We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb, homely,friendly,comfy,relaxing,a must for visitors to Bath”
Review of Tasburgh House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tasburgh House
Ranked #6 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb, homely,friendly,comfy,relaxing,a must for visitors to Bath”
Reviewed March 27, 2011

from the first contact to the time we handed our keys back to Sue nothing was too much trouble. It was our wedding anniversary and I wanted to choose somewhere with that personal touch. We got just that, Sue and Antonia have managed to make this weekend a special one for us. My wife had no idea where I was taking her and she was not disappointed.
The rooms were clean, comfortable and up to date the whole establishment was decorated and appointed to the highest standard. The staff were amazing very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Sue is very knowledgeable with regards to the local area and a great help during our stay.
We cannot fault the establishment for cleanliness service and food. Lovely location right near to the canal and a nice walk along the tow path into the beautiful city of Bath.
We will go to Bath again later this year and we will be booking again to stay at this wonderful place.
Thanks Sue and staff - will see you again - definitely we will recommend you to anyone planning a trip to your area.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DRUMMYP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

905 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    726
    118
    37
    15
    9
See reviews for
185
452
40
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2011

The service throughout our stay was great; the staff could not do enough for us. We had a lovely room on the top floor that was quiet, clean and very comfortable. One of the highlight for our 7 year old was "Charlie" the parrot in reception which kept him entertained for hours. The hotel is a short walk along the canal from town, which help to walk of the morning breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnthonyNF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2011

Very friendly and professional family run hotel in beautiful period residence. everything is immaculate and very well decorated. The room (Bronte) was of a fair size and the en suite compact and satisfactory. The hotel is spacious with wide corridors and staircase, lovely longe and dining areas and set in a traqnquil countryside position that is a 20 minute easy walk or £6 taxi ride into the city centre.

The owners and staff cannot do enough to welcome you and help you and the service is very personal making your stay special rather than just another customer.

Bath hotels are very expensive in comparison to other regions but you get free parking here as opposed to about £30+ overnight at city centre hotels. Continental breakfast is included and very nice and cooked breakfasts are available as an upgrade (offered at your table each morning), with good variety around £8 pp and of excellent quality. Compared to other Bath hotels I rate this as 5 for value.

Our room was very warm and may be over the kitchens? but the large sash windows open easily to allow fresh air in and there is no noticeable road noise. we could hear people in the room above banging luggage about a bit but otherwise the room has a very comfortable bed and bedding and good facilities.

Ovberall a lovely stay, highly recommend, big thank you to all the staff and I will stay here again when next in Bath.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jdm010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hong kong
2 reviews
Reviewed February 23, 2011

The owner of Tasburgh House , Sue, is the most amazing hostess. Nothing was too much trouble and everything was beautifully presented. The Contintental Breakfasts were splendid with very fresh fruit and hot croissants and we looked forward each evening to coffees around the sitting room fire. Sue had thoughtfully placed some suotable dvd's in our bedroom, which my children thouroughly enjoyed. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xxxHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 18, 2011

Susan and Jenny could not have made us more welcome.

We took a superior room on the top floor (room 11 Austin) which was spotlessly clean, well appointed and tastefully furnished. The large double bed was especially welcoming at the end of a long day and was oh so comfortable that a good nights sleep was virtually guaranteed. Pillows were soft and the down duvet absolute bliss.

Attention to detail abounds throughout - the quality of the fixtures and fittings is evident. Despite being at the top of the house the shower was powerful and delivered lots of invigorating piping hot water, and the towels were fluffy and even large enough to envelope my ample frame. The gift of soaps, shampoo and face cream was a nice touch.

Given that the bedroom was such a nice place to be it was no wonder we surfaced for breakfast (which is available between 8:30 and 10:00am) around 9:30. We found that the full English breakfast made with local produce well worth paying a little extra for - absolutely scrummy and washed down with pots of nice tea or coffee. No evening meals but Bath City Center is close has so many good places to eat that you are spoilt for choice.

Free on site car parking is available and I would suggest given the parking situation in the center of Bath that you leave your car behind and take a taxi into town - it costs less than £5 and take about 5 minutes.

We throughly enjoyed our stay and have no hesitation in recommending it to others. We fully intend staying there when we next return to Bath.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandraCatoGray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed January 30, 2011

Spent only one night at this lovely place but would really love to have spent more time there. The staff were so friendly and helpful. The room was lovely and the little touches of character (we loved the teddy bears!!) really added to the place. A little way from the centre of Bath but it is so easy to get into town and the peace and quiet was lovely.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samliptrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haywards Heath
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed December 28, 2010

We spent three nights at Tasburgh House to celebrate my wife's birthday. From the first phone call to Susan Keeling, there was that warm attitude of "nothing's too much trouble" - typical of the personal attention we received from Sue and Toni and the staff throughout our stay. Sue was very helpful when our daughter phoned to arrange for flowers to be delivered to our room, and in recommending a restaurant for a special birthday dinner. When we arrived, we were offered a choice of two rooms, and chose a top-floor room with a marvellous view over the valley. We had one "lazy day" in the hotel (the weather was freezing!) and this was delightful, with a beautifully-prepared sandwich lunch in the conservatory. This is one of the most comfortable hotels I've stayed in.And I haven't known one to equal it for personal attention.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SussexMiguel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
2.6 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
1.4 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.6 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
1,238 reviews
1.0 mi away
No.15 Great Pulteney
1.2 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#13 of 34 in Bath
1,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tasburgh House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tasburgh House

Property: Tasburgh House
Address: Warminster Road, Bath BA2 6SH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Bath
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bath
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bath
#7 Business Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Tasburgh House 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly situated, Tasburgh House offers idyllic countryside tranquility, with the liveliness of Bath just on it's doorstep. The five star Victorian Boutique Hotel boasts stunning accommodation and the views over the rolling Somerset hills are equally as magnificent. Guests can walk through the seven acres of beautiful gardens and terraces and access the canal tow path, leading into the Heritage City of Bath. Tasburgh House is the home of affordable luxury, where no request is too much for the friendly and welcoming staff. You arrive as a guest and leave as a friend. A light and seasonal supper menu is served daily. Evening meals can be taken in the restaurant or out on the terraces (weather permitting!) The hotel offers free WiFi, and stocks an impressive range of drinks to be enjoyed anywhere on the premises. Your stay at Tasburgh House is guaranteed to be a peaceful and memorable one. All rooms host extremely comfortable beds, powerful showers and luxurious towels. Staff are always on hand to offer advice, book taxis or recommend restaurants. Call direct for the best available rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda and HRS so you can book your Tasburgh House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tasburgh House Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing