We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elliot's and Jennies stay”
Review of The Abbey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Abbey Hotel
Ranked #17 of 35 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Elliot's and Jennies stay”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We spent two nights here as part of a Back Roads tour. Hotel is in a great position for everything in Bath. Room was quite large and had great amenities. Food was excellent,and the staff very friendly and helpful. Would not hesitate to stay again

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elliot_neck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abbeyhoteloperations, Manager at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to post such a positive review of our hotel. Your comments have been passed on to all team members, who were delighted to read your views. We hope the rest of your tour was as positive as your experience in Bath.

Kind regards

Richard Goodwin
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    564
    510
    190
    58
    30
See reviews for
206
670
60
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (323)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Devon
Level Contributor
91 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Again we have stayed at the Abbey Hotel Bath .We arrived at 12.00 Sunday and the room was ready , we tried to upgrade but was unable to . The room was very clean overlooking the front .
The bathroom was tired and very little hot water . We were only therefor 24 hrs so this did not bother us to much . There was a lot of noise outside during the night which was a bit annoying .
The breakfasts are amazing .Very convenient Hotel to stay at I just wish that their prices would be more consistent as the Sunday price was over £50 cheaper than the Monday . If one could have negotiated a second night we would have liked to stay longer .

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DevonPirates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

I stayed with a group at the beginning of the Jane Austen Festival and can't say enough about this fantastic place. First, the hotel is beautifully appointed with large, comfortable rooms, plenty of storage space, and all the trimmings. It really feels like a five-star experience. The convenient location can't be beat, as we were a five-minute walk from the Pump Rooms, Abbey, and main shopping district. It was also an easy 20-minute walk up to the Royal Crescent, so exploring Bath with the Abbey Hotel as home base couldn't be more convenient.

But beyond the luxe rooms and great location is the incredibly friendly and accommodating staff, who went out of their way to make sure we all felt welcome and comfortable. Managing to stay unruffled and cheerful in the midst of a very busy weekend with a fully booked hotel is quite a feat, but they did it with style. We also found the restaurant absolutely brilliant. Chef Staines truly lives up to his Michelin-starred reputation. Breakfasts in the hotel are delicious and complete. We will absolutely be back next year, and I highly recommend this hotel as a getaway for individuals and for larger groups.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JennieCSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abbeyhoteloperations, Manager at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear J C, thank you very much for posting such a positive review about our hotel. The staff were delighted to read such glowing praise. The Jane Austen Festival certainly is a busy time of year for us all here in Bath, and it is a pleasure to host a full hotel on such ocassions.
We look forward to welcoming not only yourself, but the group back to the hotel next year when we can do it all over again!

Kind regards

Richard Goodwin
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blandford Forum, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed here for just one night in July and it was a very nice hotel. The staff were friendly and the food (we only had breakfast) was awesome. I recommend the pancakes and bacon!
The hotel is in a good location, pretty central to everything and the staff have plenty of knowledge on the local area.
We had an issue with the shower, there was no pressure for the cold water, so getting the right temperature with more than a dribble was tricky.
It's not cheap to stay here, but we may consider returning.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank egattocs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Very central to all Bath attractions. Good travel links. Only down full, no Parking at hotel. Hotel lovely. Staff helpful and friendly. Rooms clean, very comfortable with all the facilities you need for a city break. Food excellent.

Room Tip: Book well in advance to ensure you get a room at this excellent hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CAS197012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

I stayed here only one night on the way to London. The location could not be better. Bath Abbey and Roman Bath are just next door. In front is the river Avon. I got the room on the top floor which was very nice, bright and spacious with huge flat screen TV. The bathroom was also generous and clean. The view from the room was splendid...the beds were very comfortable. Staff are friendly and helpful. If you drive, there was public parking just around the corner and it was 12.5 pounds per day. The breakfast was very good. Overall, Best Western Abbey is the best hotel that I stayed in this trip. I would definitely stay here again next time I come to Bath.

Room Tip: High floor, north side
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank B0bMarlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ammanford, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights. It is a lovely friendly hotel in the centre of bath. It is central to all attractions and restaurants. The rooms were clean and large with fans in the room. There is a fabulous brasserie downstairs in the hotel where the evening meals were delicious and the breakfast would fill you for the day. Overall we had a good stay. Our only concern was that our hotel room was on the first floor at the front of the hotel so it was extremely noisy until about 2am on both nights. This was a shame as we did enjoy otherwise. When we spoke to the staff the hotel staff said that next time we should request a room to the rear of the hotel. .

Room Tip: Ask for a room to the rear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.3 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.5 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#12 of 35 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,336 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#1 of 35 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
No.15 Great Pulteney
1.7 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
0.7 mi away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Abbey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Abbey Hotel

Property: The Abbey Hotel
Address: North Parade, Bath BA1 1LF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Abbey Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Abbey Hotel is a privately-owned hotel in one of the best locations in Bath. Situated in North Parade, close to Bath Abbey, Pulteney Bridge, The Pump Rooms and the main shopping centre, it's the perfect base for exploring this glorious city, recognised as a World Heritage Site. The Abbey Hotel is also the ideal place to stay for rugby at Bath, and we are only minutes away from Bath Cricket Club and the Thermae Spa. Guided tour buses exploring the rest of Bath, including the Royal Crescent, Circus and Assembly Rooms, leave from outside the Hotel every 10 minutes. With 60 comfortable rooms, a lounge where you can enjoy coffee and drinks, and The Allium Brasserie selling drinks and meals throughout the day, the Hotel is a great place to unwind, whether you're here for business or pleasure. Watch the world go by from our pavement terrace over a cappuccino, light lunch or an early evening drink.Just opened: our brand new restaurant, The Allium Brasserie, created by our new former Michelin-starred Executive Head Chef, Chris Staines. It's set to become the most popular place to eat in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Abbey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bath
Bath Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing