We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Make sure you book the Lodge.”
Review of Bailbrook Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bailbrook Lodge
Ranked #23 of 154 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Make sure you book the Lodge.”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

I wasn't sure about this property when I booked it, as I had left it very late to book accommodation in Bath, and nearly everything else was full. I think the reason that it was still available was probably because it is out of town, rather than the city center.

It was the best thing that could have happened.

The Lodge and the Hotel are next to each other, but no longer owned by the same operators. Make sure you book the Lodge, as it is terrific.

The taxi fare from Bath Station was around 8.00 pounds, however once you get there, there is a direct bus route right outside that takes you into Bath, and runs on a regular timetable.

Our twin room, was small, but so charming and cosy that you overlooked it's size. The staff were super friendly, and were happy to accommodate us wherever they could. The room was very clean and had some little extra touches in with the usual tea/coffee items.

There was complimentary internet (which was a godsend), a lovely little guest lounge or sitting room and a nice breakfast room. The breakfast menu was more than enough, but be prepared for a bit of a wait. The times for breakfast are quite condensed so all the guests arrive at nearly the same time, which seems to cause some delays. Longer hours for breakfast would benefit, I believe.

My only bit of constructive feedback, was that they offered a small dine in menu, however when we made further enquiries, most of the dishes were not available, due to a change in management or policy. It would have been better not to have the menu on offer at all. The staff did recommend a superb restaurant that was within walking distance of the lodge. If I stayed here again, I would also eat at the same place.

We were delighted that we booked this property and would have no hesitation in recommending it to others.

Tracy and Lorna

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tracy n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatronHandR, Owner at Bailbrook Lodge, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
We are delighted this customer had an enjoyable stay with us and would recommend Bailbrook Lodge to others.

However, I wish to respond to the minor adverse comments.

As advertised on our website we are happy to refund guests the cost of a taxi from Bath station to Bailbrook Lodge any day from Sunday through to Thursday.

With regards to the times for breakfast this customer’s observation that the times are some what “condensed” has prompted us to review the breakfast service times which are currently 8 a.m. to 9.30 a.m. and 8 a.m. to 10 a.m. at weekends.

Turning to the “dining in” menu there was in fact only one dish (the hotpot) which was not available on this occasion. This is a dish that was a speciality of the previous manager but it has been retained and is normally available.

Ron Zanre
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    337
    157
    60
    26
    17
See reviews for
72
388
10
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 10, 2012

I booked a twin room for my daughter and I before she has to go away. Booked on line hassle free and had the choice of booking flowers and champagne. When we arrived (earlier than 2 p.m. check-in time) the welcome was warm and friendly we were shown around and then shown to our room. Not huge but certainly enough room for both of us. Bathroom was a bit wow with slipper bath!.. And every thing was clean. View from room was of the garden and valley and although misty and wet would be spectacular on a sunny day.

There were nice touches such as slippers and tea and coffee making facilities including a cafetiere to make proper coffee...not seen this before and was a great touch for us coffee lovers...! Also iPod dock.

The flowers I requested were outstanding!!!... Champagne was pretty good too.

Breakfast was very good with plenty of selection to set you up for the day, and the staff were very smiley and friendly.

I would definitely stay again

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terrirosen-Theakston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
111 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

My wife and I spent 2 great nights at Bailbrook Lodge back in August. Very friendly staff who gave us some great advice about where to eat and what to see. We had a very comfortable 4 poster King bed. One of the problems is that it is about 1.5 miles out of the city centre, and if you have a car, it is difficult to find a park in the city centre.
However, Bus no. 13 stops right outside the Lodge and so it is easy to get into the city.
The rooms are very spacious and the breakfasts were excellent!
One problem we had was the access to wi-fi. Wouldn't work in our room - had to sit in the dining room to check emails etc.
Would highly recommend the short walk to Bathampton Mill for dinner - about a 10 minute walk or 2 minute drive (including a toll bridge - 60p each way for a car - free for walkers!!!). Greta food and ambience.

Room Tip: Any room will do, however if you have lots of luggae, avoid the 2 filghts of stairs to the top floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richo12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We've just returned from a weekend stay at Bailbrook. We had a four poster bedroom, which was a great size, clean and nice decor. Lots of nice touches like the slippers, freshly ground coffee and mineral water. There was a great choice of food at breakfast and it was all really tasty. We had an very warm welcome and the staff were all really friendly and helpful.

It's in a nice location, you can't hear road noise at all, and it's a lovely walk along the canal into the centre of Bath (we also did the Bath skyline walk and came down the hill from the Sham Castle track and along the river to get to the hotel - a bit muddy/steep in places!)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank starmist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Really enjoyed our night here, clean comfortable room, good selection teas coffees etc Inc cafetiere, ipod dock was appreciated and bed very comfy. Lovely breakfast, friendly staff and good location. Good value for Bath! Recommended.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank whizzylala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

My wife and I have just returned from a 3 night stay at Bailbrook Lodge. We had a lovely double room overlooking the gardens, which was well stocked with a superb selection of coffees, including fresh ground; teas, Horlicks and hot chocolate. A cafetiere was also provided.The spacious bathroom had a deep slipper bath which was extremely welcome after a hard day's sightseeing in Bath! Also provided was a selection of shampoos and soaps which were replenished daily. A good quality stereo radio alarm/iPod dock was a nice touch, as was the LCD TV with DVD player. The bed was very comfortable and the pillows soft yet supportive.
All staff were extremely pleasant and helpful, and the choice and quality of the breakfast was superb. It really set us up for the day.
In conclusion, my wife and I had a really enjoyable stay at this hotel and we certainly intend to return some time soon.

Room Tip: We were given Room 33 on the top floor, overlooking the gardens and with a spacious bathroom. Very q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dansettemajor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Baddow
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We booked 3 rooms at the hotel which was a very simple process. On arrival we were made extremely welcome and the layout of the hotel was explained in detail. The rooms were clean comfortable and not a bad size (albeit a tad dated but that added to the charm of the hotel). The grounds were lovely. Breakfast was most enjoyable.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kbj2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
1.8 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#16 of 35 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
2.8 mi away
Tasburgh House
Tasburgh House
#7 of 35 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Cranleigh
Cranleigh
#14 of 154 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grove Lodge
Grove Lodge
#2 of 154 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
3.3 mi away
High Beeches
High Beeches
#15 of 154 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bailbrook Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bailbrook Lodge

Property: Bailbrook Lodge
Address: 35-37 London Road West, Bath BA1 7HZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 154 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bailbrook Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bailbrook Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bailbrook Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing