We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolute gem of a place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bailbrook Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bailbrook Lodge
Ranked #27 of 160 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Absolute gem of a place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2010

Stayed here with my girlfriend for two nights between 8th and 10th August - we were looking for something reasonably handy for some sightseeing but couldn't believe our luck with what we found.

Welcome in arrival was warm and tremendously friendly, and to be told that we had been upgraded to a four-poster suite only added to this! Room (the Beau Nash suite) was fantastic, with excellent views; very clean and quiet. Location was excellent - two minute walk to the bus stop (10 min journey to the Abbey, depending on traffic) or taxi was only £6-7.

Excellent service, and very friendly and helpful staff - my only regret is that we didn't stay longer, but I'm sure we'll put that right next time we visit.

Would not hesitate to recommend!

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ctfegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    152
    57
    26
    17
See reviews for
69
369
10
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2010

Just come back from this trip and still recovering. The rooms smelt of mould and damp. Towels were not replaced, but instead soiled bath mats were put on top of our towels. Water everywhere in the bathroom after a shower (thus the constant smell of mould and damp). Freezing cold (and this is summer we're in) because bedding was very basic so we had to use this little fan heater. Can't imagine staying in winter. Won't be going back.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dvjea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2010

Manager Dan and all his staff were excellent, very welcoming and service was excellent, will definitely stay again

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank superstarUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2010

I wanted to surprise my girlfriend by taking her to Bath and propose to her there. So whilst looking for romantic places to stay I found this little gem not too far from the city centre but at the same time with the feeling of being out in the country side. I called the hotel and booked the 4 poster suite, I also told them I was going to propose to my girlfriend in that trip, I think they were as excited as I was about it! hehe.

When we arrived the place was astonishing and the room even more! We were welcomed by Daniel who works in the reception. I have to say that I had never received such a better and personalised customer service in my live. Daniel was always very helpful if we needed anything, he even lent us some DVDs from his personal collection to watch, hehe.

The price was super reasonable considering the location, customer service and the food! Great breakfasts I have to say.

All in all it was a great trip, by the way she said YES and we are gonna get married next year. Thank you Bailbrook Lodge and Daniel for such a great experience. Will do it again without a doubt!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabalez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2010

The staff were very obliging booking restaurants for us etc. Breakfast was excellent and there was both soya milk and gluten free bread. We had the family room as we were a group of 5 and that was perfect for us. Didn't see any of the other rooms to comment on what they were like. The gardens were lovely and secluded with plenty of seating. Snacks were served until 9:30pm. Plenty of parking. Walking distance to Bath about 30mins but also a canal side walk which took 1hr.
Would definitely use again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cm007001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staffordshire
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2010

Excellent short stay break at the Bailbrook Lodge. Daniel and the staff were most accommodating and helpful suggesting good restaurants, allowing us to leave the cars having checked out and booking taxis for the evening's entertainment.

The little touches at breakfast ie the champagne and easter eggs on Easter Sunday were pretty impressive and most welcome!

Really enjoyed the stay here in this very clean and comfortable hotel on the outskirts of the city.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pheasant88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke On Trent
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2010

We spend here two night with a group of friends
The hotel is really nice and clean, Daniel the manager is absolutely wonderful, he was helping us with everything, he booked taxis, restaurants etc
If we are back to Bath we will come back to the Bailbrook Lodge
Thanks to everybody who works there

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MiriamEndon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
1.8 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#16 of 35 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,112 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
0.5 mi away
Tasburgh House
Tasburgh House
#7 of 35 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Cranleigh
Cranleigh
#14 of 160 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grove Lodge
Grove Lodge
#2 of 160 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
3.3 mi away
High Beeches
High Beeches
#15 of 160 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bailbrook Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bailbrook Lodge

Property: Bailbrook Lodge
Address: 35-37 London Road West, Bath BA1 7HZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 160 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bailbrook Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Bailbrook Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bailbrook Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing