We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Abbey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Abbey Hotel
Ranked #17 of 35 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Lovely!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

I stayed here with my partner for two nights in July. The hotel is very easy to find- just a short walk from the train/bus stations and the staff are extremely friendly and helpful. The hotel is tastefully decorated and spotlessly clean, too. Our room was a reasonable size, with a generous sized bathroom- very well furnished, comfortable and again, very clean. (The only slight qualm was that the bathroom quickly became very steamy and had poor ventilation, so stayed very moist for quite a while after using the shower.)
There is a good selection of cooked dishes on the breakfast menu, as well as a selection of the continental favourites. I would certainly recommend the cooked breakfast however, particularly the fluffy scotch pancakes with maple syrup (and bacon, if you wish).
Bath is a lovely place to visit and this is the perfect place to stay- we hope to return sometime soon!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZoePincombe94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    559
    504
    186
    58
    30
See reviews for
203
662
60
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Eastleigh
Level Contributor
89 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

We stayed here one night for a Ruby wedding break. The hotel was very good and the restaurant excellent. The staff exceeded our expectations and nothing was too much trouble. The breakfast was to 'die' for.
The location right in the centre could not be bettered.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front look over the very busy bus drop off & pick up so remember to close the blind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mechanicalman64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontesbury, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

Stayed here 06/07/2014 and was given room 305 on the top floor.. Immaculate cleanliness throughout this hotel.. Room 305 what let it down from being 4 star.. the bath side covering did not match up to the bathtub which enables moisture and items to get down the back.. also bathroom shampoo body wash etc impossible to open as have a foil top sealed over each.. also a lovely modern wireless that informed me stations need retuning...and worst of all little sleep due to the heat in the room...no airconditioning is a real shame as the highlight to the property is the room service and food artistically presented by the excellent http://alliumbrasserie.co.uk

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

Great location and friendly staff need to be mentioned. Further, its Allium restaurant is also a great place for good food and relaxing atmosphere. I will always this hotel if I visit Bath in the future.

Room Tip: Close to the train station and right in the city centre.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Xiang L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meopham UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014

We came to Bath for a very special occasion and decided to stay here. We are so glad that we did. We were here for the graduation of our niece and our stay here contributed to making it a very memorable couple of days. The staff were welcoming and helpful and the location is perfect. We really loved it!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FloMeophamUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014

We had a fabulous time in the Abbey last weekend.

Our family had gotten together for a rare reunion to celebrate a special birthday & we couldn't have chosen a better location.

For the birthday meal, we had the pleasure of Daisy attending to us & we couldn't have chosen a more perfect person if we had tried.

In our group we had a mix of tastes, preferences & dietary requirements & Daisy took an interest in all of our requirements, doing her utmost to ensure everyone was not merely satisfied, but delighted with their
meal.

The same can be said for Justine who was always on hand if needed without crowding the table.

That is not to say we found the other members of staff lacking as every one was extremely engaging, polite, personable and (whether deliberate or not) more than willing to ensure their guests had a great experience.

Stay here to experience Bath and it's vibrancy & if you
have Daisy &/or Justine attending to you, you are pretty much guaranteed an excellent break.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnInclination
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
73 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014

From my initial e-mail exchange to ensure the right booking, through to adjusting reservations and meeting needs, the staff were extremely helpful and pleasant at the hotel. Although the rooms are unfussy, the hotel has decent facilities and a good ambience throughout the shared areas. Plus the food is much better than would be expected at a Best Western!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DuncanEF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.3 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.5 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#12 of 35 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,320 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 35 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
No.15 Great Pulteney
1.7 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
0.7 mi away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Abbey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Abbey Hotel

Property: The Abbey Hotel
Address: North Parade, Bath BA1 1LF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Abbey Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Abbey Hotel is a privately-owned hotel in one of the best locations in Bath. Situated in North Parade, close to Bath Abbey, Pulteney Bridge, The Pump Rooms and the main shopping centre, it's the perfect base for exploring this glorious city, recognised as a World Heritage Site. The Abbey Hotel is also the ideal place to stay for rugby at Bath, and we are only minutes away from Bath Cricket Club and the Thermae Spa. Guided tour buses exploring the rest of Bath, including the Royal Crescent, Circus and Assembly Rooms, leave from outside the Hotel every 10 minutes. With 60 comfortable rooms, a lounge where you can enjoy coffee and drinks, and The Allium Brasserie selling drinks and meals throughout the day, the Hotel is a great place to unwind, whether you're here for business or pleasure. Watch the world go by from our pavement terrace over a cappuccino, light lunch or an early evening drink.Just opened: our brand new restaurant, The Allium Brasserie, created by our new former Michelin-starred Executive Head Chef, Chris Staines. It's set to become the most popular place to eat in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Abbey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bath
Bath Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing