is important to record that the bed was comfortable and we much enjoyed the delightful guest lounge and its books.
Teething problems are only to be expected when an establishment changes hands, but it seems that supervision of room service and quality of food will need to improve to merit the AA four red diamonds status held by the previous owners.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ClintonDavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2006

This is a great mid-budget option for staying in Bath. The owners were fantastic, the rooms are large and neat, and breakfast was brilliant. There's a bit of a walk up the hill to get there, but getting away from the crush of the main streets in town was welcome. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Case12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1031
Reviewed November 19, 2005

  • Stayed: October 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
St. Louis, Missouri
14
Reviewed November 18, 2005

We only had one night in Bath last week and could not have been more pleased with Highways House. Lovely property, very comfortable rooms, very clean and immaculate, friendly and very helpful hosts! You can't go wrong here. You would truly be hard-pressed to find a better B & B!

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Louisville, Kentucky
12
Reviewed November 3, 2005

2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2005

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Columella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.6 mi away
Bay Tree House
Bay Tree House
#48 of 157 in Bath
237 reviews
0.0 mi away
Leighton Townhouse
Leighton Townhouse
#6 of 157 in Bath
1,648 reviews
1.5 mi away
High Beeches
High Beeches
#15 of 157 in Bath
800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Beech Cottage B&B
Beech Cottage B&B
#24 of 157 in Bath
227 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grays Boutique B&B
Grays Boutique B&B
#10 of 157 in Bath
975 reviews
0.5 mi away
2 Crescent Gardens
2 Crescent Gardens
#16 of 157 in Bath
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highways House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highways House

Address: 143 Wells Road, Bath BA2 3AL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 157 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range: $118 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Highways House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Highways House, built in 1874, is a 5 room (all en suite) guest house. We are ten minutes walk into the city centre (Roman Baths, Bath Abbey, etc) and the return journey is a little uphill towards the end. We are on a main bus & cab route, and well away from the city centre's noisy pubs and clubs that are so busy at weekends. We pride ourselves on our cleanliness and friendliness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Highways House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highways House Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing