We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend break in February”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Lansdown Grove Hotel
Ranked #21 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Excellent, if a little old fashioned, hotel, but with plenty of character. The bathroom was in need of a little refurbishment, however the bedroom, dining room & lounges were spotlessly clean. A very quiet bedroom with no traffic noise. The breakfast was excellent, evening meal was also very good, with excellent service. All the staff were very polite & helpful. A 10 minute walk down the hill into the centre of Bath, we had intended taking the bus back up, but didn't & we managed the uphill walk quite easily. However, there is a bus stop located right outside the hotel. All in all excellent value for money for a 3 night stay with Coast & Country, I would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: I dont think I would bother paying extra for a room with a view, the cheaper room was much more spac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roberts1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneMBath, General Manager at The Lansdown Grove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Dear Roberts1963
Thanks for taking the time to post a great review.
Well done for tackling the walk back up the hill many are put off by it but it is not as bad as it looks, and as you said there is a regular bus service in and out of town.
Hope to see you again soon.
Regards
Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (723)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

531 - 537 of 723 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2013

5 day break with Shearings.Hotel situated on top of one of the hills but there is public transport which stops outside the hotel.Room smallish but bathroom was large!!As we were out for most of the day the room was fine.No evening entertainment which suited us fine,prefer cosy rooms and a good chat.Evening meal and breakfast were excellent lovely restaurant staff,manager and night porter!!!

Room Tip: Up grade if you want a larger room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris41_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneMBath, General Manager at The Lansdown Grove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Dear Chris41_12
Thanks for a great review. Glad to see you found all our staff friendly and helpful.
Hope to see you again soon.
Regards
Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

This hotel needs a dust down and a revamp, appearing tired and faded. This description extends to the breakfast' which was at best anaemic, and presented in a bland unattractive fashion.
Our room was of a decent size and reasonably comfortable, but again suffered from needing a refresh,
Overall if you're looking for a comparatively cheap hotel in Bath - even though still £100+ per night - this isn't the worst option, but I would be very surprised if anyone ever raved about it!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thepr1tchards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneMBath, General Manager at The Lansdown Grove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Dear thepr1chards
Thanks for the review as you can see from the other reviews posted we are currently upgrading where and when we can. I am surprised by your breakfast comment as this is very unusual. We do offer a great product where all our guests do get value for their money.
Regards
Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Stayed here with my partner (30's) and my parents (50's) for 3 nights dinner, B&B.
Excellent location, 10min downhill walk to the centre of Bath.
The hotel itself is very cosy, with little lounge areas, which we enjoyed sitting in on an evening to play cards. Sunday night quiz with Franck was great fun also.
The hotel is very clean, the bedroom we were allocated was spacious and comfy and clean. However, it was very tired in the bathroom, taps and shower area was rusty and green with shoddy grouting. The bottom of the bath was peeling but the shower itself was fab, hot and powerful.
The food was far from being 5 star but perfectly adequate with good service from the restaurant staff. Breakfast in particular was good.
I would recommend this hotel for a short break.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Cheeky79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneMBath, General Manager at The Lansdown Grove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Dear Cheeky79
Thank you for placing a lovely review on line.
I am glad you enjoyed your three night break with us . We constantly review all areas of the hotel and have an in house refurb programme in place to ensure we maintain and update where and when we can.
We hope to see you and your family back here again soon.
Regards
Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We only stayed one night to return our daughter to University but really enjoyed our short stay. There is a bar available and we had a relaxing evening and had fun attempting to do the quiz! We hope to return for 3 nights later in the year. Service was excellent, all the staff were very helpful and made you feel welcome.

Room Tip: Request a room away from main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharon Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneMBath, General Manager at The Lansdown Grove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

Dear Sharon Y
I am glad you enjoyed your one night stay with us and that you took part in Franck's famous quiz its just a bit of fun for our guests.Hopefully you will come back for the three nights where you will have the time to explore our fantastic city.
Regards
Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We enjoyed a really memorable three nights here for my Husband's birthday treat.
Lovely to experience again a thoroughly 'old fashioned/ brilliant service/caring hotel', as opposed to a ' plastic/modern/ high rise/bland, hotel'.
.The walk to the City was thoroughly enjoyable, and even us, as old fogeys, managed the return uphill walk without any trouble.
No hesitation in recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SillyWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneMBath, General Manager at The Lansdown Grove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

Dear Sillywoman !
Great to hear you enjoyed your birthday treat from your husband ,a three night break with us at the Lansdown Grove Hotel.
Its lovely to see our guests recommending us Thank you ,hope to see you again in the not too distant future.
Regards
Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

my mum and I have stayed at this hotel twice now and would return without a second thought. the staff are very friendly and helpfull. the first time we visited we had book a double/twin room, it had one bed in it, while this was no bother to mum and I the manager twigged this without prompt and offered us a twin bedded room, the only negative is, as others have commented it is a very steep hill to get to the hotel, but if like us you have a car it's not a problem. we are planning to return later this year for yet another visit to longleat safari which is 30/40 mins drive away xxx

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicola M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneMBath, General Manager at The Lansdown Grove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2013

Hi Nicola
We enjoy seeing returning guests to the Lansdown leaving great reviews on Trip Advisor.
Thank You.
We do have a great bus service which runs up and down the hill every 15 minutes until 8.30pm every night. The numbers 1 amd 31 .
Hope to see you again in the not too distant future.
Regards
Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
0.6 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
1,288 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#26 of 34 in Bath
2,893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Bath Central
0.5 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
7.7 mi away
Radstock Hotel
Radstock Hotel
#30 of 34 in Bath
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lansdown Grove Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lansdown Grove Hotel

Address: Lansdown Road, Bath BA1 5EH, England (Formerly Coast & Country Lansdown Grove Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Price Range: $103 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lansdown Grove Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lansdown Grove Hotel, Bath is part of the architectural history of Bath and one of the oldest hotels in the city, dating back as far as 1770. Bath itself has been designated a World Heritage Site by UNESCO, and contains some of the finest architectural sites in Europe, most within walking distance of the hotel. The hotel is a stone built, grade 2 listed mansion, typical of the period, described in The Times of Friday 13th July 1860 as "one of the most delightful houses in Bath." The Hotel is in a magnificent location, just 15 minutes walk from the historic town centre. The hotel enjoys delightful views over the Georgian part of Bath and wooded hills beyond. The interior boasts high ceilings and elegant plaster work, with 56 bedrooms over 3 floors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Lansdown Grove Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lansdown Grove Hotel Bath
Lansdown Grove Bath
Lansdowne Grove Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing