We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Away”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Lansdown Grove Hotel
Ranked #21 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Last minute weekend away and this hotel was disappointing. It looked OK when we arrived, maybe a little bit tired in places but OK but as we went through the various corridors and doors it was rather musty and definitely needed some care an attention. The room was OK clean and looked after but the rest of the hotel needed some investment and a some sparkle.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneMBath, General Manager at The Lansdown Grove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Dear Gruvar
Sorry to hear you were disappointed but we continue to improve the hotel where and when we can whist offering value for money.
Regards
Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (723)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

507 - 513 of 723 reviews

Reviewed May 10, 2013

Pros. Just back from 2 night half board stay. Very clean up to date hotel. Excellent food with good choices. Friendly and helpful staff.
Cons. Just a couple of minor niggles. Only 1 lift for two people and even after the lift our room was a long walk up and down lots of stairs. Not really suitable for people with walking difficulties. Although the hotel was very central it was at the top of a long very steep hill. Bus stop outside
Overall a excellent value for money hotel.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
Thank poolewingco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneMBath, General Manager at The Lansdown Grove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Dear Poolewingco
Its great to hear you think our hotel is good value for money. I have passed on your lovely comments to all the staff.
Thank you
Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I stayed here with my two daughters (IN A 3 BED ROOM) from 3-6th May 2013. It is in a beautiful place, at the top of a long steep hill, I recommend that you walk down to the touristy bits and get the 31 bus back up.

We were part of a large choir group staying at the hotel and the staff were endlessly patient and very friendly throughout.The Table d'Hote menu was limited but good value. The a la carte menu looked good but our food was included.

The room was clean and housekeeping standards were very good.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jean_ewing3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneMBath, General Manager at The Lansdown Grove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Dear jean_ewing3
Thanks for posting a lovely review. We had many large groups staying recently who have also enjoyed their stay with us too. Hope to see you again soon with all the others in your choir.
Regards
Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

In need of a bit of a refurb ,lift is joke
Lounge bar French windows don't open,taped up not good on
A warm night
Blind in bathroom jammed
Staff friendly and try to be helpful
Food average Tica masala with veg!

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Brian59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneMBath, General Manager at The Lansdown Grove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Dear Brian59
Yes the lift is a bit small but does function well. French windows in the bar have been sorted. Glad to see you though the staff were friendly.
Regards
Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Had a beautiful weekend in Bath, staying here at the Lansdown Grove Hotel. Hotel was lovely, rooms where spacious, and staff where very friendly. I strongly recomend visiting Claire Brown Hair Salon, I had a lovely experience whilst having a blow dry and hair up ready for my night out on the town. I felt a million dollars which you need to feel like in bath. Strongly recomended. Just quick bus ride away from the hotel, and bus stop is right outside. Definately Baths best secret.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alana w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneMBath, General Manager at The Lansdown Grove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Dear alana w
What a great review Thank you . I will try out that hairdressers you recommended.
Hope you will visit us again soon.
Regards
Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

My mum and I stayed here overnight so we could explore Bath. Hotel is in a good location. There is a bus stop just round the corner, however we chose to walk into the centre. Receptionist was really friendly and helpful when we checked in. He gave us a map and showed us places of interest. If we would have just walked straight into centre, would have only taken 10 mins max, took us a little longer on way back as you notice it is a steep hill.

Hotel was okay, could do with a little revamp. Took blanket out of bag to use it and there was a a dodgy mark on it.

Good choice for breakfast with cereals, toast, croissants, etc. However the cooked breakfasts are not very pleasant. Appears everything is cooked at once, as all is very rubbery including toast and we were down for breakfast just after they started serving.

For the price I paid I wasn't expecting 5*. So all in all it was a place to lay your head to explore surrounding areas.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ca55ie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneMBath, General Manager at The Lansdown Grove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Dear Ca55ie
Thanks for the review , Bath is a great city to explore lots to see and do, hope to see you again soon.
Regards
Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We booked last minute break at this Hotel mainly because we wanted to visit Cheddar Gorge, it was splendid, staff lovely efficient, helpful and could not have been better. Very clean rooms good food no entertainment, but as we were rising early everyday to go on trips, not a problem though the staff along-side of our wonderful driver Guy arranged a quiz, we had a good laugh and got to know fellow passengers. Bath was brilliant as was everywhere else we went. Would like to go back soon.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank irene62_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneMBath, General Manager at The Lansdown Grove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Dear Adam1981uk
Glad to see enjoyed your stay and felt the break was value for money. Well done in tackling the hill its not as bad as it looks.
Regards
Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
0.6 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
1,288 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#26 of 34 in Bath
2,890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Bath Central
0.5 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.3 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#10 of 34 in Bath
1,400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lansdown Grove Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lansdown Grove Hotel

Address: Lansdown Road, Bath BA1 5EH, England (Formerly Coast & Country Lansdown Grove Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Price Range: $104 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lansdown Grove Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lansdown Grove Hotel, Bath is part of the architectural history of Bath and one of the oldest hotels in the city, dating back as far as 1770. Bath itself has been designated a World Heritage Site by UNESCO, and contains some of the finest architectural sites in Europe, most within walking distance of the hotel. The hotel is a stone built, grade 2 listed mansion, typical of the period, described in The Times of Friday 13th July 1860 as "one of the most delightful houses in Bath." The Hotel is in a magnificent location, just 15 minutes walk from the historic town centre. The hotel enjoys delightful views over the Georgian part of Bath and wooded hills beyond. The interior boasts high ceilings and elegant plaster work, with 56 bedrooms over 3 floors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Lansdown Grove Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lansdown Grove Hotel Bath
Lansdown Grove Bath
Lansdowne Grove Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing