We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location. Friendly, helpful Staff”
Review of The Abbey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Abbey Hotel
Ranked #15 of 30 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Perfect Location. Friendly, helpful Staff”
Reviewed December 15, 2013

The Hotel was very central with a very short walk to the attractions. It had been refurbished approx 1 year ago. The hotel was warm and comfortable. Our small room was clean, attractive and comfortable with good facilities. Lift to all floors and a good breakfast. The staff were very informative and helpful. We arrived earlier than the booking in time, but the staff booked us in and we went to visit the Christmas market that was within a 3 minute walk of the hotel. When we returned our suitcase had already been taken to our room.
We booked a small room as we were only staying one night, Any longer I would want a larger room, as it was a bit too small. No view from the 'frosted' window. Our room no. 206 was at the back of the hotel, but sounded as though it had a motor running in it. We checked the fan in the bathroom and the air conditioning, but these were turned off. It was very annoying, it sounded as though we were travelling on an aeroplane. I was undecisive as to wether to ask for a different room, but as we had already unpacked and was only staying the one night, we decided not to raise the matter with the hotel.The 'noise' had stopped when we returned from our evening meal in an independant restaurant later in the evening. At checkout the following morning, we were asked if we were pleased with our room and we informed them of the noise. The manager said it was the kitchen fan. Because we had already checked out, we were asked if we would like a complementary cream tea as compensation. We had planned to take a bus tour of the city and so returned later for our cream tea.

Room Tip: Do not have room 206, as you can hear the kitchen fan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 527Trees1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    569
    517
    192
    60
    31
See reviews for
210
678
62
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (326)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Fantastic friendly staff, comfy bed, clean room. Staff more than happy to look after luggage. Great location

Only minor downside was being woken by the bins being emptied, but it is a city centre hotel so you have to expect some noise.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2013

great hotel, friendly staff. couple of minor issues such as bath plug not sealed so unable to take a bath, and electricians outside room working on both mornings BUT the hotel was immaculate, the breakfast filling and the staff could not be more helpful. The beds are a dream and very comfy. For a shopping break right on the doorstop of the xmas markets, this value for money hotel is a must. Very enjoyable time and would not hesitate to go back again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank jen1204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abbeyhoteloperations, Owner at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Jen

Thank you for your kind words following your recent stay, we are so sorry about the work being carried out but we are striving towards further refurbishment which starts in January next year and this is the pipe work we need to do to enable us to put in lovely new bathrooms.

Your understanding is appreciated and we are so pleased you enjoyed everything else during your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best wishes

The Abbey Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2013

I stayed for 1 night whilst visiting my son who's at Bath Uni. Perfect for the shops and Christmas market for me and great for him to get the bus back to uni in the evening. Room clean and comfortable, bathroom in need of an update but still very clean and usable. I forgot my toothbrush so thanks to reception for complimentary set! All staff experienced polite and helpful. Kept my bags at check in before my room was ready and after I checked out so that I could shop without them. Thanks for the stay, I'll be back!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank j0pee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abbeyhoteloperations, Owner at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Thank you for your review, we are used quite a bit by Uni parents and delighted that we are a good fit for this. As you may have seen from one of our other replies the bathrooms are being refurbished in early 2014 so you will see an improvement on your next visit.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

The Abbey Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
114 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2013

Stayed for one night during the Xmas market. Location could not have been better.

Check in was simple and room was spotlessly clean and beautifully decorated. We had a ground floor room which afforded us a super view whilst sitting comfortably in our warm room!

The bar was a peaceful relaxing area in which to enjoy a nightcap. Staff were both helpful and friendly.

Breakfast was freshly cooked to order and there was also a selection of continental favourites--excellent service.

Despite the hotel having no carpark, it was not an issue ad we parked in the public carpark around the corner which is a pay and display. It is free from 8pm to 8 am and its possible to feed the meter sufficiently before bed to take you through til the next day thus avoiding having to get up early to renew your ticket.

Highly Recommend this hotel and will return.

Room Tip: Ground floor room overlooking front of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tripper1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2013

I had to visit Bath on family business and needed a central location with access to parking with wifi and comfort.
The staff were very efficient and welcoming and the room while not the largest I have stayed in was well decorated, with a larger flat screen tv than normal, an excellent bed and good facilities.
Our room was on the front on the first floor and while there was some sound from people around when the window was open, this is an urban environment and it was not bad. Living in the country I am used to total quiet so don't appreciate noisy streets at night in the city. This was not a problem at this hotel.
Breakfast was excellent and they know how to poach eggs! Only sad we did not have time to sample the restaurant in the evening.
Drop off for bags can be an issue but the walk to the public car park was only a few minutes.
I will return.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abbeyhoteloperations, Owner at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Alan B

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and for your very kind words. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the facilities of the bedroom and appreciate your comments about the lack of noise given our central location.

So pleased that you enjoyed breakfast but hope we can welcome your for dinner on your next visit to us.

Best wishes

The Abbey Hotel team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

We stayed for 6 nights. The Hotel staff and location are Amazing. The Abbey hotel is centrally located and walking distance to everything, places to eat, train, bus and pubs. Christmas market started on Thursday and was great. Staff helped us with Bus tickets, places to eat and the Swiss Chalet Bar set up in front of the hotel was great. When we return to Bath we will stay here. This is the place to stay if you want to be in the center of everything.

Room Tip: Second floor rear of building, quiet alleyway the room looks out onto.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chubster_22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abbeyhoteloperations, Owner at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Thank you for your review, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to experience the Christmas Market and our Festive Apres Ski Bar.

Sure that other travellers will appreciate your tip about a quieter room choice.

Thank you again for your kind words and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Best wishes

The Abbey Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.3 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.5 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#10 of 30 in Bath
1,346 reviews
0.3 mi away
No.15 Great Pulteney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#22 of 30 in Bath
2,742 reviews
1.7 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
0.4 mi away
Villa at Henrietta Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Abbey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Abbey Hotel

Property: The Abbey Hotel
Address: North Parade, Bath BA1 1LF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Abbey Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Abbey Hotel is a privately-owned hotel in one of the best locations in Bath. Situated in North Parade, close to Bath Abbey, Pulteney Bridge, The Pump Rooms and the main shopping centre, it's the perfect base for exploring this glorious city, recognised as a World Heritage Site. The Abbey Hotel is also the ideal place to stay for rugby at Bath, and we are only minutes away from Bath Cricket Club and the Thermae Spa. Guided tour buses exploring the rest of Bath, including the Royal Crescent, Circus and Assembly Rooms, leave from outside the Hotel every 10 minutes. With 60 comfortable rooms, a lounge where you can enjoy coffee and drinks, and The Allium Brasserie selling drinks and meals throughout the day, the Hotel is a great place to unwind, whether you're here for business or pleasure. Watch the world go by from our pavement terrace over a cappuccino, light lunch or an early evening drink.Just opened: our brand new restaurant, The Allium Brasserie, created by our new former Michelin-starred Executive Head Chef, Chris Staines. It's set to become the most popular place to eat in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Abbey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bath
Bath Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing