We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Lansdown Grove Hotel
Ranked #20 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

My husband and I visited this hotel last week and had a fantastic time. All of the staff were very helpful and extremely pleasant . The food was excellent and the service in the dining room was great. Our room was very large and comfortable . Haven't got a bad word to say about this hotel and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneMBath, General Manager at The Lansdown Grove Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Linda H
Great review thank you, hope to see you both again in the not too distant future.
Regards
Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

689 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    308
    119
    36
    17
See reviews for
84
418
43
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aldershot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Just back from a short break here (2 nights). Only stayed B & B, so can't comment on evening meals. Our first room (101), although clean and spacious, was very hot (unable to open window) and there was a noisy boiler/air conditioning unit (??) switching on and off every 5 minutes which disturbed our sleep. On mentioning it to staff, Jane (manager) immediately offered another room (319) for our 2nd night. Lovely room, also spacious, and quieter.
We were not perturbed by the lack of entertainment in the evening; in fact, we liked it. Not everyone likes bingo and singers....
The hotel has a lovely old fashioned (as mentioned before) feel about it, and the staff obviously all work well as a team. It wouldn't suit everyone, but we loved it and will go back as soon as we can (preferably when it's not raining virtually the whole time!!).

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Penny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneMBath, General Manager at The Lansdown Grove Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Penny T
Its good to see you enjoyed your stay with us ,thanks for posting a review.
Regards
Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Malden, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Excellent Service extremely good, with scrupulously courteous and welcoming. Manager was visible and approachable at all times, bedrooms and bathroom very clean. Food was excellent with varied and attractive menu. Welcome on arrival with hot mulled wine and mince pies with basket of fruit and sweets in bedroom ..I would highly recommend. I travelled with Shearings holidays on a pensioners' Christmas coach trip.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneMBath, General Manager at The Lansdown Grove Hotel, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Maura S
Thanks for a great review , glad you enjoyed your christmas break with us.
Happy New Year.
Regards
Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mullumbimby, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

I stayed here for nearly a week the room we were in could have done with an update but the bathroom and bath were great and the room was made up each day. I enjoyed the old world feeling and coming down for dinner in the old style. The dinner and breakfast were first class as was the excellent service - the location was great and overall i really enjoyed the stay. don't expect a swanky up dated hotel it is old school which i enjoyed for a change.

Room Tip: I would have liked the room with the balcony it looked nicer than ours which was the most expensive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lbridges1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneMBath, General Manager at The Lansdown Grove Hotel, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear IBridges
Its great to read you enjoyed your stay with us. The lansdown is like a grand old lady with many quirks. Hope you had a lovely christmas and Happy New Year.
Regards
Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weybridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Just returned from christmas at the lansdown grove and I have to say it was the best in years. Jane the general manager and all her team were a delight. Nothing was too much trouble. We stayed in a room on the third floor overlooking the city, and everything was clean, warm and tidy.
The food was plentiful with many choices at each meal including a five course meal on christmas day.
The hotel is situated on a hill and is an approximate 15 minute walk down into the city.
The only minor downside is that the lift is very old and can be a bit temperamental.
A big thank you to all the staff for making our stay so good.

Room Tip: try getting a room at the front of the building overlooking the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank phil b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneMBath, General Manager at The Lansdown Grove Hotel, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Phil b
Merry Christmas and Happy New Year.
Thanks for a great review I have passed on all your lovely comments to all the staff.
Hope to see you again in the not too distant future.
Regards
Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porthcawl, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2013

Went to bath for Xmas market and stayed at the Landsdown Grove Hotel. All staff very helpful, bedroom clean and warm, food menu on the first night wasn't to our taste so we upgraded. Second night the menu was good. The only draw back was the lift which will only take three persons at a time.Booked a car parking space for ten pounds and found out there is a free one at the rear of the hotel. To catch a bus to town [bus stop outside hotel just down the hill] number 31 bus £2.50 single/adult will take you as far as the start of town where the number 2 will take to the bus station [same stop and price]. If you have a taxi from town the cost is £5.90 - £6.10, so if there are two it is the same as taking the bus but quicker, on the other hand if there are four people it is slightly cheaper than the bus. Drinks are expensive at the bar and the only entertainment on one night was a quiz. Overall our stay was very pleasant and enjoyable and wouldn't hesitate in recommending this hotel to others.

Room Tip: Front facing room, second or third floor for the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rod f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneMBath, General Manager at The Lansdown Grove Hotel, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Rod f
I hope you had a lovely christmas and thank you for taking the time to post a review.
I am glad to see you enjoyed your stay.
Thats right the number 31 and number 2 buses go right by the hotel each day into the town centre.
Happy New Year
Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Went with Shearings Coaches and stayed at the Lansdown from Mon to Frid on a budget basis .
The hotel is a nice victorian place dating from 1884 and has nice character . It is situated high on a hill just outside the centre of Bath . We are both in our early 60s and the walk into the city downhill is a comfortable 15 min walk . It's a long haul back up and the £4.50 taxi fare is well worth it . Alternately a bus can be readily caught and bus passes used .
Our trip included the table d'hote menu , which could not be faulted . The breakfast is especially good and a kipper and scrambled egg set me up for the morning .
The staff are all very polite and the bar man , Abdel , always cheerful .
Overall we had a great stay in Bath .

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JOHN C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneMBath, General Manager at The Lansdown Grove Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear John C
Thanks for taking the time to post a lovely review, I have passed on all your comments to all the staff concerned . Hope you have a lovely Christmas and Happy New Year.
Regards
Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.6 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
1,240 reviews
0.2 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#12 of 34 in Bath
1,346 reviews
0.5 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#17 of 34 in Bath
1,369 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
1.5 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lansdown Grove Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lansdown Grove Hotel

Property: The Lansdown Grove Hotel
Address: Lansdown Road, Bath BA1 5EH, England (Formerly Coast & Country Lansdown Grove Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lansdown Grove Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lansdown Grove Hotel, Bath is part of the architectural history of Bath and one of the oldest hotels in the city, dating back as far as 1770. Bath itself has been designated a World Heritage Site by UNESCO, and contains some of the finest architectural sites in Europe, most within walking distance of the hotel. The hotel is a stone built, grade 2 listed mansion, typical of the period, described in The Times of Friday 13th July 1860 as "one of the most delightful houses in Bath." The Hotel is in a magnificent location, just 15 minutes walk from the historic town centre. The hotel enjoys delightful views over the Georgian part of Bath and wooded hills beyond. The interior boasts high ceilings and elegant plaster work, with 56 bedrooms over 3 floors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Agoda so you can book your The Lansdown Grove Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lansdown Grove Hotel Bath
Lansdown Grove Bath
Lansdowne Grove Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing