We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Bailbrook”
Review of Bailbrook Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bailbrook Lodge
Ranked #24 of 154 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful Bailbrook”
Reviewed January 19, 2011

Advice to those booking into Bailbrook Lodge

DON’T:
• waste your time giving the posts on the four-poster bed a good shake; if they weren’t rickety before, they will be when you’re done;
• complain if you have to bend your knees to spit into the basin after you’ve cleaned your teeth; simply straighten them again when you’re finished and consider it exercise;
• stress if you get a little wet reaching to the back of the alcove to turn the shower on; think of the time you’ll save getting completely wet once you stand under the spray.
DO:
• scoff the chocolates left on your pillow;
• take some photographs of the Georgian charm of your room, the dining room, the sitting room, the exterior (because your friends back home in Australia won’t believe you otherwise);
• marvel at how high the four-poster bed is, how climbing onto such a bed is as close as you’ll get to feeling like a queen (unless, of course, you are one);
• (when you step out of the shower) wrap yourself in the luxury of a towel that’s been warmed by the heated towel rail;
• take particular note of how attentive Dan and Michelle and Julie and the rest of the staff are, how willing they are to see to your every need;
• (if you’re lucky enough to be upgraded to the Beau Nash Suite, as I was) spend as much time as the sights of beautiful Bath will allow, sitting in the window alcove, sipping another cup of tea while you gaze at the hillside opposite or watch the squirrels and birds in the garden below;
• think what a great writer’s retreat it would make.
• wish you could stay forever
DON’T even think about missing the home-cooked breakfast!
DO bless the day your beautiful daughter booked you into Bailbrook Lodge. (Thank you Zoe!)

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ratslive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    346
    164
    60
    27
    17
See reviews for
75
400
10
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2011

four young at heart '40 ish luton supporters' came sat 8th jan 2011 . good job its only a game .well at least the hotel was good.was recommended by a friend.ie away from the hustle and bustle of the city but still only 5 mins away by car. excellent breakfast. rooms clean n tidy. well worth its 4 stars.Dan told us where to park for free on sunday ( by spa train station).Partner wants to come next time.(think she means the game).Bath is a beautiful city and Bailbrook lodge is well worth a stay

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mannfoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
1 review
Reviewed January 7, 2011

I enjoyed my stay at this beautiful hotel. Cleanliness, staff and their friendliness, decoration, and a magnificent breakfast . There was Champagne!
The decoration of the rooms was very nice. Also the dining room and hall. You can use free internet, and the garden is lovely. Certainly it's the best hotel in the quality / price ratio I've ever been.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juancv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Storrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2011

We visited Bath to celebrate our daughter's 21st birthday. Bailbrook Lodge was chosen as the hotels in the centre of town were just too expensive for us as we were paying for six. However it was not a decision we regretted as it was a short drive into the City and parking was not a problem. The hotel staff were so friendly and helpful, the rooms were charming and clean and the breakfast was good,. However the icing on the cake was that once Daniel, the general manager, knew it was Polly's birthday he set up a special breakfast table for us with flowers, streamers and party poppers plus a bottle of champagne for our bucks fizz. Every member of staff wished Polly a happy birthday and made her morning really special. We chose Bath as Polly loves Jane Austen and the ambience of Bailbrook Lodge totally fulfilled her expectations.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moores_63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed December 26, 2010

This is a very nice adress to tray in bath if you don't want to stay in the middle of the town. Walking to city centre takes ca 30 minutes. The house is very old and charming and running by a absolutely nice family. The room was very small, but for of that dosn't count. Everything was clean, nice and very british. I liked it. The breakfast also was very good. You can have continental and a fresh cooked full english breakfast if you want. I really enjoyed the stay.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mandylion22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hexham
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2010

I stayed at Bailbrook Lodge with a friend for a short break to visit the Christmas Market and to spend a day at the Bath Thermae Spa. We were warmly welcomed and after being showed to our room we were offered complementary mince pies and mulled wine - a nice touch we thought. The Lodge was decorated for Christmas and had a festive feel that was much appreciated. Our twin room was not large but was perfectly adequate for our needs although the absence of a full shower was an incovenience. The weather was incerdibly cold outside but the B&B was beautifully warm throughout our stay. Breakfast was generous and we even had champagne offered on our first morning!
Although the Lodge was not in the city centre there was a bus stop nearby so we didn't need to fight the traffic in Bath city centre Overall it was a very enjoyabe stay and we would stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hexham1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2010

Stayed with my wife for our 24th wedding anniversary in the Jane Austen Suite (Room 24) for two nights. Staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was very large, with a high ceiling, The cornices were beautifully sculpted. Furnishings were dated and had seen better days, The TV cabinet was very badly scratched and in a position where the TV couldn't be watched from the bed as one of the posts of the four poster bed was just in the way and the TV could not be watched from the chairs or any other angle due to the cabinet doors not folding back and opening only to 90 degrees.

The Bed itself was a four poster with a wooden canopy. The four posts supporting the canopy were very rickety and I don't think they or the canopy would have survived some energetic bedroom activities. The mattress was very comfortable though.

Bathrobes and slippers were provided.

Above the standard lamp on the ceiling was a large cobweb which, judging by the amount of dust that had accumulated on it, must have been there for some considerable time.

The top of the four posts of the bed were covered in dust and the canopy itself had a thick layer of dust and had probably not been cleaned for some time.

The wetroom, housing the WC and a shower was fitted out with a heated Towelrail. Hot towels after a shower were a lovely and appreciated touch. The shower itself was rather narrow and the controls were on the far wall. To operate them one would have to stand under the shower and either get a cold shock or get scalded, but generally the former. As this room was rather narrow, there was no space for a wash basin and after visiting the WC the basin in the bedroom would have to be used for handwashing or indeed any other form of washing. Privacy for some functions like brushing teeth and shaving would have been nice but impossible with this layout. The basin was rather low for me and at 6' I found it difficult to wash my face in the basin as a glass shelf above the basin was in the way.

There was a wall mounted hair dryer adjacent to the basin which did not work due to an electrical problem. Staff provided a portable dryer. Prior to checkout we discovered a portable hair dryer in the Wardrobe. This indicates to me that previous guests had a similar problem and no effort has been made to repair the wall mounted unit.

The complimentary Tea and coffee tray was very comprehensively stocked and very welcome.

However, I think the management went overboard in providing a cafetiere with fresh ground coffee. There was tin containing an open bag of ground coffee for use in the cafetiere. The coffee had lost all it's flavour and aroma and provided just a bitter and dark "drink", just awful and totally superfluous, especially when there was a sticker on the tin advising guests not to discharge used coffee grounds into the basin. How was one to clean the cafetiere in the unlikely event one had wanted a second pot?

The building and grounds also suffer from neglect, the window frames are rotten and are breaking up at the bottom of the sash window, the stonework of the building is crumbling in some areas, The stonewall, along the driveway is about to collapse

The one good thing I have to say is, the staff worked very hard and tried to please, Breakfast and service was brilliant and could not be faulted.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark19449
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1india, Manager at Bailbrook Lodge, responded to this review, December 10, 2010
Bailbrook Lodge is a Georgian country house which was built in 1810 and when transformed into a hotel every effort was made to retain the character of the property and, therefore, not to remove internal walls. All of the 15 bedrooms (including 5 with 4 poster beds) have en suite facilities including in the case of the larger rooms, walk in wet room showers and slipper baths. However, due to the construction of the building in some cases the wash hand basin is discreetly located in the bedrooms as opposed to the bathroom.

Turning to the other specific raised by these particular guests, all of the furniture has been purchased to be in keeping with the style of the hotel and, therefore, obviously of a modern style but is in very good condition and very comfortable. The TV cabinet which the guest refers to is in fact a hand painted beautiful piece of furniture which was designed and made in Italy and the folding doors when moved fully (as they are designed) allow the TV screen to be fully viewed. There is a scratch to the side of the cabinet which we are grateful to the guest for bringing to our attention and has now been dealt with.

As with any four poster bed if one takes hold of the columns and shakes them, the bed will move but the actual frame of the bed itself is in a good state of repair.

On reading the customer’s comments we did check above the four poster bed for dust and this was dealt with. Obviously climbing on top of the frame of a four poster bed to clean dust is not a daily activity (as I am sure most housewives would understand) but it is attended to when we carry out an in depth clean of all of our accommodation every 3 months.

The shower controls are working correctly and as normal they are located on the back wall of the shower/wet room.

The client was quite correct in saying that the mounted hair dryer had an electrical problem and this has now been replaced by a permanent portable dryer to avoid this happening in the future.

We are at a loss to understand as to why the customer thought that the fresh ground coffee had lost its flavour and aroma as it is contained in a sealed tin and is checked for freshness on a daily basis.

We totally refute that the window frames are rotten and breaking up but recognise that the window sill of this particular room needs to be repainted.

The stone wall along the drive has recently “moved” following the work carried out to remove all of the ivy on this lovely stone wall along the driveway and our builders have already been briefed to rebuild one part of the wall which the customer is referring to.

Last but not least we are delighted that this guest found the breakfast service and our staff brilliant, which are comments which we receive from many guests on a regular basis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
1.8 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#16 of 34 in Bath
1,149 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
1.6 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#17 of 34 in Bath
1,369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Cranleigh
Cranleigh
#14 of 154 in Bath
787 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grove Lodge
Grove Lodge
#2 of 154 in Bath
229 reviews
3.2 mi away
Waterhouse
Waterhouse
#1 of 2 in Monkton Combe
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bailbrook Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bailbrook Lodge

Property: Bailbrook Lodge
Address: 35-37 London Road West, Bath BA1 7HZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 154 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bailbrook Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bailbrook Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bailbrook Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing