We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Somewhere to lay your head”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Lansdown Grove Hotel
Ranked #19 of 31 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Somewhere to lay your head”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

My mum and I stayed here overnight so we could explore Bath. Hotel is in a good location. There is a bus stop just round the corner, however we chose to walk into the centre. Receptionist was really friendly and helpful when we checked in. He gave us a map and showed us places of interest. If we would have just walked straight into centre, would have only taken 10 mins max, took us a little longer on way back as you notice it is a steep hill.

Hotel was okay, could do with a little revamp. Took blanket out of bag to use it and there was a a dodgy mark on it.

Good choice for breakfast with cereals, toast, croissants, etc. However the cooked breakfasts are not very pleasant. Appears everything is cooked at once, as all is very rubbery including toast and we were down for breakfast just after they started serving.

For the price I paid I wasn't expecting 5*. So all in all it was a place to lay your head to explore surrounding areas.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ca55ie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneMBath, General Manager at The Lansdown Grove Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Ca55ie
Thanks for the review , Bath is a great city to explore lots to see and do, hope to see you again soon.
Regards
Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

697 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    312
    121
    37
    18
See reviews for
84
421
43
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We booked last minute break at this Hotel mainly because we wanted to visit Cheddar Gorge, it was splendid, staff lovely efficient, helpful and could not have been better. Very clean rooms good food no entertainment, but as we were rising early everyday to go on trips, not a problem though the staff along-side of our wonderful driver Guy arranged a quiz, we had a good laugh and got to know fellow passengers. Bath was brilliant as was everywhere else we went. Would like to go back soon.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank irene62_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneMBath, General Manager at The Lansdown Grove Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Adam1981uk
Glad to see enjoyed your stay and felt the break was value for money. Well done in tackling the hill its not as bad as it looks.
Regards
Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

Stated at this hotel for a long weekend in April 2013.

The hotel itself is fine, clean & the rooms spacious. The hotel is located up a very steep hill & though I was totally happy to use this to burn off the evenings beer & food people should bear this in mind if less mobile & active.

The hotel is reasonably priced at £99 per night at weekends including breakfast. The food & choice at breakfast was fine & well presented.

Though not top notch I would say this is a good value for money hotel in bath & a good choice for a weekend stay.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam1981UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneMBath, General Manager at The Lansdown Grove Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Irene62-10
What a review, Thank you,you are right about Bath it is brilliant here,there is so much to see and do. Hope to see you again.
Regards
Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Enjoyed our stay at the Lansdown Grove ... Good food ... good service ... nice and clean ... warm comforable bedroom ... convient for the beautiful city of Bath ... the bus stops right outside the hotel bus numbers ...31 and 14 ... 15 minutes walk if your fit. Remember its uphill on the way back.

Room Tip: If your unfit stay on 1 st floor ... always a full lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 721Freya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneMBath, General Manager at The Lansdown Grove Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear 721Freya
Thanks for taking the time to post your review. Glad you found your stay comfortable with us here at the Lansdown. Hope to see you again soon.
Regards
Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Exceptional place to stay, all the old character of the hotel has been retained in a sympathetic manner.
The rooms were however very modern and comfortable, we had French doors which led onto a delightful patio area complete with table and chairs, pity the hotel could not sort the weather out!
Plenty of storage space and lovely bathroom.
Breakfast was lovely and cooked fresh to order, evening meals were superb and great value for money, plenty of choice, fresh vegetables, great service.
The staff throughout the hotel were attentive, friendly, welcoming and were a real credit to the hotel.
Bus stops were pointed out upon booking in with instructions on where to get the return bus and which ones we could get back up the hill, it was a pleasant walk down hill, there were also plenty of taxis available if needed to return to hotel.
All in all we had a great overall experience which helped us celebrate a very special occasion.
Would recommend to everyone.

Room Tip: Ambassador rooms were worth the money
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WillisEM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneMBath, General Manager at The Lansdown Grove Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Willis Em
What a great review thank you. I will pass on all your kind comments. I do have a great team of staff here at the Lansdown I am lucky.
Hope to see you again.
Regards
Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

My wife and I have just had our first coach holiday and this was the the base hotel with Shearings holidays. On arrival the staff had a full coachload of people in their rooms within about 30 minutes, incredible. It is a very old place but well maintained and very clean. We were on half board, the breakfast was plentiful, the dinner menus changed every day and there was an extensive a-la-carte menu if required,everything we ate was delicious. The staff could not be more efficient and friendly, and they all seemed to be enjoying the work. Our room overlooked the gardens so there was no traffic noise at night as we had the windows open, the heating being a bit too hot and not very controllable. I have a slight walking disability and found it impossible to walk down the very steep hill into the city but the bus stops near to the hotel. We would certainly use this hotel again and would also like to say that the excursions with our driver Guy were a good laugh and well chosen.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eric h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneMBath, General Manager at The Lansdown Grove Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear eric h
I am glad you enjoyed your first coach holiday here at the Lansdown it is the greenest way to travel nowadays.
As you said we have a bus stop close to the hotel and have two buses that run regular the number 2 and 31 just ask at reception for details.
I will make sure Guy the coach driver hears about your review.
Hope you travel with us again soon.
Regards
Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed April 13, 2013

just got back from four night break at lansdown grove cant praise it enough great position lovely room we did upgrade to a front facing room good food lovely staff in all areas dining room, reception and housekeeping highly recommended we hope to be back again sometime thanks to all

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ann y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneMBath, General Manager at The Lansdown Grove Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear ann y

Thank you, I will past on all your comments to my team they love it when we get such a great review.
Thanks again
Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.5 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
0.6 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 31 in Bath
1,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#16 of 31 in Bath
1,382 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#23 of 31 in Bath
2,765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lansdown Grove Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lansdown Grove Hotel

Property: The Lansdown Grove Hotel
Address: Lansdown Road, Bath BA1 5EH, England (Formerly Coast & Country Lansdown Grove Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 31 Hotels in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lansdown Grove Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lansdown Grove Hotel, Bath is part of the architectural history of Bath and one of the oldest hotels in the city, dating back as far as 1770. Bath itself has been designated a World Heritage Site by UNESCO, and contains some of the finest architectural sites in Europe, most within walking distance of the hotel. The hotel is a stone built, grade 2 listed mansion, typical of the period, described in The Times of Friday 13th July 1860 as "one of the most delightful houses in Bath." The Hotel is in a magnificent location, just 15 minutes walk from the historic town centre. The hotel enjoys delightful views over the Georgian part of Bath and wooded hills beyond. The interior boasts high ceilings and elegant plaster work, with 56 bedrooms over 3 floors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Lansdown Grove Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lansdown Grove Hotel Bath
Lansdown Grove Bath
Lansdowne Grove Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing