We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old fashioned service with pristine cleanliness”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tasburgh House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tasburgh House
Ranked #7 of 35 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Old fashioned service with pristine cleanliness”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014 via mobile

We visited Tasburgh in 2007 and looked forward to our return trip (Apr 2014). We were not disappointed. We had a small double room (Hardy room) on the ground floor. Views from the bedroom across Tasburgh's 4 acres of sloping grass to the river and beyond to Bath city were spectacular. The room was immaculately clean, with the largest and fluffiest towels known to man, and crisp white laundered sheets (looked like they were straight from a professional laundry). This is not a budget establishment, but then neither is the standard or service. Others have suggested this is a B&B charging hotel prices while not including the cooked breakfast. Leaving aside definitions, we felt 100% satisfied and would cheerfully return again because of the location, presentation, delightful continental breakfast, and a staff and owner that we have never seen bettered.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

878 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    704
    114
    36
    15
    9
See reviews for
181
440
38
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014

The Tasburg House is an amazing place, in the middle of a green hill but just 15mins walk away from Bath city center, I found this really cool. The spirit of the house is really positive and the owner and team are just great. I have no doubts around this selection, I´ll repeat if again in the area.

Room Tip: The House is a 3 level house, they have entrance level rooms though the stairs are not a big deal
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pepe A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

I was very impressed by the staff, very good customer service! Something that you will not experience in 99% of the hotels in London. Excellent breakfast. The room was very spacious and has a really nice and romantic atmosphere. Will be definetly back. Thank you!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClaireGrundy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

This Hotel/Guest House offers first class service for a very reasonable price. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff and the rooms and gardens are lovely. The location close to the Kennet and Avon Canal would be brilliant in good weather and allows you to walk along the tow path into the city. We both considered that this was one of the best places we have stayed in the UK.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frodsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2014

My wife and I have just enjoyed a four day, three night break, in Bath. The hotel came very well recommended and I have to say, lived up to its description. Probably the best city break I have ever taken and the Hotel was likewise the best. Sue and her team couldn't do enough to make sure our time was perfect.

We thoroughly recommend this hotel and the staff. Would definitely visit again.

Room Tip: We had the room on the first floor overlooking the garden. A Super king. Beautiful view to wake up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BMDCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

We had a delightful stay, personal service, we arrived late and with low blood sugar, having missed lunch and very quickly had some good sandwiches and delightful cakes served in our room- we could have had these outside if we had wished. The house and grounds are exceptionally well maintained, cleanliness and order,and lovely first rate bedlinen and fluffy white towels. Comfortable bed, very good choice of tea/coffees in the room, and perfect china.
the breakfast was very good, exceptional croissants made IN HOUSE as are all the cakes, so fresh and light, unusually good even in a five star hotel these would be worthy of comment. Our room (the Blue Room) was charming, but the ensuite shower might be too small for some. It was fine for us, with a good rate of flow(can't bear drizzly showers) and lovely and hot. The starf were charming and very discreet, quiet and polite, and always remembered what kind of tea we preferred , etc. Would definitely stay there again. and recommend. We dined at the Bathhampton Mill, be sure to book, very competent modern food and old favourites well done too. eat early as it is very popular.

Room Tip: rooms on the south may have a view over the fields and canal if prefrred-ask
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsMollusc16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

I've just arrived home having left Sue and her wonderful team at Tasburgh House this morning and feel compelled to write this review immediately. From the moment I called Sue to enquire about a group booking, I knew I was in safe hands. NOTHING is too much trouble. This is 5 star service but on a delightfully small and personal level! The 6 bedrooms we booked were all charming - as soon as we arrived, everyone was commenting they'd definitely like to return and will recommend the place to family and friends. The beds are beyond comfortable and dressed with with top quality linen...happily the struggle of getting up was more than compensated for by the delicious continental and beautifully cooked full English breakfasts (all delivered with excellent service and a smile)! We loved the beautiful communal rooms, fabulous garden terraces (Sue obviously has wonderful taste) and the location is perfect for a stay in Bath; it's close and a really very lovely walk along the canal to the town centre. We were also lucky to experience an evening BBQ that was so super and once again cooked to perfection. THANK YOU to all at Tasburgh House - this was a special occasion for us and you couldn't have done anything more to make our stay perfect!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
2.6 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
0.9 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 35 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,203 reviews
1.4 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#12 of 35 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,322 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
0.9 mi away
The Ayrlington
The Ayrlington
#10 of 35 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tasburgh House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tasburgh House

Property: Tasburgh House
Address: Warminster Road, Bath BA2 6SH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bath
#5 Family Hotel in Bath
#6 Luxury Hotel in Bath
#8 Business Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Tasburgh House 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly situated, Tasburgh House offers idyllic countryside tranquility, with the liveliness of Bath just on it's doorstep. The five star Victorian Boutique Hotel boasts stunning accommodation and the views over the rolling Somerset hills are equally as magnificent. Guests can walk through the seven acres of beautiful gardens and terraces and access the canal tow path, leading into the Heritage City of Bath. Tasburgh House is the home of affordable luxury, where no request is too much for the friendly and welcoming staff. You arrive as a guest and leave as a friend. A light and seasonal supper menu is served daily. Evening meals can be taken in the restaurant or out on the terraces (weather permitting!) The hotel offers free WiFi, and stocks an impressive range of drinks to be enjoyed anywhere on the premises. Your stay at Tasburgh House is guaranteed to be a peaceful and memorable one. All rooms host extremely comfortable beds, powerful showers and luxurious towels. Staff are always on hand to offer advice, book taxis or recommend restaurants. Call direct for the best available rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Tasburgh House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tasburgh House Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing