We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden Gem.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tasburgh House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tasburgh House
Ranked #6 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

This was a terrific 'find'. From all the hotels in Bath, we managed to find the best. Everything was perfect from the warmth of the greeting on our arrival, to the continual concern for our welbeing and comfort during our stay and the stunning decor.
The shower room contained the softest and largest towels we have ever encountered in a hotel, the bed was huge and comfortable and the level of attention to detail faultless.
It was also a very lovely walk into town, through their extensive gardens leading down to the Kennet and Avon towpath, through Stanley Gardens and into the middle of the City.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bakery97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

861 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    690
    112
    35
    15
    9
See reviews for
179
425
38
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stoke
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

We spent last weekend in Bath (a surprise for my birthday), and my partner had booked us in to stay at Tasburgh (pronounced Tase-Borough in case you were wondering!) House.
I can honestly say that of all the hotels I've ever stayed - and there have been a few - the welcome we received at Tasburgh House was the warmest. Our room (Keats) was fabulous, with views overlooking the terrace, the gardens and Bath itself and to say we were delighted is an understatement.
The staff were friendly, helpful and courteous to a fault and nothing was too much trouble for them.
The room, the hotel itself and the breakfasts were all first rate, and I would like to take this opportunity to thank Sue and her staff for making us feel so welcome and ensuring that our stay in Bath was definitely one to remember.

I have read a lot of the other reviews of this hotel and I really feel that some people seem to have been deliberately nit-picking. Yes, the hotel isn't in the centre of Bath, but it DOES say that on their site and literature, and it is only a 20 minute walk into the city itself, and if you go through the gardens and along the canal it is a lovely walk - even in November/December. And by being outside of the city centre you have the added benefit of ample parking.
Another point that struck me was that another guest was complaining that he was still waiting for the cooked breakfast he'd only bothered to order 15 minutes earlier... We didn't have the cooked breakfast, but were perfectly aware that it was NOT standard fare and needed to be ordered specially, so if I HAD ordered a cooked breakfast - without specifying my request beforehand - I would be more than happy to wait for the staff to cook my meal fresh and from scratch. I guess you can't please all the people all the time, although from my own experience, the staff here come pretty close!

I would not hesitate to return here and look forward to going back in the summer, and likewise, wouldn't hesitate to recommend the hotel.

A very well deserved 5 stars from us!

Room Tip: If you're tall (I'm 6' 1") then you might want to let them know when you book, as s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 828Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

Sue and the team were helpful, polite and friendly. Nothing was too much effort and maps etc provided without request. Sue arranged chocolates for My fiancé at my request and added a little card for the birthday boy which made his day. Beautiful chocolates. Clean, warm, attractive rooms and a lovely hotel with quaint and quirky touches. Completely stunning views from every angle. Good breakfasts and perfect touches for your needs in the rooms. Lots of tea, sugar, coffee and toiletries, unlike most chain hotels where these are basic and limited. Linens in the rooms and at breakfast were gorgeously rich quality giving that luxurious feel. We will definitely be back. A place to park and a 20 minute walk into town was just perfect for us. Walk off all of those naughty meals and snacks in town. Plenty to choose from!
P. Stephenson

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephensonquinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

Beautiful house, a real pleasure to stay here, where every effort is made to get it right - attention to detail immaculate. Rooms all extremely comfortable, beautiful bedding and thickest of towels, all individually decorated and named after authors - I stayed in the Hardy room, looking out onto fountain and gardens, and across to the Bath landscape. Breakfast was in the conservatory looking onto the garden, and I particularly enjoyed their excellent Earl Grey tea from Gillard's. Nothing was too much trouble, and a warm welcome made this a memorable stay. I wouldn't want to stay anywhere else!

Room Tip: Talk to them about what you want before booking as the rooms are all different
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013

Really enjoyed the weekend at the Tasburgh, warm weather, nice breakfast, good service, fab views and a really lovely stroll along the pretty canal into the hub of Bath. Excellent, tried to book again but it is usually pretty full!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GuildfordTravelBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehorse, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

A lovely place to spend a mother-daughter weekend. A little pricey and a little far from the town centre for us as we were walking everywhere, but very welcoming, lovely location, good breakfast, pleasant, well-appointed room. (Loved the quality linens.)

Room Tip: House is on a busy street. Our room was quiet, away from traffic side. Probably best to ask for ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan K, Owner at Tasburgh House, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and that you liked your room. In spite of us being within walking distance of the City Centre, and set back from the road, of course you might think that the the traffic would disturb the guests. Actually all the rooms at the front of the property are triple glazed so, in fact, they are even quieter than those at the back. Needless to say, we really appreciate your comments and hope that we can entice you back one of these days
Sue Keeling - Proprietor Tasburgh House, Bath
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

Very well kept clean and romantic guesthouse! Nice owner, decent breakfast and well kept rooms! We stayed in the "John Keets" room and a man of over 6 foot like myself found it a little on the small side in the bathroom and the roof, but I'm sure not all the rooms are like this! If we return to bath we will definately stay here again! Lovely!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Simon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
2.6 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
0.9 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,185 reviews
1.4 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#10 of 34 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,312 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Ayrlington
The Ayrlington
#8 of 34 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,040 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tasburgh House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tasburgh House

Property: Tasburgh House
Address: Warminster Road, Bath BA2 6SH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bath
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bath
#5 Family Hotel in Bath
#8 Business Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Tasburgh House 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly situated, Tasburgh House offers idyllic countryside tranquility, with the liveliness of Bath just on it's doorstep. The five star Victorian Boutique Hotel boasts stunning accommodation and the views over the rolling Somerset hills are equally as magnificent. Guests can walk through the seven acres of beautiful gardens and terraces and access the canal tow path, leading into the Heritage City of Bath. Tasburgh House is the home of affordable luxury, where no request is too much for the friendly and welcoming staff. You arrive as a guest and leave as a friend. A light and seasonal supper menu is served daily. Evening meals can be taken in the restaurant or out on the terraces (weather permitting!) The hotel offers free WiFi, and stocks an impressive range of drinks to be enjoyed anywhere on the premises. Your stay at Tasburgh House is guaranteed to be a peaceful and memorable one. All rooms host extremely comfortable beds, powerful showers and luxurious towels. Staff are always on hand to offer advice, book taxis or recommend restaurants. Call direct for the best available rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Tasburgh House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tasburgh House Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing