We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a pleasant surprise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lansdown Grove Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Lansdown Grove Hotel
Ranked #18 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a pleasant surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2014

We arrived in Bath at 11pm on 27 August and the only vacancy was The Hilton in Bath. On 28 August we booked and arrived at The Lansdown Grove Hotel in Bath. What a pleasant surprise. The room was quite large and although it wasn't a 5 star it had everything you need. It was clean and the bed was quite comfy. Our room also had a nice courtyard off it.
The gentleman on the front desk was very helpful and gave us ideas on where to go etc. he even prepared our lunch and served us drinks.
The breakfast was more than adequate.
Overall a very good experience and very relaxing.
We would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 235 with a courtyard. Very nice. The room we stayed in had under floor heating, ot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneMBath, General Manager at The Lansdown Grove Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2014
Dear Sue B
Thanks for posting a lovely review. Hope you are enjoying the rest of your trip around the UK.
Regards
Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    297
    111
    34
    17
See reviews for
81
403
39
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2014

Very welcoming Staff and the Restaurant Staff are very quick to help and service with a smile. Stayed for 2 nights B&B. Our room was very comfortable with a modern en-suite. The Hotel itself was originally a mansion built in the 1800's I think. A bit of a walk to our room via an old lift but this did not detract from our pleasant stay. The corridors are wide but have a bit of a musty smell but this goes with the character of the place. This Hotel has character unlike a lot of modern hotels. It is atop a steep hill but only a short walk down to the Circus and Crescent. There are buses from the centre of Bath or a Taxi costs about £5. We only had the full English for breakfast which was freshly cooked and hot there was a selection of cereals and juices. The Bar is a very pleasant area to enjoy a night cap in the evenings. An ideal place to stay while enjoying the sites of Bath and surrounding area.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NickD55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneMBath, General Manager at The Lansdown Grove Hotel, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear NickD55
Thanks for taking the time to post a lovely review.
We have dated the main part of the building to 1808 when a gentleman called Simon Barrow moved his family from London to a large mansion which is now the main part of the Lansdown.
We have a small leaflet at reception regarding the hotels history .
Hope to see you again soon.
Regards
Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2014

We stayed for two nights on a half board basis at this charming old hotel in Bath. It was the last two nights of a six night trip, which included a couple of nights in Devon and then two more Cornwall.
The location is quite convenient for central Bath. We walked down into the city but thought it best to take the bus back up the hill when returning because it is a fairly steep climb.
We found the staff friendly and helpful and the general atmosphere very welcoming. Our room was quite large with a comfortable bed and an en-suite bathroom which was very bright and clean.
The restaurant provided an excellent breakfast with buffet arrangeement for fruits and cereals and waiter served, freshly cooked, breakfasts. The perfect arrangement for me.
We thought Table-d'Hote dinner gave a rather limited choice but the food was well cooked and nicely presented. A la carte choices were also available and extended the choice a little.
Overall it was a pleasant finale to our trip and we would definitely stay again..

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maurice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneMBath, General Manager at The Lansdown Grove Hotel, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear Maurice M
Great review thank you . Hopefully we will see you again in the not too distant future.
Regards
Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iver Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2014

Stayed here two nights, it was very good value for visiting Bath. Close to city centre, walk down about 10 minutes but suggest you catch bus back up the hill as stop opposite hotel. Good breakfast. Wouldn't recommend bar or staying in hotel in evening but the delights of Bath are just down the road so why would you? Ask for Ambassador room as they.have a nice little courtyard. Ohms very nice with good bathroom facilities. Parking which is a bonus in Bath.

Room Tip: Ask for ambassador room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry_Jane2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneMBath, General Manager at The Lansdown Grove Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Larry_Jane 2014
Thanks for posting a great review. We hope to see you both again very soon.
Regards
Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights for a last minute weekend break.

The room was nice, very spacious, the shower hot and powerful, the bed comfortable.

The staff were all friendly.

The fire alarm waking us up was disappointing, but I'm not holding that against them, at least it was 0920 not 0420!

Breakfast let it down, the coffee tasted instant, the tea was weak and lukewarm. The buffet was unappetising and outdated. While the cooked options and made fresh (which is great) we were very disappointed with the ham and eggs which were described as "slices of gammon" but turned out to be a single wafer thin slice of supermarket ham.

They need to refresh the buffet options adding fresh fruit, pastries and yoghurt and they need to make sure their cooked options live up to their description, a little modernising of the cooked menu wouldn't go amiss, and fresh coffee and good tea is essential. We didn't eat or breakfast at the hotel on the second day having learnt our lesson, we had a lovely breakfast at the Roman baths kitchen in the Centre instead.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tahra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneMBath, General Manager at The Lansdown Grove Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Tahra D
Thanks for taking the time to post a review. Sorry to hear you didn't enjoy breakfast this is unusual I will look in to it.
Regards
Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2014

We have just come back from your lovely hotel.. It was our first time with you, and we will def be back, everything was lovely, meals , service , cleaniness of rooms.
A lovely walk into bath and back, despite it being uphill on way back, it was enjoyable.
Good selection of meals in restaurant , and the waiters/waiteress were very nice, they enjoy their work and it shone through them ! Highly recommend .

Room Tip: We had side room with a lovely view, which was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 154187048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneMBath, General Manager at The Lansdown Grove Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear 154187048

What a great review thank you. It great to read you enjoyed your stay and especially your trip to Downton Abbey its a great place to visit.
Hope fully we will see you again in the not too distant future.
Regards
Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014

The Lansdown Grove situated just outside the city centre is a well established hotel in its own well kept grounds and just a short walk to the centre. The rooms are well kept, the restaurant serves up a great selection of meals , and they have a tidy bar with a jovial barman. If you don't want to walk into the centre there is a bus stop just out side. We travelled by Shearings coach but there is parking for private vehicles albeit a charge applies. We would definitely return to this hotel as you cannot see all the attractions in Bath in one visit. We had a large family room on the 2nd floor over looking views of the city.

Room Tip: Front facing rooms on the higher floors have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leslie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneMBath, General Manager at The Lansdown Grove Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Thank you Leslie W for a great review. I am glad you enjoyed your short break with us.
Its true you do need more time to see all the attractions in Bath so that means you will have to come for another break !
Hopefully we will see you soon.
Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.5 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.2 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#10 of 34 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,312 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#16 of 34 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
1.4 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
0.9 mi away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lansdown Grove Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lansdown Grove Hotel

Property: The Lansdown Grove Hotel
Address: Lansdown Road, Bath BA1 5EH, England (Formerly Coast & Country Lansdown Grove Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lansdown Grove Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lansdown Grove Hotel, Bath is part of the architectural history of Bath and one of the oldest hotels in the city, dating back as far as 1770. Bath itself has been designated a World Heritage Site by UNESCO, and contains some of the finest architectural sites in Europe, most within walking distance of the hotel. The hotel is a stone built, grade 2 listed mansion, typical of the period, described in The Times of Friday 13th July 1860 as "one of the most delightful houses in Bath." The Hotel is in a magnificent location, just 15 minutes walk from the historic town centre. The hotel enjoys delightful views over the Georgian part of Bath and wooded hills beyond. The interior boasts high ceilings and elegant plaster work, with 56 bedrooms over 3 floors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your The Lansdown Grove Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lansdown Grove Hotel Bath
Lansdown Grove Bath
Lansdowne Grove Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing