We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem of a hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Lansdown Grove Hotel
Ranked #20 of 31 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 15, 2014

My soon to be father-in-law, who lives in Bath, told us about this hotel and on his recommendation, I booked it for my fiancé and myself.
Glorious looking hotel, with very friendly reception staff. We stayed in room 335 which is a bit of a trek, and not always on one level (several stairs, up and down, to negotiate), which is something to consider if you can't manage stairs well. However, the room itself was lovely and spacious. The bed was very very comfortable, and the bathroom large with lovely big fluffy towels. The shower was also amazing - a lovely, forceful, power shower, just as we like it. It may be a tad too forceful for some people, but there is a choice of a bath too. However, the shower was perfect for us.
We were out for most of the evening and returned expecting to find the bar open and looking forward to a nightcap. Unfortunately, and rather surprisingly, it was closed! Only a minor gripe, really, but was a little disappointing for such a large hotel. Might be something to consider for future?
Breakfast was fantastic; choice from the continental items, and choices of cooked breakfasts, including kippers! I hadn't had kippers for ages, so that was my choice and delicious it was. Once again, the waitresses were lovely, warm and friendly, and very speedy with the drinks and breakfasts.
We come to Bath very often, not always staying overnight, but we will definitely be using the Lansdown Grove Hotel again. Excellent.

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to the lifts if you cannot negotiate stairs very well.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank probodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneMBath, General Manager at The Lansdown Grove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Dear Probodie
What a brilliant review,Thank you.
Sorry to hear you didnt get a drink when you came back late at night ,this is unusual ,I will be checking this out.
Hope to see you again in the not too distant future.
Regards
Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (710)
There are newer reviews for The Lansdown Grove Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

388 - 394 of 710 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2014

We enjoyed our two nights at the Lansdown Grove Hotel. Close to the city of Bath, wonderfully friendly staff, large room and bathroom, free wifi. Our balconied room allowed for fresh air nd breeze.
There was a bit of a trek from the slow lift to our room that required a few steps up and down. That might be an issue for some, but didn't worry us.
The morning we left we asked for a suggestion as to where we could park our car while we went to the Roman Baths. We were immediately offered the options of leaving our car in the hotel car park while we went into the city. A wonderful offer which we accepted.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Trenny13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneMBath, General Manager at The Lansdown Grove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Dear Trenny13
Thank you,glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
Enjoy the rest of your trip and have a safe journey home.
Regards
Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2014

Just back home after an excellent weekend break at the Lansdown Grove. We had a lovely room (331) which appeared to be an upgrade to an ambassador room. One nice touch was the portable fan which proved very useful in the hot weather. The food was extremely good and the service very attentive. Also a very nice reading room on the ground floor. We will return later in the year.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneMBath, General Manager at The Lansdown Grove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Dear Steve T
Its great to see you had a good time on your trip to the Lansdown and Bath. Make sure you say hello the next time you visit.
Regards
Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2014

We stayed with some friends at this hotel last week (30th June to 4th July). What a lovely surprise. Our room,325, was very spacious and clean, with a view, through the trees, to Bath. our waitress (Lilla) was very sweet and nothing was too much trouble, in fact all the staff we encountered where very polite and helpful, full marks for that, it is quite a rarity. The food was also very good and served well. on the whole we had an excellent stay with visits to Bristol's Clifton suspension bridge,Cheddar Gorge, Wells and of course Bath itself. Well done to the Lansdown Grove Hotel for such a warm welcome and stay.

Room Tip: We were on the third floor, only one lift so if you "don't do stairs" go for the lower...
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SR0028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneMBath, General Manager at The Lansdown Grove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Dear SR0028
I will pass your lovely comments on to Lilla and the rest of the team ,thank you.
Wells is one of my favourite places to visit as well another great place to visit is Lacock outside Bath.
Its great to see you enjoyed your stay
Regards
Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2014

We have just returned from one of the best holidays we have had.It was at The Lansdown Grove
Hotel, we loved everything the room 330 (it was a bit of a trek from the lift),the hotel,food, staff
and the other guests made our holiday fabulous.Thank you.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marion H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneMBath, General Manager at The Lansdown Grove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2014

Dear MarionH
Thanks for posting a great review,will pass on all your lovely comments to the staff here.
Thank You
Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2014

We are just back from a very nice stay at The Lansdown Grove Hotel. My husband, daughter, son-in-law and I stayed for four nights and found the whole experience very enjoyable. We paid extra to upgrade our rooms, worth every penny. The food was lovely and the hotel was very clean. The customer service was outstanding with very high praise for 'all' of the staff. It was our first stay at this hotel and we will certainly be returning in the future!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DianeC58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneMBath, General Manager at The Lansdown Grove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2014

Dear DianeC58
Its great to read you and your family enjoyed your stay with us here at the Lansdown. I will pass on all your lovely comments to all the staff concerned.
Thank you
Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2014

Fantastic location - very close to the centre of Bath. Opportunities for a great view over Bath should you be lucky enough to get a "view room".

Paid the extra money for a "superior" room - can't really see what the extra money gets you over your average travel lodge. Unfortunately our room had a terrible view, obscured by part of a brick wall...a little disappointing!

Fortunately we can't fault the service - very kind, polite and helpful, Especially the Scottish lady.

Would recommend it and would probably return. Wouldn't pay the extra cash for a superior room though!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Will H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneMBath, General Manager at The Lansdown Grove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2014

Dear Will H
Thanks for taking the time to post a review. Hope to see you again in the future.
Regards
Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
0.5 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.5 mi away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#24 of 31 in Bath
2,850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 31 in Bath
1,276 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#16 of 31 in Bath
1,412 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lansdown Grove Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lansdown Grove Hotel

Address: Lansdown Road, Bath BA1 5EH, England (Formerly Coast & Country Lansdown Grove Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 31 Hotels in Bath
Price Range: $102 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lansdown Grove Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lansdown Grove Hotel, Bath is part of the architectural history of Bath and one of the oldest hotels in the city, dating back as far as 1770. Bath itself has been designated a World Heritage Site by UNESCO, and contains some of the finest architectural sites in Europe, most within walking distance of the hotel. The hotel is a stone built, grade 2 listed mansion, typical of the period, described in The Times of Friday 13th July 1860 as "one of the most delightful houses in Bath." The Hotel is in a magnificent location, just 15 minutes walk from the historic town centre. The hotel enjoys delightful views over the Georgian part of Bath and wooded hills beyond. The interior boasts high ceilings and elegant plaster work, with 56 bedrooms over 3 floors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Lansdown Grove Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lansdown Grove Hotel Bath
Lansdown Grove Bath
Lansdowne Grove Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing