We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly recommend, beautiful and accomodating”
Review of Tasburgh House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tasburgh House
Ranked #7 of 35 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Highly recommend, beautiful and accomodating”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

The property cannot be more beautiful, it is close to the center of town and Sue is extremely warm and hospital. I would highly recommend this house to anyone. I travelled there alone and Sue made me quite comfortable. It would be very fun for a girls weekend or a couple.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

894 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    717
    117
    36
    15
    9
See reviews for
183
446
39
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canton of Zug, Switzerland
Level Contributor
398 reviews
167 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights in October, visiting my son at Bath Spa Uni.

The hotel is relatively easy to find, down a small drive on a main road.

The first thing you notice upon walking in is Sue, the owner. She is waiting for you with a genuinely friendly welcome, the keys and lots of advice on where to go and what to see. Sue remembers you and seems genuinely interested in what you are doing and does everything she can to help. I noticed the small boy in one family asking his Mom: "Where's Sue?" as they were leaving - now that's special.

The rooms are above average for a good English B&B. I have Room 14, a decent sized Double, with a view of the impressive garden. It welcomed me with a Teddy on the bed! Clean, roomy, with a good bathroom/shower, lots of hot water a (small) flat screen TV and free WiFi.

The bed was amazing. Maybe it was the jetlag but I slept VERY well.

The breakfast is really good. Go for the classic Full English. Poached eggs, toast, sausages, mushrooms, tomatoes and baked beans ... all perfectly cooked - not to the usual English over-cooked standards!

The only VERY minor niggle is there is no food available in the evenings, largely as Sue is left on her own then. If you want a snack, bring one along or visit one of the many nearby restaurants Sue recommends.

The location is good. A 20 minute walk along the picture perfect canal into Bath. I noticed 3 foxes playing in the garden when I was on an early morning walk.

I really enjoyed my stay here and will not hesitate to return when I visit my son again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark_from_Thailand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Tasburgh House is gorgeous and Sue was a superb host - very welcoming and eager to please. My room was well appointed and a decent size, with attention to detail and a lovely bathroom. The view from the terrace was gorgeous and you can walk down to the canal through the gardens at the rear of the house and from there into Bath. I had the continental breakfasts, which were excellent, with helpful attentive staff. I would love to stay there again. Thanks Sue.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brett P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk res
Level Contributor
299 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

A charming welcome from Sue ensures a very smooth stay.A reasonably sized bedroom well kitted-out.perhaps the bathroom could have been larger. A very good breakfast.Sue could not have been more helpful, with taxis etc...we will return.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kattyukres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reigate
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Two friends my wife and I spent the best two days at Tasburgh House ever. Sue our host was very attentive and caring to all our needs. The breakfast was just perfect especially for my wife who likes the continental way to start the day! One night we walked through the grounds of Tasburgh House along the river to Bath took about half an hour, you must do it! There is nothing negative to say about our stay, just perfect. We will try and return soon.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carl R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We have been visitng Bath a couple of days ago, just for one night (would like to have more time there!) and we stayed at the Tasburgh. Everything was excellent: the room, every other common place, the breakfast and what for us is very important: the kind, very kind, atittude of the people at the hotel that makes a huge difference. We felt that all the staff, like Susan the owner, Dalila at the reception desk, were always trying to help and solve our necessities. Would like to come back to Bath, a beatiful city with very nice people, and very specially to be back at the Tasburgh.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ivan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkenes
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Over the last 3-4 years my wife and I have visited Tasburgh house 3 times. Last time in august this year. Two years ago just the two of us, and the other times with our daughters.
All of us has been very impressed with the special house, the beautiful garden and surroundings with the perfect view over the city of Bath. Situated just where the city and the countryside meet.
The best thing though, is the friendly and and relaxed atmosphere.
We will definitly come back!!

As regards things to do and and places to eat in Bath, we have found this: the wisest is to follow Susans recommendations and let her do the organizing.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dagfinn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
4.0 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
2.4 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#1 of 35 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,226 reviews
2.6 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#12 of 35 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,337 reviews
2.9 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
2.2 mi away
The Ayrlington
The Ayrlington
#9 of 35 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tasburgh House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tasburgh House

Property: Tasburgh House
Address: Warminster Road, Bath BA2 6SH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bath
#5 Family Hotel in Bath
#6 Luxury Hotel in Bath
#8 Business Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Tasburgh House 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly situated, Tasburgh House offers idyllic countryside tranquility, with the liveliness of Bath just on it's doorstep. The five star Victorian Boutique Hotel boasts stunning accommodation and the views over the rolling Somerset hills are equally as magnificent. Guests can walk through the seven acres of beautiful gardens and terraces and access the canal tow path, leading into the Heritage City of Bath. Tasburgh House is the home of affordable luxury, where no request is too much for the friendly and welcoming staff. You arrive as a guest and leave as a friend. A light and seasonal supper menu is served daily. Evening meals can be taken in the restaurant or out on the terraces (weather permitting!) The hotel offers free WiFi, and stocks an impressive range of drinks to be enjoyed anywhere on the premises. Your stay at Tasburgh House is guaranteed to be a peaceful and memorable one. All rooms host extremely comfortable beds, powerful showers and luxurious towels. Staff are always on hand to offer advice, book taxis or recommend restaurants. Call direct for the best available rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Tasburgh House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tasburgh House Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing