We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just what we needed, helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Lansdown Grove Hotel
Ranked #22 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 11, 2014

only a one night stay for rugby and then onto Manchester airport. Arrived before check in, room was ready so able to have keys. Needed to depart before core breakfast time, night porter Sid ensured we left with full tummies- thank you. We found staff in general to be most helpful
The hotel is an old building, windy walks to some bedrooms and small lift. The bed was extremely comfortable and very quiet room. The bathroom grouting could do with a little attention, plenty of hot water and good pressure from the shower.
Would definitely go back again to a traditional and welcoming hotel .
tip- try and reserve a parking space at time of booking as limited spaces.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pastytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneMBath, General Manager at The Lansdown Grove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2014

Dear Pastytraveller

Great Name !! Thank you for the lovely review.
Regards
Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (739)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

441 - 447 of 739 reviews

Reviewed March 11, 2014

Just returned from 4 nights at the Lansdown Hotel .Bath with Shearings.As usual the feeder coach and Nomanton pick ups were excellant,the tour coach driver brilliant.The hotel is situated on a very steep hill,apart from that the hotel and staff were excellant in every way,especially the bar manager who kept us all entertained in the evenings.Only one very small let down (if you can call it that)-the main entrance door could do with a couple of coats of quick dry varnish,as it gives you the first impression of the hotel,(hope I am not nit picking).

Room Tip: Front rooms. Second or third floors .There is a lift to all floors .Oh!No 31 bus passes the hotel.No...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gordon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneMBath, General Manager at The Lansdown Grove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2014

Dear Gordon R
Thanks for posting a great review .We have received new hinges now and front door all varnished. Hope to see you again soon.
Regards
Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

We have just spent a lovely weekend at this hotel. It was nearly full so we had to pay a smallish supplement for a front facing room. So glad we did as it was a very spacious with large bay windows and a four poster, which although creaky really made the room feel special.
All the staff were friendly and efficient especially the restaurant manageress.
As others have said, the furnishings are rather tired in places but it really didn't detract from a very comfortable, warm and characterful building.
We will certainly return if we visit Bath again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneMBath, General Manager at The Lansdown Grove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Dear Claire K
Thank you, what a great title to a review "a real hotel" Love it.
We are anything but typical ,we are a hotel that is full of history stretching back to 1827 where the main building of the hotel was the house for the first Jewish mayor of Bath along with other interesting facts any new customers coming to the Lansdown ask for the hotels history booklet.
So as you can see we are very much a real hotel. I have passed all your great comments to all the staff.
Thanks
Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

We stayed here in early February on a 4 night Shearings coach break. Yes, you do have to hang around at the interchange; yes, the hotel is situated at the top of a fairly steep hill; yes our bedroom was a bit "tired" and yes, the floorboards and bed creaked every time we moved. However, the Shearings coach organisation was faultless, the hill was no problem (and there is a bus), our room was clean, warm, light and spacious and the four poster bed was (once we got used to the creaking) very comfortable with good quality pillows and bedding. Moreover, the public areas, decorated in appropriate period style, are fresh, light and well furnished; the food was the best yet at a Shearings hotel (the house wine ditto), and the staff were consistently helpful and friendly. We do like value for money and we do like a well managed, comfortable hotel with good food - and at the Lansdown Grove we got both!

Room Tip: We had an upgraded on the second floor at the front of the hotel and, although the bed and floorboar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sue s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneMBath, General Manager at The Lansdown Grove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2014

Dear Sue S
What a fantastic review thank you. Its great to read you though your break was excellent value for money. We do our best to ensure all our guests have a lovely time here in Bath.
Hopefully you will visit us again sometime soon.
Thank you
Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

We visited the lansdown grove for the third time during the weekend of feb.7th for three nights.This is probably the best of the shearings hotels we have stayed at over the years.It is an old Victorian building,but has aged well,and is ideal for visiting bath.
The only negative is the walk back up the hill which is quite taxing.Friendly staff ,comfortable clean rooms and good food made the stay very enjoyable.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nevis65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneMBath, General Manager at The Lansdown Grove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Dear Nevis65
Thank you for the lovely review you posted. Its great to see you managed the hill but as you know you can get 2 local buses that run up and down the hill . The number's 31 and number 2.
I am very happy to see you enjoyed your stay with us at the Lansdown.
Thanks again
Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Stayed for the weekend as a party of 10 for mother's 80th birthday. They managed to put us in rooms near each other which was good.
The staff were freindly and efficient and looked happy doing their job. One of the older gentleman staff made a fuss of my mother and she loved it!
The food was very good, for the price. Good quality cooked on site. The two vegetarians in the party struggled with the fixed menu so paied extra for a dish from the a-la-carte.
The place was clean and all the rooms were of a good size.
The decor is a bit dated but this adds to the charm of the place somehow.
Very good value.
A steep hill to Bath centre but good taxi and bus service (if there's more than two of you its cheeper to get a taxi)

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janet C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneMBath, General Manager at The Lansdown Grove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

Dear Janet C
What a great review Thank you. I have passed on all your lovely comments to all the staff .
Thanks again
Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Booked a short 5 day break with Shearings Coach holidays for 10th February, staying at the Lansdown Grove Hotel in Bath. It's well located and only a short 15 minutes-ish downhill walk into the centre of Bath, but on the way back it does get steeper as you get nearer to the hotel, so you need to be reasonably fit if walking. However, there is a regular bus service (no.31) which stops right outside the hotel, and us over 60s can use our bus passes!
Having said that, I thoroughly enjoyed my stay there, the hotel itself (and my room) being clean and comfortable. Meals were very well presented and enjoyable, served very promptly by polite and friendly staff. Being this time of year and not a Christmas or New Year break, I didn't expect any evening entertainment, but Abdel (who I believe is the bar manager) did amuse and entertain us all each evening with his quizzes, which made the stay even more pleasurable.
For anyone visiting Bath for a few days, if you don't mind it being a little out of the centre, I recommend a stay at the Lansdown Grove, and would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: My room was overlooking the main road out of town (Lansdown Road) so was busy with traffic early mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TrevBWakefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneMBath, General Manager at The Lansdown Grove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

Dear TrevBWakefield
Thank you for taking the time to post a lovely review. Abdel does a great quiz as well as Franck now again.Hope to see you again soon.
Thanks
Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
1.5 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
0.5 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Radstock Hotel
Radstock Hotel
#31 of 34 in Bath
197 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
1,323 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#18 of 34 in Bath
1,483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lansdown Grove Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lansdown Grove Hotel

Address: Lansdown Road, Bath BA1 5EH, England (Formerly Coast & Country Lansdown Grove Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Price Range: $79 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lansdown Grove Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lansdown Grove Hotel, Bath is part of the architectural history of Bath and one of the oldest hotels in the city, dating back as far as 1770. Bath itself has been designated a World Heritage Site by UNESCO, and contains some of the finest architectural sites in Europe, most within walking distance of the hotel. The hotel is a stone built, grade 2 listed mansion, typical of the period, described in The Times of Friday 13th July 1860 as "one of the most delightful houses in Bath." The Hotel is in a magnificent location, just 15 minutes walk from the historic town centre. The hotel enjoys delightful views over the Georgian part of Bath and wooded hills beyond. The interior boasts high ceilings and elegant plaster work, with 56 bedrooms over 3 floors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Lansdown Grove Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lansdown Grove Hotel Bath
Lansdown Grove Bath
Lansdowne Grove Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing