We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend in Bath”
Review of Tasburgh House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tasburgh House
Ranked #5 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 7, 2013

We recently stayed at Tasburgh House and we'd thoroughly recommend it. The proprietor, Susan was extremely friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble. We had service with a smile. The room, although a little on the small size was very clean and comfortable and offered good views of the grounds and beyond. The breakfast was varied and there was something on offer for everyone from toast and continental, to full English, although we paid extra for this. We really enjoyed our stay and would return again, maybe in the summer next time.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan K, Owner at Tasburgh House, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2013

My staff and I are so glad that you enjoyed your stay. It is particularly pleasing to know when our guests have left with happy memories of both Tasburgh House and our lovely heritage city. Next time please try one of our Superior rooms which are larger than our standard rooms. Of course a little more expensive but worth it! Summer and better weather provide our guests the opportunity of sitting out on one of the terraces besides the fountain. Sipping a glass of bubbly and watching the boats go by is very relaxing at the end of a day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (951)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

665 - 671 of 951 reviews

Reviewed January 30, 2013

A charming and lovingly maintained building with equally as delightful hosts. The location is superb, complete with rolling lawns that offer access to a beatiful canal walk into the main Town Centre. Most traditional, but above all, very tranquil. I look forward to a return in the near future. 5**********

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emma-jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan K, Owner at Tasburgh House, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2013

Thank you for writing such a lovely review about Tasburgh House and your stay. My staff and I really want Tasburgh House to provide a comfortable and relaxing location to all our guests but feed back is always so important. Many thanks. We hope that we can entice you back to enjoy a few more walks in the gardens.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

This is a lovely spot, just a wee bit up the hill from the center of Bath. The home is beautiful -- it's easy to see that it's lovingly cared for. My single room was welcoming and cozy -- quiet and warm.

The continental style breakfast was plenty for me -- a full english breakfast is available, too. There is also a restaurant for other meals. The setting was both elegant and comfortable.

There is a large garden out back, an indoor garden room, and beautiful views down to the river and town.

I walked into town, and during my walk discovered a bus that I used to take me back up to the House in the evening. As a single, this was less expensive than a taxi.

When I return to Bath, will definitely stay here again. It felt like a country inn, but was right on top of town.

Room Tip: Although my room faced the road, the hotel is far enough off the road so that noise wasn't an is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank judyisreadytogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan K, Owner at Tasburgh House, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2013

Thank you so much for your beautifully written review in which you have made myself and my staff feel very comforted that you enjoyed both your stay and Tasburgh House. I just hope that you will come back again in the warmer times and be able to enjoy the terraces and gardens which lead down to the canal walk into Bath.Now that would be greatly appreciated by the ducks and swans (we'll give you left over breakfast crusts to take with you!)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Tasburgh House is a very comfortable and welcoming place to stay. It is very close to the centre of Bath and has lovely views of the town and the surrounding countryside from the back of the house and the garden. We were told that you can walk down the garden and along the canal into Bath's centre, although it was rather chilly so we opted for the car in the end! For visitors travelling from over seas, this would be an excellent place to stay as it really is very 'English'. It is charming, and little touches like the resident teddy bears and each room being named after a writer help to make your stay unique and memorable. Our room was clean and beautiful with the same homely feel as the rest of the house.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Emily T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Enjoyed a short stay recently, beautiful decor downstairs however our room had peeling wallpaper and a very basic bathroom. It was clean and the bed very comfortable. We arrived back at 10:45pm but felt guilty to ask for a drink as the House was so quiet, a more welcoming lounge would be nice if the Tasburgh wishes to call itself a hotel, after all, the pubs hadn't even closed! The breakfast was good so long as you like continental - sorry, £5 for egg on toast is ridiculous.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ags6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan K, Owner at Tasburgh House, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write this honest review even though we are very disappointed that your stay was not a perfect one. On arrival we try to isuggest to all our guests to tell us if there is ever a problem, no matter how small or large. Frankly, peeling paper is not what we would expect any guest to discover in a room. I wish you had mentioned this at the time of your stay. Our maintenance team would have dealt with it immediately. Although rooms are cleaned and checked EVERY day, I am sorry that sometimes things get missed. Also, we have a receptionist available long after midnight so on this occasion it was such a shame that there seemed to be no one around to look after you. Whilst we cannot be present at reception desk 24 hours per day, there is a bell beside the kitchen door to call from the hallway should a guest need anything at any time. It was clearly not sufficiently visible so we have made arrangements for our guests to ring from the lounge at any time, should we be attending other guests.I am so sorry your visit did not reach 10/10

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012 via mobile

Thanks to Sue and the team at the Tasburgh for hosting us. What a wonderful stay. The property is gorgeous, the rooms comfortable and beautifully decorated and the service second to none. I would highly recommend staying here ... I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank UKKiwi04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan K, Owner at Tasburgh House, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2012

It is always satisfying to hear that our guests are happy with their stay, as it is particularly motivating for my staff to know that their efforts are rewarded by satisfied customers. . The beauty of having Tasburgh House is that our location so close to Bath's Heritage city provides endless selections of things to do and see, not to mention our amazing mix of restaurants. Many thanks and we all hope that you will enjoy a peaceful and merry Christmas break. Thank you for taking the time to write this review and we hope that you will come back again very soon.
Susan K

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Outstanding hotel. Every assistance given to make the week end a great success.
Great breakfast. Fantastic staff.
Easy taxi journey in and out of Bath - next time I would not bother driving as trains from London are convenient

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Imelda186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.9 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
1,337 reviews
1 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
2.6 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Apex City of Bath Hotel
0.6 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
1.4 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tasburgh House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tasburgh House

Address: Warminster Road, Bath BA2 6SH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bath
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bath
#6 Business Hotel in Bath
Price Range: $194 - $269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Tasburgh House 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly situated on the doorstep of Bath, Tasburgh House offers affordable luxury and idyllic tranquility. The five star Victorian Boutique Hotel boasts stunning accommodation and the views over the rolling Somerset hills are equally as magnificent. Guests can walk through the seven acres of beautiful gardens and terraces and access the canal tow path, leading into the Heritage City of Bath. A light and seasonal supper menu is served Tuesday-Saturday evenings. The hotel offers free WiFi, and has a fully licensed bar for drinks to be enjoyed anywhere on the premises. Your stay at Tasburgh House is guaranteed to be a peaceful and memorable one. All rooms host extremely comfortable beds, powerful showers and luxurious towels. Staff are always on hand to offer advice, book taxis or recommend restaurants. Call direct for the best available rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tasburgh House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tasburgh House Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing